We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Helena's

33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
+27 21 883 3132
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent71%
  • Very good22%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“mezze platter” (28 reviews)
“risotto” (37 reviews)
“rack of lamb” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 652 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

I recently saw that Helena's had a new menu, so I took the first opportunity to try out their new selection. Highly noteworthy was the inclusion of several interesting side-dishes from the kitchen (cucumber baked in white sauce, and leeks cooked in a savory sweet-sour...More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Henri H
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Delicious, scrumptious 4 course meal enjoyed with friends and clients. The chef's may be applauded for outstanding food and presentation.More

Thank rATsw
Marketing_and, General Manager at Helena's, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear rATsw, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to Helena's Restaurant. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our food and wine pairing evening. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

Service was very good, our waiter had a wonderful sense of humour, will go back just to deal with him again! Ambiance of restaurant was pleasant. Food was average, small portions and overpriced.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank TravelbugDurban
Marketing_and, General Manager at Helena's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear TravelbugDurban, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor. As we pride ourselves on delivering a high standard of food and service, we were disappointed to learn that your meal failed to meet your expectations. Helena's Restaurant is generally known...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Never been to this restaurant before. The service was impeccable as was the food. I had a fabulous kingklip dish . Will return when in Stellenbosch again.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Elaine J
Marketing_and, General Manager at Helena's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Elaine J, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to Helena's Restaurant. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our food. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests. We...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a fantastic meal with superb service from the friendly doorman to the chef and his waiters. It was unforgettable to experience a cozy fire place while sipping on Stellenbosch's finest wines prior to our three course mind blowing meal...More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank LanceVR
Marketing_and, General Manager at Helena's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear LanceVR, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to Helena's Restaurant. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our food and wine selection. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

On our last night in Stellenbosch, we had dinner at Helena's. The restaurant offers very good dishes, in particular we have appreciated the pork loin: excellent! Staff is very kind and quick. We suggest to book the day before in order to find a table.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank fycoz
Marketing_and, General Manager at Helena's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear fycoz, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to Helena's Restaurant. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our food. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests. We look...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After 20 hours of travelling we wanted to simply eat at the restaurant in the the Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel where we were staying. Well this was not just a hotel restaurant. It was a pleasant, attractive, quiet atmosphere, with great food and superb service for...More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Rich206
Marketing_and, General Manager at Helena's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Rich206, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to Helena's Restaurant. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our food, service and atmosphere. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We dined inside on a colder spring night and enjoyed every dish. A great and diverse menu and excellent wines!More

Thank Elegiel
Marketing_and, General Manager at Helena's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Elegiel, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to Helena's Restaurant. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our food and wine selection. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was taken to Helena's by work colleagues to enjoy a meal with overseas visitors and partners. The food was excellent - I had the lamb rack which was perfect (crisp on the outside, tender and a bit pink in the middle), and other choices...More

Thank IanDogless
Marketing_and, General Manager at Helena's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear IanDogless, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to Helena's Restaurant. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our food. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests. We look...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a lovely meal. Went for lobster as a starter and steak as main. Very good service and quality of food.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank tomstradwick
Marketing_and, General Manager at Helena's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear tomstradwick, Thank you for your review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to Helena's Restaurant. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our service and food. Your positive comments inspire us to create an even better experience for our guests....More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Stellenbosch Kitchen
702 reviews
.04 miles away
Basic Bistro
635 reviews
.01 miles away
Jardine Restaurant
106 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Stellenbosch University Botanical Garden
621 reviews
.21 miles away
The Stellenbosch Village Museum
268 reviews
.09 miles away
Stellenbosch Visitor Centre
24 reviews
.30 miles away
Dylan Lewis Sculpture Garden
14 reviews
.28 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Helena's staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:30 pm - 3:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
8:00 am - 10:30 am
Monday
12:30 pm - 3:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
7:00 am - 10:30 am
Tuesday
12:30 pm - 3:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
7:00 am - 10:30 am
Wednesday
12:30 pm - 3:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
7:00 am - 10:30 am
Thursday
12:30 pm - 3:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
7:00 am - 10:30 am
Friday
12:30 pm - 3:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
7:00 am - 10:30 am
Saturday
12:30 pm - 3:30 pm
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
8:00 am - 10:30 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Stellenbosch
  • Phone Number: +27 21 883 3132
  • E-mail
Description
Helena's Restaurant at Coopmanhuijs aims to serve heritage food with finesse, often with subtle twists in the detail, thereby turning the familiar into the spectacular. The menu is designed to reflect the bounty of the Boland, with specific emphasis on freshness and food provenance - the "from where" and "by whom" of locally sourced (often artisanal) ingredients.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing