We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Le Pommier wine estate & leisure

Helshoogte Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
+27 21 885 1269
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good28%
  • Average23%
  • Poor14%
  • Terrible15%
Travelers talk about
“oxtail” (5 reviews)
“chicken pie” (2 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Wine Bar
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Helshoogte Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 127 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2017

Le Pommier is always good to go to when one is unsure of what one wants to eat. Their chicken supreme is outstanding, their burgers great and their fish and chips delicious. Steak is not their forte, but good service makes up for it.

Thank Karin K
Reviewed March 16, 2017

The Scenery is beautiful in this area and we went for Sunday Lunch. Their prices are average and I decided to try the pork belly but was very disappointed - we didn't bother with dessert. Don't think we'll bother with a return visit.

1  Thank MiloDexter
Reviewed March 5, 2017

Dropped by there on way to Graff (only to look & hobnob with the affluent!) Had table in the shade - temp c. 32 degrees - and sampled local dishes of Bobotie and Potjie ..delicious. Also had some local starters to whet the appetite. Like...More

Thank Deltablade
Reviewed February 16, 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the lodges (which are more than amazing) and therefore we had dinner and breakfast at the restaurant. Every time we had to wait for an hour for Some food. The food itself is ok, but nothing special.

Thank Lvhart
Le Pommier Rest... L, General Manager at Le Pommier wine estate & leisure, responded to this review

We thank you for your feedback and apologise if you had a bad experience at our restaurant. Your comment about the slow service have been noted. Regards ELMIEN

Reviewed January 22, 2017

The service was so bad that I had to get up and find a waiter to bring us some more drinks while we waited for our meal which took way too long to arrive. When it did arrive it was awful. The prawns were soggy...More

Thank Derek L
Le Pommier Rest... L, General Manager at Le Pommier wine estate & leisure, responded to this review

Dear Derek I am really sorry that you had such a bad experience at our restaurant. To enable me to take the necessary action, would you mind to please contact me on 021 885 1269. I will discuss the matter with you further on the...More

Reviewed January 16, 2017

A great place to try some South African specials. In our party we tried the bobotie and the potjie. Both were very tasty and the portions were huge. A few of us had the malva pudding for desert, which was a bit disappointing (my custard...More

Thank Martin D
Le Pommier Rest... L, General Manager at Le Pommier wine estate & leisure, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and I must apologise for the tasteless custard. I will discuss with the relative kitchen staff as this is unacceptable. Regards ELMIEN

Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

On our anniversary weekend getaway We had a decent lunch at Le Pommier and decided to return for dinner. We do not often go away and it was a huge treat for us. After waiting an hour for our food our meals arrived but mine...More

Thank Candice C
Le Pommier Rest... L, General Manager at Le Pommier wine estate & leisure, responded to this review

I must apologise for your bad dinner experience at our restaurant. All your points raised have be addressed and discussed with the Head Chef. It is totally unacceptable as we strive in giving all our guests a special experience when visiting our restaurant. Please contact...More

Reviewed January 11, 2017

We checked in at Lumley's Place and enjoyed a light lunch at Le Pommier last friday, 06 January 2017. We were seated promptly outside under and umbrella. The restaurant was not very busy as there were plenty of empty tables outside. After being seated, we...More

Thank Travis_TG
Le Pommier Rest... L, General Manager at Le Pommier wine estate & leisure, responded to this review

Dear Travis I apologise for the slow service when you visited our restaurant. I would like to invite you back when you in the area again, just to proof that this is not our norm and I promise that this will not occur again. Regards...More

Reviewed December 18, 2016 via mobile

I love this restaurant! Besides staying at Le pommier which was amazing - we had breakfast included every morning at the restaurant on site! The service was fast and the Chef cooked amazing food! Not only that he was extremely friendly! To add onto that...More

Thank Matthew R
Reviewed December 18, 2016 via mobile

I was caught out a bit with most wineries being closed for lunch by 3:00pm on Sundays. Luckily I came across Le pommier. I had the bobtjie which was absolutely wonderful and was matched with a red blend by the waitress which was spot on....More

Thank gingermeggs65
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Fat Butcher
278 reviews
1.63 miles away
De Warenmarkt
64 reviews
1.68 miles away
Meraki
61 reviews
1.66 miles away
The Vine, Glenelly Bistro
23 reviews
.70 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Lanzerac Wine Estate
135 reviews
.81 miles away
Glenelly
37 reviews
.86 miles away
Stellenbosch Toy & Miniature Museum
15 reviews
.57 miles away
Shootopia Shooting Adventures
9 reviews
.70 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Le Pommier wine estate & leisure staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$2 - $14
Cuisine
Wine Bar
Meals
Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Television
Good for
Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Helshoogte Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Stellenbosch
  • Phone Number: +27 21 885 1269
  • E-mail
Description
Country Style Cape Vineyard Lodge and Restaurant. Child friendly with petting zoo. Ideal venue for intimate weddings and small conferences.