We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rathskeller

Claimed
Reserve a Table
2
Wed, 6/26
8:00 PM

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Bar scene

Location and contact

About
The Rathskeller wine bar and bistro is located on the South Quay in King's Lynn. We're a family run business catering for everyone from anniversary's to birthday parties! We serve afternoon tea, lunch and dinner. We host regular live music nights! For all information please visit our website.
PRICE RANGE
$9 - $38
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
British
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Highchairs Available
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveler rating
218
97
43
24
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
218
97
43
24
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken burger bread sandwiches south quay the portion size food was amazing relaxed atmosphere lovely meal sunday lunch kings bistro veg voucher pint
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited for lunch after grabbing a quick tea and cake here the previous day. Great fish and (chunky!) chips and a beautiful lemon brulee with shortbread for me, while my husband enjoyed scampi with (skinny) fries and sticky toffee pudding. All immaculately cooked and presented....More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Amethystmum
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Regularly attend their monthly quiz nights on Wednesday. Good fun and inexpensive. Bar isn’t cheap. Staff friendly. Unfortunately someone thought it would be a ‘Good idea’ to have an entire round of GOT (Game of Thrones) questions. 🙁 Someone having a laugh?More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Fenlandier
RathskellerKL, Owner at The Rathskeller, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Fenlander Glad you find our monthly quiz - Fun and inexpensive and our staff friendly! Once we did a round on Harry Potter - probably got the same reaction as GoT but, as we need to mix the Quiz up and not make it...More

Reviewed May 3, 2019

Not knowing Kings Lynn at all, we were recommended this place and it didn’t disappoint. Situated on the riverside and part of an extremely old building, Rathskeller offers food all day from sandwiches, light bites or full meals. We ordered nachos (home made) whitebait and...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank inishrath
Reviewed April 23, 2019

Lovely place, lovely staff, main course was enjoyed by all. Booked via open table who got the time wrong but very quickly sorted .

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Sharon M
Reviewed April 21, 2019

Select menu but beautifully cooked and the service is fantastic. Wine sensibly priced and good selection.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Dezappointed
Reviewed April 9, 2019 via mobile

We had a very nice evening here. Our only criticism is that the bread served with the starter was VERY stale, we assume leftover from the weekend. From looking at other reviews it seems this is not an isolated incident. Not something you’d expect from...More

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank lal1971
Reviewed March 31, 2019 via mobile

Came here for the first time looking forward to a nice meal as I had only heard good things! Service was good very polite! The menus was handed out specific menu for Mother’s Day to only see 4 mains nothing terrible but nothing to say...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank wesley_bond29
Reviewed February 25, 2019 via mobile

Perfect, in every way. Food excellent Waitress service excellent Location excellent And the weather was perfect too Thank you we will be returning 😊

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank karan m
Reviewed January 22, 2019

Tuesday night dinner date with friends. Restaurant very quiet, we were the only customers. Excellent service (not surprising) the waiter was very attentive, cheerful and thorough. Our friends had been their for lunch last year so we thought we would try the dinner menu. Food...More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank rjtasker2017
Reviewed January 16, 2019 via mobile

We chose the Rathskeller as it was recommended to us by a local and we wasn’t disappointed. The staff were friendly and although rushed of their feet nothing was to much trouble. Food was amazing. After dinner we had a drink in the bar where...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank nicktiredandfull
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 14 nearby hotels
Bank House Hotel
260 reviews
.14 miles away
Tudor Rose
63 reviews
.30 miles away
Globe Hotel
858 reviews
.33 miles away
The Dukes Head Hotel
1,320 reviews
.35 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 219 nearby restaurants
Market Bistro
782 reviews
.07 miles away
Lynn Cafe- Bar Restaurant
415 reviews
.14 miles away
Bank House
563 reviews
.15 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 83 nearby attractions
Kings Lynn Minster
168 reviews
.07 miles away
Lynn Museum
151 reviews
.30 miles away
The Walks
69 reviews
.40 miles away
The Custom House
89 reviews
.19 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
reefoasis
June 22, 2015|
Answer
Response from RathskellerKL | Property representative |
Hi We only add a discretionary service charge on tables of 8 or more persons. However, if you feel your service was not up to standard our Wait Staff will remove it. With kind regards.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing