We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews


Food and ambience

Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Located in the historic town of Marlow on the River Thames and surrounded by beautiful countryside, The Chequers is a stunning pub, designed to make you feel welcome from the moment you step through the door.
$35 - $35
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
Steakhouse, Bar, British, Pub
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (716)
Filter reviews
711 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
More languages
Traveler rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak pie sandwiches pudding sunday carvery the pub cooked to perfection high street birthday meal on arrival meat roast pint
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our first visit to this pub and we were not disappointed. Very good team running the place, efficient service and good vibe to the place with a broad mix of Friday evening customers, including families.

Date of visit: May 2021
Reviewed November 3, 2020

The staff excellent food excellent the pub is excellent thay all do excellent with the lock down that is going on and the stress under in thay keep going all happy and thay keep going with all the stress with lock down rely excellent staff

Date of visit: October 2020
Reviewed October 27, 2020

Really friendly staff, excellent flatbreads, comfortable surroundings,we will visit again when we walk along the river next time

Date of visit: October 2020
Reviewed October 12, 2020 via mobile

Lovely pub, gorgeous features in both the bar and in the room. Friendly staff, impeccably clean room with basic amenities, but in these times, we were more than satisfied. We were given a bag of “goodies” upon check in, which had a sanitized remote control,...tea/coffee for the room, and breakfast menu and basic information on a sheet of paper. Perhaps I would suggest adding the bathrooms amenities to this bag? We found that one of the items was a well worn box of sewing kit, emery board etc, certainly not newly places there for our stay. Very comfy bed, and nice temperature in room too. Loads of lamps, mirrors and sockets too which I liked for when getting ready! Breakfast was excellent too! Perfect location in the centre of town, but no serious traffic noise, and we slept really well.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Reviewed September 29, 2020 via mobile

I booked and I must say the booking lady was delightful! I requested a window table and said I would have dogs and she assured me that she would tell the pub and I also said it was for my friends birthday! On the day...I arrive 15 mins early and I walk in front entrance but got imminently told off for entering wrong entrance I apologise he then said to go and check in so I go to area I was directed to and had to wait and wait then same man (think manager) came up and said you need to sign for Covid I try to interrupt to tell him I’d booked and all details are already with you! I see I’m the only booking for the afternoon! I said I booked table by the window but people are on it! I look around to realise no table was reserved for us! He said sorry can’t book specific tables sit were you want and left me it’s now table service only so I sit there and I sit, no one even acknowledged me let alone got me a drink I really wanted to order wine before birthday girl arrived so I saw a girl serving other table so when she finished I shouted to her to get some attention (hate doing that!) I got a very dirty look off her so I said sorry are you just serving food as I’d like a drink if you can ask someone, she said no I serve drinks too what do you want?? I asked for bottle of Chardonnay she goes off still no smile or any form of warmth. Then returned to say we’ve no Chardonnay no regret or sorry in tone of voice at all. I said that’s enough I’m going and she said well it’s hard with Covid! And I looked around the place was pretty empty so I walked out I told my friends and they’ve all had similar experiences so it’s not a lone experience I’m afraid! Used to be such a great pub! :(More

Date of visit: September 2020
Reviewed September 10, 2020

My friends and I visited the Chequers for a meal on the 4th September. From start to finish we had an awful experience. We had eaten there in the past a few times and had good meals, so we are very disappointed in the standard...of service and food quality we received. We had booked a table a week in advance, and when we arrived, the manager instantly seemed disgruntled. He didn’t greet us at all, simply looked up from his screen and with a terrible attitude asked if we had a booking as they were very busy. We gave the name we booked a reservation under, and after making us wait for 5 minutes with no explanation, he finally showed us to our table. The table he decided to put us on was not in the main restaurant, but in the hallway where everybody queues up waiting to be seated. Not only were we surrounded by other guests (not socially distanced), the door was wide open and we were freezing cold. None of us were happy to sit there so my friend went and spoke to the manager. As soon as she approached him he said “I know what you’re gonna say, you want to sit somewhere else”. Well of course, who would want to be sat eating dinner in the middle of a queue!? Finally the waiter came over and moved us to one of the 3 big empty tables that were in the main restaurant, which we were incredibly grateful for. When the manager came through again, he made a comment “you’re lucky I moved you to this table”. Absolutely no need for this attitude, and he was clearly aware that where he seated us originally was not comfortable, as he knew before we even said anything that we would be asking to move. The next thing was the food. I have always enjoyed the meals I have had at the Chequers but I was very disappointed and disgusted with the quality of food. We ordered bread and oil to start, with calamari. The calamari was a joke. 6 pieces no bigger than a 10 pence piece were on the plate and the majority of the “calamari” was over cooked batter. Next, our steaks came out. We all ordered Sirloins (the most expensive on the menu - £24) and I could have bought a £4 steak from Tesco, cooked it better and enjoyed it more. I have never been served sirloin on the bone, and it had a HUGE ring of fat surrounding the entire steak. After we all hacked at the fat and got to the meat, all of our steaks were over done and the meat was chewy. This is not the quality I would expect from paying for the most expensive steak on the menu. The only thing about the experience that was okay, was the waiter who was serving us was very pleasant. None of us will be going back to eat here again.More

Date of visit: September 2020
TheChequersMarlow, General Manager at The Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2020

Hi Lisa, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Firstly please accept my sincere apologies for the welcome you received, this is not acceptable and even if we are busy. I believe you dined with us on the 5th not the 4th,...More

Reviewed September 7, 2020

Seated well and order taken promptly but food took a long time to arrive. Disappointed with quality of roast beef but friendly, helpful staff.More

Date of visit: September 2020
TheChequersMarlow, General Manager at The Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2020

Hi Victoria, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry to hear that your experience was not as good as it should have been. We pride ourselves on the quality of our roast so to hear yours was less than...More

Reviewed September 7, 2020 via mobile

To book a table here it’s easy on the website and tells you that you have the table for 2 hours. We arrived early and was seated then approached by a staff member to say that we had the table for two hours and that...we should be prompt as they were fully booked !!!!! We ordered starters which were barely warm and was shocked to pay £7.95 for 6 bits of what was supposed to be squid but was just over cooked greasy batter. My husband ordered rib eye steak but received a sirloin instead. Normally we would sit and enjoy a meal and a chat but we felt uncomfortable as the staff couldn’t wait to get rid of you so as they could get more people in. Marlow is a lovely town with plenty of other restaurants to eat .More

Date of visit: September 2020
TheChequersMarlow, General Manager at The Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2020

Hi Debbie, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us. We do advise guests when they arrive if the table is rebooked, we do not do this to hurry you,it is just to ensure the guest is aware of...More

Reviewed September 7, 2020

The Chequers is a lovely pub and we had a really nice meal here. Service and prices were both good and would definitely recommend a visit if you get a chance.

Date of visit: September 2020
TheChequersMarlow, General Manager at The Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2020

Hi Andrew, Thank you for the review, We hope to see you again soon so we can do even better, then hopefully your next review of us will be 5*. Cheers The Chequers

Reviewed September 1, 2020

We spent the weekend in Marlow. Stayed on Saturday night in the signature room. it was a lovely split level room with a free standing bath. The staff were all helpful and friendly, checkin was swift. They are trying very hard with the covid restrictions...and have a one way system etc. Food and beverage could be ordered on the app. Breakfast next morning was good and delicious coffee!More

Date of visit: August 2020
TheChequersMarlow, General Manager at The Chequers, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2020

Hi Fouchie, Thank you for the review.It's good to here that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Signature room is perfect a relaxing nights stay. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks The Chequers

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Premier Inn Marlow hotel
479 reviews
.13 miles away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
2,773 reviews
.26 miles away
Crowne Plaza Marlow
121 reviews
.98 miles away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
1,648 reviews
2.44 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Cedar Coffee Shop
389 reviews
.13 miles away
262 reviews
.07 miles away
Fego Marlow
487 reviews
.02 miles away
George and Dragon
601 reviews
.12 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Marlow Bridge
126 reviews
.23 miles away
Higginson Park
148 reviews
.10 miles away
All Saints Church
34 reviews
.06 miles away
Marlow Museum
13 reviews
.37 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
January 13, 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Dstowell123 | Property representative |
Hi David S, yes we have a vegan thai curry
graham g
January 5, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Dstowell123 | Property representative |
Hi Graham Yes, there are hairdryers in all our rooms. Kind regards David
Lynn C
October 9, 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from Dstowell123 | Property representative |
Hi Lynn Yes the Friday night music is still in full swing! Check out our Facebook page for updates on the up and coming bands playing.
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Chequers

The Chequers is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5