We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kingfisher Restaurant

7 Point Road | The Point, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
+27 44 690 6390
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good36%
  • Average19%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible7%
Travelers talk about
“sushi” (66 reviews)
“fish” (60 reviews)
“kingklip” (12 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Sushi, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
7 Point Road | The Point, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 70 of 452 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2017

The restaurant is situated conveniently in the city centre. Has good food and provides good service.

Thank Factfinder90
KingfisherMosselBay, Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2017

Hi Factfinder Thanks for your review, hope to see you again soon. Davek

Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

Always nice and that can be seen from the people waiting for a table. Great view if the weather permits you to sit outside.

Thank Deon G
KingfisherMosselBay, Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Hi Deon We appreciate your review of The Kingfisher. Hope to see you soon. Davek

Reviewed January 12, 2017 via mobile

Food as usual Gr8, I really do have a problem when my food is served across my partner instead of from behind me. Please Please Managers, teach your staff the Professional way, it's a reflection of YOUR training and level of competence, these small things...More

Thank 1Narrowboat
KingfisherMosselBay, Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2017

Hi David M Thank you for your review. We will certainly take the matter with our waiters to ensure a more professional experience. DaveK

Reviewed January 10, 2017

Great location with excellent sea views, but unfortunately the food was mediocre and disappointing (the sushi as well as the fish dishes). I am not sure if the selection on the menu is too extensive or mass production in the busy season is to blame....More

Thank Michael J
Reviewed January 9, 2017 via mobile

The place was packed with people queuing for tables, so booking is essential. The food is mainly sea food with some meat, mainly steak, but the Calamari is really good and I ate lots. The waiters were particularly friendly and the service quite fast for...More

Thank Bubbles899
KingfisherMosselBay, Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Hi Bubbles899 Thanks for your great review and appreciate your comments. We hope to see you again soon. Davek

Reviewed January 9, 2017

My entire family visited this restaurant on Christmas Day for lunch. Although Hein provided excellent service, the food was mediocre. As it was Christmas, I chose the crayfish Thermidor which was (of course) extremely expensive and the crayfish portion that I received was very small....More

1  Thank Kayenne90
KingfisherMosselBay, Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Hi Kayenne90 Thanks for your comments concerning your Christmas Lunch. We are disappointed that you thought your meal was mediocre but Crayfish is and extremely expensive product. Our winelist also has forty five different wines to choose from. Regards Davek

Reviewed January 8, 2017 via mobile

I am a regular customer here, but was disappointed for the first time this past weekend. This new "no bookings" policy is completely unpractical in the busy holiday times. We were told waiting time is an hour, but after 2 hours we weren't notified of...More

Thank 007annika
KingfisherMosselBay, Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2017

Hi Annika Thanks for your comments concerning the "no bookings" policy. This policy is only in place over the busy period to alleviate unpleasantness with customers waiting to be seated, who cannot understand why they should wait while there are "booked" seats available. The rude...More

Reviewed January 5, 2017

beautiful sea view. Good service. Seafood above average. Also Stuffed ostrich fillet with excellent taste. All dishes well priced.

Thank DanieL M
KingfisherMosselBay, Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2017

Hi DanieL Thank you for your great review, your comments are appreciated. Davek

Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile

Had the calamari starter and the hake and rice main. Food was very tasty, large portions and well priced. Service was fast and friendly, beer was cold. Great view of the waves breaking over the rocks from every table. Will visit again.

Thank Jjwepener
KingfisherMosselBay, Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2017

Hi Jjwepener Thanks for your great review, hope to see you soon. Davek

Reviewed January 2, 2017 via mobile

We decided last minute to have dinner at Kingfisher Restaurant, hubby ordered spare ribs which were very tasty and I ordered grilled calamari which unfortunately to say could have tasted better, was chewy and I had to ask for tartar sauce. The service was very...More

Thank 826taniab
KingfisherMosselBay, Manager at Kingfisher Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2017

Hi 826taniab Thanks for your review and comments, we will make sure to follow up on the calamari. Davek

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Route 57 Restaurant
401 reviews
.24 miles away
The Blue Shed Coffee Roastery
300 reviews
.42 miles away
Coffee At Work
60 reviews
.65 miles away
Delfino's Restaurant
739 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bartolomeu Dias Museum Complex
509 reviews
.91 miles away
St. Blaize Trail
141 reviews
.24 miles away
Cape St Blaize Lighthouse
83 reviews
.22 miles away
Garden Route Casino
48 reviews
.02 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Kingfisher Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$3 - $11
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Takeout
Good for
Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 7 Point Road | The Point, Mossel Bay 6506, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Mossel Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 44 690 6390
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing