We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Old Thatch

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Main Street, Killeagh, Ireland
+353 24 95116
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Fri - Sat 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 154: English reviews
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited The Old Thatch for dinner on our way home from Fota. Food was absolutely delicious, variety on the menu was brilliant, staff were friendly and helpful and we will definitely be back again!

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenkelly45
DeclanCork, Owner at The Old Thatch, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. I will pass your comments on to the staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Fleet
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stopped here for lunch, en-route from Waterford to Cork - there's free parking at the rear of the premises. Welcomed upon entry and directed to a table. My husband had potato and herb soup, whilst I opted for a ham sandwich, we each had a small cider to drink. The soup, although appearing thinner than the expected norm, was tasty.... More 

Helpful?
Thank MWC521
DeclanCork, Owner at The Old Thatch, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. Until recently we were cooking and slicing our own ham but because of space restrictions (the slicer takes up a lot of counter space) we are now buying a premium cooked ham from a local supplier. We need to look at his again. Hopefully when you visit us again you will... More 

County Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here for dinner after collecting our son n his girlfriend from the airport .we had four different main courses the chicken beef lamb n home made burger .All were excellent with lovely veg n potato n chips .We were too full to have dessert .Service was good .Lovely pub very clean .Will be back .

Helpful?
Thank nathannderek
DeclanCork, Owner at The Old Thatch, responded to this review

Thank you for you kind words. My staff and I really appreciate you taking the time to post your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I came in here for some Fish and Chips. The pub was fairly spacious but it was quite dark which added a relaxed atmosphere. The staff were very nice when we ordered. The food arrived, after a tad of a wait. Nevertheless, the food was delicious! The chips were very nice and the fish was cooked to perfection. All you... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Herbie P
DeclanCork, Owner at The Old Thatch, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Sorry about the little delay but hopefully it was worth waiting for. As for the advertising, reviews from people like yourself are the best advertising we could wish for. Thanks again. More 

County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we arrived for dinner, we were not welcomed or greeted in any way. The manager made us feel unwelcome and did not engage with us. The service at the table was only fair, and overall, the performance of one staff member (I believe she was the manager) was very poor and discourteous.

Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin D
DeclanCork, Owner at The Old Thatch, responded to this review

Firstly you have obviously visited "The Old Thatch" on only one occasion. Of the previous 150 reviews the vast majority of reviewers single out the staff for extremely favourable mention. They can't all be wrong. This of course is not to say that you didn't encounter someone who was having an off day. Staff are human and just like you... More 

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

We visited The Old Thatch recently for Sunday lunch the pub itself is very welcoming and had a lovely blazing fire in the corner. It was very busy on this particular day. The staff were very efficient and friendly. The food was really good lovely spot for a Sunday lunch.

Helpful?
Thank ci83
DeclanCork, Owner at The Old Thatch, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. As you rightly say we are extremely busy for Sunday lunch. My staff and I are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us. More 

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016 via mobile

Cod and chips were lovely, Hake dish was plentiful but the desserts were fabulous . Server told us she made them herself so kudos! Bread and Butter pudding and a chocolate brownie,worth stopping for on their own

Helpful?
Thank Owen M
DeclanCork, Owner at The Old Thatch, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Kate ( she made the desserts) says she is delighted that you enjoyed the desserts. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016 via mobile

Being the age of 9 I thought it was amazing. The food was excellent and everyone loved it.☺️ The garden was beautiful with a river flowing through a bridge but it was a little bit dangerous for children because it didn't have any way of stopping them from falling into the river. Overall I thought it was Amazing!!!

Helpful?
Thank jonamur
DeclanCork, Front Office Manager at The Old Thatch, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. My staff and I are delighted that you and your family enjoyed the visit to The Old Thatch. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. More 

Co Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2016

For me its hard to go to Cork without calling in here. about half way between Dungarvan and Cork its a lovely quaint bar/ restaurant. The food is really good. mean really really good. Have been told by a friend who accompanies me that the seafood chowder is top rated. The portions of everything are very generous and the waiters/waitresses... More 

Helpful?
Thank celtic333
DeclanCork, Owner at The Old Thatch, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind words. We are delighted that you enjoy your visits to The Old Thatch look forward to seeing you again in the future. More 

Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2016

I regulary visit the Old Thatch Pub and Restuarant with my family, I find it a great place to stop off for food. It is very well run and family friendly. The variety of food is excellent, reasonably priced and efficiently severed in a professional manner. Attention to detail is excellent and I always leave with the intention of returning.... More 

Helpful?
Thank jjjbbbbb
DeclanCork, Owner at The Old Thatch, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments Joe. My staff and myself very much look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Travelers who viewed The Old Thatch also viewed

Cork, County Cork
Midleton, County Cork
 
Castlemartyr, County Cork
 

Been to The Old Thatch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$7 - $31
Cuisine
Irish, Bar, Pub, Gluten Free
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street, Killeagh, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Province of Munster  >  County Cork  >  Killeagh
  • Phone Number: +353 24 95116
Description
Lovely authentic thatched Irish pub, owner run, serving quality, local, bistro type food at affordable prices

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Old Thatch and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
8 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Thatch staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?