We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Goblin's Cove

Main Magalies road, R96, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
+27 72 649 6452
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good21%
  • Average12%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible26%
Travelers talk about
“fairy tale” (10 reviews)
“fantasy world” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Pizza, European, Delicatessen
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Magalies road, R96, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We attended a wedding on 30 Sep, beautiful nature scenery, great food, awesome hosts ( Jaco&Lize) , great waiters ( Watson & Wilson)! We had a great stay over in the train and enjoyed a wonderful breakfast! Will back soon! ❤️💃🏻🍾

Thank Wilma M
CustomerCare4you, Owner at Goblin's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Glad you've enjoyed the stay with us.

Reviewed September 10, 2017

We popped into Goblin's Cove for a light snack and refreshments. There was a small wedding being hosted in an area close to the river. When we enquired whether they still were open to other guests we were informed that they were as the area...More

Thank Fiona_and_Mark_RSA
Reviewed August 19, 2017

Where on side seeing around that area and searched the internet for lunch options. Was very happy that we found it, as i think it has something special and yes, the owner has just taken it over some month back and is in progress to...More

Thank Thomas B
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile

Awesome place, great food got to try the litchi stuffed with Tuna, try the Jalapeño poppers if you dare.

Thank Brendon H
Reviewed July 24, 2017

Visiting this place was an absolute disappointment. It is old and run down and the food is below average. No this no sign of effort is being made to make improvements, even though a sign says they are. Do not waste your time here

1  Thank Priscilla M
CustomerCare4you, Owner at Goblin's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017

It is not the plastic flowers and walls covered with cobwebs from the 1800 scene anymore. We have a different vision and know the "old" crowd will not like it and we hope it happens sooner rather then later.

Reviewed July 21, 2017

My husband and I tried this place thinking it might be a bit quirky, but we should be able to get a solid (if not exciting) breakfast. Unfortunately, the decor looked like it was half finished, the outdoor tables were poorly decorated. We were so...More

1  Thank staceysI5518JU
Reviewed July 11, 2017

Goblin's Cove was once a magical place with magically delicious food, sadly it is only depressing now. I understand that Goblin's Cove has some new owners and that every restaurant should be given a transition period, but at the very least it should still have...More

Thank Zanda_Norval
Reviewed July 5, 2017

Poor service - horrible food, new owners are not looking after the venue, very run down and gardens are un-kept, has no atmosphere or magic like it used to - non of the fairies / goblins features are left. waited 2 hrs for food and...More

2  Thank BrandonsOutDiving
CustomerCare4you, Owner at Goblin's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017

Please get your fact together before making statements. Did you see the state it was in when we bought the venue??!

Reviewed June 18, 2017

Service: bad Food: horrible Atmosphere: depressing The place is neglected. Not clean. Dont go there. What a terrible waste

Thank susanburger2016
Reviewed June 11, 2017 via mobile

We spent the weekend here and even tho there is still a lot of renovations to be done by the new owners, we had an absolutely great time. Great service and friendly staff. We look forward to coming again with the renovated "train" accommodation with...More

1  Thank Justin H
CustomerCare4you, Owner at Goblin's Cove, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017

Thanks for the feedback. I hope to see you soon to comment on our progress. We are taking alot of negative feedback but I know where we are going and it will be worth it once we are done.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Heksies Hideaway
25 reviews
.58 miles away
Colonial Restaurant
220 reviews
.54 miles away
The Bru House & Diner
27 reviews
4.05 miles away
Melon Rouge
57 reviews
4.39 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Hekpoort Heksie
29 reviews
6.37 miles away
Sterkfontein Cave
465 reviews
10.24 miles away
Rhino and Lion Nature Reserve
525 reviews
10.68 miles away
Bill Harrop's Original Balloon Safaris
390 reviews
10.86 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
CustomerCare4you
September 30, 2016|
Answer
Response from CustomerCare4you | Property representative |
The contact number is (072) 6496452 and not as indicated on your site.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$10 - $20
Meals
Brunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Television
Good for
Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Magalies road, R96, Magaliesburg 1791, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Magaliesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 72 649 6452
  • E-mail
Description
Once Upon a Time is a function, wedding and accommodation venue, where you can escape from the world into a playful fantasy world in the forest, where the possibilities are endless. We do fantastical weddings, have a quaint restaurant, riverside picnics and a very unique 1928 train in the forest, where you can stay over for a night
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing