We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
41 Charnham Street, Hungerford RG17 0EL, England
+44 1488 682512
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 170: English reviews
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We moored overnight at Hungerford on a canal boat and decided to try The Bear for our evening meal. Being Tuesday it wasn't too busy - just comfortably so and with a good food aroma. The menu contained a good choice of dishes. Two of us chose the seafood risotto which arrived steaming hot, contained plenty of seafood, was creamy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie H
Old_English_Inns99, Owner at The Bear, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words , we totally concur with your review of the Seafood Risotto!!! Kind Regards Team Bear More 

Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have eaten at the Bear in the past, and were very happy with everything. When we arrived we were surprised that the restaurant was empty. When our food came we were disappointed. The hunters chicken was dry and overcooked. My husband ordered rump steak, this was the scraggiest tough piece of meat. The seafood pastry was overcooked , as... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 43lct
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food good, but little expensive for what it is. Staff friendly. All of the common drinks seem to be on offer, however nothing special. There is a lot of space for larger groups, as well as a nice garden

Helpful?
Thank Sophia F
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The evening started badly at the Bear in Hungerford when the barman served me two bottles of orange juice, with accompanying grubby glasses served face down on the grubby bar; I have never seen glasses served face down on a bar in my life? The wine was served in a tiny cooler on top of a stack of ice. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank wonderlast
Old_English_Inns99, Owner at The Bear, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our shortcomings, rest assured that all feedback is taken seriously. We can take on board your criticism of the food and service and endeavour to improve. This isn't the first time you have reviewed an Old English Inn (Red Lion Avebury) and come to the same conclusion. Clearly our offer is not... More 

South Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food was poor and limited ingredients for breakfast. The buffet was tiny and put away even though we were at breakfast an hour before they finished service. We had to ask for yoghurts and juice. It was awkward and there was no customer service / can do attitude.

Helpful?
1 Thank WaggWales
West Sussex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went here for lunch on Friday 22nd July - one of the hotter days of the year. It was very nearly a 'Pub with no Beer'! The only thing they had was one lager or bottled beer as their cellar had overheated. Seriously - I've run pubs in the past and it's not that difficult to keep the cellar cool.... More 

Helpful?
Thank KWestSussex
Old_English_Inns99, Owner at The Bear, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Bear. You state you have 'run pubs in the past and it's not that difficult to keep the cellar cool' Perhaps you should have given us and the engineers the benefit of your wisdom and we could all have learnt from you. Our cellar is not an underground one like the... More 

Swansea
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped for food on Sunday evening (about 7.30pm). Every table had the "Sunday Roast Menu" on it so I quite fancied that idea (well, a veggie roast) but when we went to order we were told there were no more roasts. We all had chips instead but the rosemary fries didn't seem very rosemary-fied. It wasn't awful, just all felt... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SwanseaMum
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We researched somewhere to stop off before heading back on our journey and thought this place was just right, how wrong were we. No drinks at the bar except bottled, (I appreciate the hot weather and having problems with the cellar but to me that is bad maintenance). Food was OK but the waiter who brought the food out was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 271markh01
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Oh dear, sadly a poor experience, too much to go into. Food and service well below average :-) have dropped in before to eat on way home and food whilst not top standard was pleasant and served well. Can only assume everyone in there was having a bad day! Shame. The Bear years ago was really the place to go... More 

Helpful?
Thank Miranda S
Barwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

This new Steamin' Billy pub is in a great location and now has a fantastic garden space to soak up the summer sun! Great range of drinks and burgers and nicely recently done-up.

Helpful?
Thank f1tzy1

Travelers who viewed The Bear also viewed

Hungerford, Berkshire
Hungerford, Berkshire
 
Hungerford, Berkshire
Hungerford, Berkshire
 

Been to The Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    2.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Cuisine
British, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 41 Charnham Street, Hungerford RG17 0EL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Hungerford
  • Phone Number: +44 1488 682512
Description
The Bear was refurbished in November 2013 and has a fantatsic Restaurant and large Bar area. Food is served everyday 11am until 10pm.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bear staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?