We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oaxaca Restaurant

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Oaxaca Restaurant
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$10 - $20
CUISINES
Mexican, Southwestern
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (1,315)
Filter reviews
1,279 results
Traveler rating
320
383
255
138
183
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
320
383
255
138
183
Show reviews that mention
All reviews enchiladas sampler plate sopapillas authentic mexican food downtown sedona red rocks margaritas views cactus
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I ate many times at this restaurant, for the past 11 years. I always liked it and this last time I ate there again. Initially I asked to be seated outside on their patio which sadly was not opened. We got a table in the...middle and asked to be moved by the window which was not a problem. Our server was very nice, I wish I knew his name. They brought up chips and salsa, very delicious, warm, you could say they were just made. The food was good , although I feel like years ago was more tasty. I ordered a chimichanga. It took about 45 minutes from the beginning till we left . The whole sitting area gets very smokey due to the proximity and of the kitchen. Nice place overall.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago

I REALLY WISH THAT I COULD GIVE - ZERO STARS THE ONLY GOOD THING ABOUT THE RESTAURANT WAS OUR WAITER MARCO We had a party of 17 people we had to sit in three different tables which I understand that was not a big deal....Sat down to eat and got our chips and salsa and my tables chips were like rubber you picked it up and it would just fall. The first table had four people in it their food came out hot the table. The table that I was sitting at the food came out warm The last table was the table that my son was sitting at their table the food came out cold the chimichangas were soggy. We went out to dinner because my son had asked his girlfriend to marry him so it was an engagement dinner. After I paid the bill my son came up to me and explained to me what his food was like so I immediately went up to the manager and told her. She told me very kindly to hold on let me see if the ticket has been closed yet so I waited. Unfortunately it had been closed so she told me to call back the next day and speak to the office manager. I got the privilege of talking to the owner and I'm being sarcastic when I say that. That was on Monday she called me back today and basically told me that I was lying. Since she spoke to everybody in charge said that I never once complained about the food. Which I explained to her that I had paid the bill cuz I thought everything was fine I did eat my food. I was complaining about my son's food that I did not know what their food was like because I was not sitting at their table. Our bill was over $600. And I was okay with paying that until I found out that their food was nasty. I would not recommend anybody ever going to this restaurant. This was on 11/15/2020. And the restrooms were nasty and dirty if I would have went to the bathroom first I would have never ate there.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
237camillet, Owner at Oaxaca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Per my investigation of the events during your family visit, there is obviously a difference of the facts as presented in your unfavorable review. Enough said, Carla Butler, owner of Oaxaca Restaurant

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great place for sunset dinners. We had an early dinner and enjoyed an amazing sunset here. Good Mexican food and very friendly waiter. The drinks incl sangria were very good. Food is well Priced. The outdoor seating was spectacular. Definitely worth visiting

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped at Oaxaca for lunch. We were seated in the patio. The sun was bright so it made me a bit hot. The service was great. Our waiter was very friendly. We ordered drinks. I got a Margarita and my hubby had a beer....We also did the sampler plater appetizer. Everything tasted good. Food could have been a little better but my margarita was amazing.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sat on the upper open air level on Beautiful fall evening. The lighting was too bright and harsh. The non-traditional music was too loud. Spoiled what could have been an enjoyable dinner overlooking the downtown. To add insult to injury, our waiter, Benito, was too...busy to wait on our table. Was 20 minutes after seating to take order. We had to flag down other wait staff for refills. Food was good, just hard to enjoy in that setting.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed September 27, 2020

The food is okay but the restaurant is not scooter friendly. The waiter took a awhile to service us.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
oaxacaoffice, Front Office Manager at Oaxaca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2020

Thank you for your review. Our Building is one of the first ones in uptown Sedona it has many levels and lots of character just not a wheelchair ramp. We do have a side entrance that can accommodate a scooter to our front dining room.

Reviewed September 7, 2020

Stopped for a quick lunch, service was great, margaritas also. We shared a couple of sampler plates, they were tasty. Great location downtown Sedona,

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
oaxacaoffice, General Manager at Oaxaca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2020

Thanks for dining with us. Our sampler plates are very popular. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed August 30, 2020

Excellent location and great service, however, the food was nothing to write home about. Far from "authentic Mexican" and definitely overpriced for the quality. Overall experience just felt cheap.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
oaxacaoffice, General Manager at Oaxaca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2020

Thanks for taking time to review us.

Reviewed August 27, 2020

we stopped when e were driving through and had lunch. They fad family good mexican food. Vege enchiladas were filled with spinach. margaritas were good too. Service was great and there was outside seating with mists that was nice in the heat.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
oaxacaoffice, General Manager at Oaxaca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2020

Thanks for dining with us and taking time to give us a good review. We hope you will visit with us next time you are in Sedona!

Reviewed August 25, 2020

We were not expecting much, as this restaurant is in the heart of the tourist center. We were pleasantly surprised - very good food served with a smile at a reasonable price considering the area. Karla, our waitress, did an excellent job.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
oaxacaoffice, General Manager at Oaxaca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2020

Thank you for dining with us. We hope to see you again soon!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Matterhorn Inn
780 reviews
.05 miles away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
2,520 reviews
.10 miles away
Star Motel
268 reviews
.11 miles away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
2,283 reviews
.13 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Sedona Memories
554 reviews
.10 miles away
Elote Cafe
5,204 reviews
.08 miles away
Outlaw Grille
323 reviews
.09 miles away
PussyCat Gelato
68 reviews
.03 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Out of Africa Wildlife Park Gift Shop
11 reviews
.03 miles away
Aurora Dora
7 reviews
.04 miles away
Sinagua Plaza
5 reviews
.05 miles away
Rollie's Camera Shop
20 reviews
.03 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Vickie V
May 17, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from larryo843 | Reviewed this property |
Not sure. Maybe during peak season you make have to but we were there in mid March.
0
Votes
Sonia V
November 15, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from N8840INlisak | Reviewed this property |
I'm sorry...I have no idea.
0
Votes
Pat S
February 26, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Jerry L | Reviewed this property |
Well, you'll just have to go there and see if they'll share their magic recipe! Just enjoyed it, but not good at identifying ingredients--sorry!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing