We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Gatehouse

Kellard Place, King's Lynn PE30 5DG, England
+44 1553 766671
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good14%
  • Average13%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible38%
Travelers talk about
“fish” (6 reviews)
“piping hot” (6 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 AM - 11:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Kellard Place, King's Lynn PE30 5DG, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

my friend and i went there for a meal i ordered a all day breakfast my toast was that cold the butter remained solid on the toast,and a had a charcoaled sausage my friend ordered baked potato with cheese coleslaw & salad her potato was...More

Thank 688dee2017
Reviewed 3 days ago

We had an excellent visit, the food and drinks were great, it was a very friendly atmosphere and the staff were very polite and helpful, especially Wendy, who took our order

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank wendymorrishorn
Reviewed 5 days ago

food cool to cold, and eggs undercooked, sausages black and wrinkled, looked old stock, we complained and received more black shrivelled sausages, we got up and left, one of the staff did feel the sausage and didn't believe it was cold and served up,More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
1  Thank 560vicf
Donna C, General Manager at The Gatehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

560vicf, I am very concerned reading your the review of your recent visit. I would like the opportunity to discuss your visit in a little more detail if you could afford a few moments to call I'd certainly appreciate it. Regards Donna Crawford General Manager...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

The restaurant was clean and it was easy to find a table. Menu was varied with a good selection of dishes. Food was ready quite quickly it was hot and looked appetizing. The choice of burgers was good and we both enjoyed our me a....More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
1  Thank 567caroleh
Donna C, General Manager at The Gatehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

I'm glad to hear we managed to cater well for a "Hungry Man". We do have a vast menu with over 100 dishes to choose from. The team will be delighted with your comments regarding the quality of the food and cleanliness of the surroundings....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have now stopped here on a number of visits to the North Norfolk coast and find this a very good place to kick off from. Staff yet again helpful and smiling (with even tips and advice about the places we were en route to)....More

2  Thank midge6
Donna C, General Manager at The Gatehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Midge6, What a fab review! Thank you very much for your kind words, the team and I are always so pleased to hear how much our guests enjoyed their visit to us. We've got a cracking range of ales available to try over the festive...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Popped in here on a weekday at about 11.30am ..It was quite quiet as you'd expect for that time of morning...I had the All Day Breakfast which was very nice...quite a large plate full...service was quick and friendly...can't really fault anything ...all good :-)More

Thank Choxbird
Donna C, General Manager at The Gatehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Choxbird, I'm glad to hear our All Day Breakfast left you feeling satisfied and the team looked after you well during your visit. If you're about a little earlier next time you can get that same breakfast before 11am for just £4.99! I look forward...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

great choice of meals. offers every day. plenty to drink. good value for money. good interior decoration.

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
1  Thank alf f
Donna C, General Manager at The Gatehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Alf F, Thank you for your lovely comments. Sounds like you enjoyed all aspects of the pub during your visit which is great to hear! I look forward to welcoming you again soon! Regards Donna Crawford General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff friendly food shockingly bad lasagne best described as baked gristle and steak not medium rare but more chance of being resuscitatedMore

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank andylA8910EH
Donna C, General Manager at The Gatehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

I'm disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent visit. I'd love the chance to chat to you in a little more detail so I can work on the issues you've highlighted. If you could spare a few moments to call that would be great....More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The Gatehouse is the same as any other, single blokes watching football in tracksuits on one side & screaming kids on the other. We’re here today as we were late to get to an actual pub for a carvery & my body needed vegetables and...More

Thank D L
Donna C, General Manager at The Gatehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

D L, I'm glad to hear our Sunday roast offer and team served you well on your recent visit. The new 2 for £10 offer has been hugely popular with our guests. I take your comments on board regarding the signage, we are restricted by...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my partner came this evening and we had two meals. Mine was the Newyorker Chicken (Peas Underdone, Chips cold, Onion rings soggy) and the Chick n Mix (Garlic and Lemon sauce was so overpowering! Chips cold, Mexican Rice stuck together in a block?...More

Review collected in partnership with Greene King
Thank ThomasCoup
Donna C, General Manager at The Gatehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

ThomasCoup, Thank you for taking the time to leave a very constructive review. I'm sorry to hear we missed the boat with the food quality aspect and your comments will be used to help provide training to the team. I'm glad to hear that Wendy...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Market Bistro
670 reviews
.63 miles away
Marriott's Warehouse
827 reviews
.62 miles away
The Rathskeller
359 reviews
.60 miles away
Pizza Express - Kings Lynn
204 reviews
.60 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Kings Lynn Minster
133 reviews
.54 miles away
Lynn Museum
118 reviews
.71 miles away
The Walks
53 reviews
.51 miles away
St Nicholas' Chapel
53 reviews
.95 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
LincsWolds
July 26, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Tony Y | Reviewed this property |
I would expect so
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$4 - $20
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Kellard Place, King's Lynn PE30 5DG, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  East Anglia  >  Norfolk  >  King's Lynn
  • Phone Number: +44 1553 766671
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing