We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Han Chinese Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
29 St. Marys Road, Market Harborough LE16 7DS, England
+44 1858 462288
Today
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:30 pm - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Mon - Fri 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
Mon - Sat 5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

148 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 147: English reviews
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

So nice expenisve but well worth it. WE had the banquet for 3 people 5 courses brought out to the table hot. Would love to go again.

Helpful?
Thank popejoy272
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food here is always good - we particularly like the crispy duck, sizzling beef with onions and the salt and pepper prawns are lovely. Service always quick. A great place to eat.

Helpful?
Thank smles5
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2016 via mobile

As usual Hans takeaway food excellent. Sweet and sour chicken balls fab along with the chicken noodles.

Helpful?
Thank DawnBC2000
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2016

A generally unpleasant experience which was emphasised by the shocking attitude of the manager. We have been customers of Han for some years without any disappointment. They are considerably more expensive than other rival restaurants/takeaways in the area which should be reflected in the quality of their food. Not anymore apparently! Some of the dishes we ordered seemed rushed, lacking... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
Elsa T, Owner at Han Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Readers We take pride in our quality and all genuine complaints very seriously. In this review Mr Chris C is making false and vindictive comments because we did not bow to his demand. He actually said that we should bow to his demand because he knows a lot of people in town, and of course TripAdviser. He said that... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2016 via mobile

Wow what a wonderful restaurant. Family members have coeliac and so wouldn't normally go to a Chinese restaurant and in past always told cannot do much to cater for them. Not at this restaurant! Gluten free menu with a huge selection and delicious tasting. In fact we all had gluten free so we could share more dishes. Lovely helpful staff.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DRSHG999
leicester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2016 via mobile

Finding good gf Chinese food is not easy- yet surprisingly the chefs did a great job of making authentic and tasty gf Chinese food- BBQ ribs were possibly the best I have had! However beyond the food was the service of the staff who were extremely helpful and attentive and made for a great family birthday celebration. I would definitely... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank dreamer1979
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2016

My husband and I eat out a lot and have lived in this area for over 35 years. Han used to be a very good restaurant on the last 2/3 vistas ee have noticed the service going down hill, the place is looking tired. We decided to give it another go tonight to be served by youngsters one of them... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 181alison
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2016 via mobile

Both me & my other half eat out a lot. We live locally & are new to Harborough. We felt the dishes were nice, the service is good.. BUT it is far to over priced for the size of the dishes. Wow- talk about take advantage because you are in Harborough. Wouldn't get away with that in Leicester 😊

Helpful?
4 Thank Emma S
Elsa T, Owner at Han Chinese Restaurant, responded to this review

Hi Emma, I’m very sorry that you cannot pay our prices, but I don’t know why you insult my good customers by saying “Wow – talk about take advantage”. I know a lot more than your little ignorant brain what kinds of Chinese restaurants in Leicester. Every sensible person would tell you that you only get what you pay for... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile

I have been coming to Han's for many years now and the staff, atmosphere and food are excellent! Great place to eat with friends not too overcrowded and staff extremely attentive. Small tip if you want to eat a good meal a little cheaper then go before 7pm as there is a different menu although you are more restricted on... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Jason G
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2016

We nearly didn't go in as we thought the small ground floor counter was just a takeaway. The restaurant is upstairs, very tastefully decorated and furnished with a spacious, friendly atmosphere and non-intrusive background music. Very civilised clientele too. Service was excellent and friendly. Our meals were excellent, most certainly a cut above the average. We'll go back.

Helpful?
3 Thank peter h

Travelers who viewed Han Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Market Harborough, Leicestershire
Market Harborough, Leicestershire
 
Market Harborough, Leicestershire
Market Harborough, Leicestershire
 

Been to Han Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$11 - $29
Cuisine
Chinese, Asian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Highchairs Available, Full Bar
Good for
Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:30 pm - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
5:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 29 St. Marys Road, Market Harborough LE16 7DS, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Leicestershire  >  Market Harborough
  • Phone Number: +44 1858 462288

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Han Chinese Restaurant and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Leicester, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Han Chinese Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?