We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old School House Bar and Restaurant

Church Road, Swords, Ireland
+353 1 840 2846
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good22%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“seafood chowder” (21 reviews)
“steak” (65 reviews)
“enchiladas” (8 reviews)
Open Now
10:00 AM - 11:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
American, Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Church Road, Swords, Ireland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 714 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Last night visited the old schoolhouse for first time. The bar man miss heard me and then verbally abused me when I told him what I actually ordered. He then came out from behind the bar and challenged my friend. He was an absolute thug....More

3  Thank Longwing777
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

My husband and I were in swords yesterday and wanted a sandwich at lunchtime. We did go to a pub/restraunt but everything was spicy so we asked a passer by and he directed us to the old schoolhouse. What a quaint find. The service was...More

Thank Trina C
Reviewed 2 days ago

Five hours to kill before our flight home to London. Amazing afternoon surrounded by the most friendly people. Staff were outstanding and the food was delicious. Would definately recomend and 100% come again 😊

Thank CazzaM78
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We dined here two nights in a row and the joint was jumping. It was crowded both nights, but the service was excellent and we were seated quickly. The food was superb. One night we both had the steak and Guinness pie, which was excellent....More

Thank Jeff N
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Went for drinks with friends, very busy but service was still excellent. There was a good band playing and everybody seemed to be enjoying themselves. Will definitely return.

Thank Gertheman1
Reviewed 4 days ago

The Old Schoolhouse has immediate charm and authenticity thanks to its eclectic decor. The food was just as promised - great pub food served hot and nicely presented. The portions are large so don’t overorder - though you will be tempted because the menu offers...More

Thank murmac2017
Reviewed 5 days ago

We shared meals the second time As portions so large. Great food and atmosphere.seafood chowder enough for meal.

Thank Mjkqb
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had dinner last night in the old school house and the food and service were both excellent. The service was down to Willie. He was so enthusiastic about his job. Willie sums up customer service with his friendly smile, banter and attention to detail.

1  Thank Kalene O
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for a few drinks mid week. There was a good crowd there. Good music and great Guinness. Really nice atmosphere and a great layout.

Thank Brian H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in this Restaurant many years ago and as we were leaving friends to the airport for an evening flight this week we decided to revisit. We were certainly not disappointed. The fish pie had rave reviews from one of our party as did the...More

Thank Harry C
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Wrights Cafe Bar
384 reviews
.09 miles away
Ruby's Pizza and Grill
277 reviews
.16 miles away
Masterson's Steak House & Wine Bar
653 reviews
.17 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Swords Castle
98 reviews
.23 miles away
Swords Round Tower
11 reviews
.11 miles away
Penthouse Casino & Card Club
13 reviews
.87 miles away
Pavilions Shopping Centre
74 reviews
.22 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jane G
December 16, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Rocco Orazio P | Reviewed this property |
Yes, but the space is limited.
0
Votes
Google Translation
Jess R
November 24, 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from IrishGracie | Reviewed this property |
You can only reserve a table for the restaurant section not the bar, I probably would book in case it's busy but if you haven't booked you could be lucky
0
Votes
Mary S
November 10, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from am200276 | Reviewed this property |
Hi - i am pretty sure they have some gluten free food but i cannot remember
0
Votes
Google Translation
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$8 - $41
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 11:30 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Church Road, Swords, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Leinster  >  County Dublin  >  Swords
  • Phone Number: +353 1 840 2846
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing