We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Oak

The Street, Poynings BN45 7AQ, England
+44 1273 857389
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good25%
  • Average15%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible12%
Travelers talk about
“pudding” (16 reviews)
“steak” (14 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Street, Poynings BN45 7AQ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 375 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I have just been to the Royal Oak for lunch with friends and to say I was disappointed is an understatement. Waited for over one hour for our food to arrive and when it did one of the meals was wrong. The parsnips were not...More

Thank 297Mitch1066
Reviewed yesterday

Went on a very busy and very hot day, BBQ's were being served in the large garden which looked and smelt beautiful, but we opted to eat inside and have a roast inside the pub. The Royal Oak is very spacious compared to the Shepherd...More

Thank saunders652380
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

If you are looking for a very traditional meals with amazing staff that look after everyone even with different dietary requirements. If you looking for an special event space too they have a nice room for a small group.

Thank Micheal B
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have been to the Royal Oak a few times, last time for a family meal we did have an incident. The food was great, the issue was late service (due to a staff issue), the manager (I think) sorted things out well in the end,...More

Thank MikeFo
Reviewed March 10, 2018 via mobile

10 of us went on a Saturday for a family meal with kids. Great service, really friendly. Food was excellent! Make sure you book as it was busy throughout the 90 odd mins we were there.

Thank Chris B
Jan S, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review. Our team at The Royal Oak really appreciate your comments. Happy belated Birthday and glad you had a nice day

Reviewed March 3, 2018

Turned out to be a bit of a find this one. Pleasantly surprised at how good the food was but went in to orbit when I had pudding, wow.

Thank G1406SXdavids
Jan S, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2018

Thank you for your kind review. We are grateful for your feedback. We will keep working on our puddings and look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed February 20, 2018 via mobile

As it was glorious sunshine on Saturday we decided to have a run out in the beautiful Sussex countryside. We had looked up many pubs in and around the Brighton area and both of us said the Royal Oak read very well. When we got...More

Thank ritacatwoman
Jan S, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review We really appreciate your comments and very much look forward to seeing you again. Team Royal Oak

Reviewed February 16, 2018 via mobile

This seems to have gone downhill. We had soft drinks on arrival and wanted wine with main meal. Food arrived and we weren't asked if we wanted anything. It then took us ages to get attention to order wine and ages to arrive. It only...More

1  Thank Sebboyd
Jan S, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018

Thank you for your review and your comments have been addressed. We really wish you had mentioned during your visit your complaint. We pride ourselves on our customer service and will always give attention to your needs. We are currently carrying out a refurbishment and...More

Reviewed February 13, 2018 via mobile

Having visited just once a few weeks before, we were impressed enough to book the private room upstairs at the Royal Oak for a special birthday lunch. The room had been meticulously prepared for our party and the nice fire in the wood burner added...More

Thank BrownieBrighton
Jan S, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2018

Thank you for your kind review. Our team really appreciate your comments as we are striving to improve good customer service and quality

Reviewed February 11, 2018

Went for Sunday lunch , Bar man struggled to make a Bloody Mary no celery offered , served it in a wine glass ? When mentioned he offered to put in a half pint glass ! Roast Dinner at £16 for the beef , 1...More

1  Thank scott c
Jan S, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2018

Many thanks for your recent review. We are extremely sorry that you had this bad experience with us. We only wish you had mentioned to one of our Managers/supervisors that day that you were unhappy and we would have done our utmost to put right...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Poynings Hotels
Wickwoods Country Club, Hotel & Spa
232 reviews
1.94 miles away
Tottington Manor Hotel
119 reviews
2.48 miles away
Vinyard Lodge
4 reviews
3.02 miles away
The George Hotel
112 reviews
3.79 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Rushfields Cafe
76 reviews
1.00 miles away
The Plough at Pyecombe
257 reviews
1.86 miles away
The Glass House Restaurant
293 reviews
1.95 miles away
Tottington Manor Restaurant & Bar
109 reviews
2.48 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Clayton Wood Natural Burial Ground
19 reviews
2.66 miles away
Washbrooks Family Farm
150 reviews
2.82 miles away
Qleisure Ltd
41 reviews
2.93 miles away
Hare and Hounds
25 reviews
3.03 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Royal Oak staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$27
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Street, Poynings BN45 7AQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Poynings
  • Phone Number: +44 1273 857389
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing