We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Morgenhof restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
27218895510
Website
Monday
Closed
Hours:
Tue - Sun 9:00 am - 11:00 am
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 43: English reviews
Kuils River, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had a great experience while also buying wine, the service is great and the food is excellent, will go back there anytime!!!

Helpful?
Thank 629johant
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof restaurant, responded to this review

Hallo there! We would like to thank you for your review of our Estate recently! We hope to welcome you back soon again! ;-) More 

Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

lovely, nice people, nice views and nice food. We have been before and would certainly go again next time we are in Africa

Helpful?
Thank Deborah_L123
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof restaurant, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to welcome you back again soon! ;-) More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2016

Mothersday lunch Good antipasta starter pity about store bought bread. Disappointing not having all Morgenhof white wines available. Lamb cuttlets more fat then meat. Kudu Fillet dry with bland du. with springbok wontons dry and after being deepfried too long, Very average for high price meal with warm wine with ice added to chill

Helpful?
1 Thank jacqueso
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Jacques, Sorry that you had a bad experience at Morgenhof yesterday. Very much to our disbelief we were faced with an unexpected power failure which lasted for several hours and resulted in many problems on the day, i.e not being able to bake fresh breads and serving warm wine. I assure you that this is not the norm and... More 

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016 via mobile

Spoiled ourselves to a delightfully, romantic breakfast for our wedding anniversary. We were the only guests and received a beautiful glass of bubbly to celebrate our 24 years together. They set a table for us outside in the little courtyard with peacocks watching over us. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was divine! Perfectly poached eggs and... More 

Helpful?
Thank LizelDV
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof restaurant, responded to this review

Lizel, Thanks for the kind words! We are very pleased that you had a great experience celebrating your wedding anniversary! Please call again soon for your "wintry lunch" - our winter menu is about to be launched in the next few weeks! ;-) Regards, Anita More 

Patna, India
Level Contributor
311 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

what a beautiful place with beautiful weather for an outdoor Sunday lunch. I went with the lamb chops (generous portion of very tasty food). I went with the suggested wine pairing (in this case a Merlot). Things went incredibly well together. Service was great!

Helpful?
Thank fozjon
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof restaurant, responded to this review

Hallo there! We would like to thank you for your lovely review! We are known for our excellent food and wine service at Morgenhof and would like to build on this reputation. We hope to welcome you back soon! ;-) Kind Regards, Anita Streicher Nel (Marketing Manager) More 

Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2016

I told my wife, this was one of the tastiest meals I have ever had. She agreed. I said this must be a 5star experience. She said “hang on...” and pointed out that we were sitting on green PVC poolside chars, under an old rickety awning in a dusty gravel pit. The service was, in my opinion, world class. Good... More 

Helpful?
Thank Charl F
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Charl, We thank you for your honest review, with constructive feedback! ;-) Kind Regards, Anita Streicher Nel (Marketing Manager) More 

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
214 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful place with a lovely garden and a stunning view of the mountains. Wine tasting is R50 pp for five wines. Take a stroll to the dam in the garden to see a range of colorful birds.

Helpful?
Thank ChristianFrantz
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof restaurant, responded to this review

Thanks for your recent review Christian, we really appreciate your feedback! We hope to see you again soon! More 

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2016 via mobile

I've been to Morgenhof many times before and enjoyed it there. This time I took friends a what a disaster it was we waited over an hour for our food we were told that a mistake had been made which is understandable, but a big table that came in after us had already had there starters and main meal had... More 

Helpful?
Thank WSixtyNine
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sir/Madam, I would really like to apologise for the unacceptable service you received at our establishment. I have addressed the situation with our staff. We normally pride ourselves for the excellent customer service we give, and so this came as a big disappointment. I would like to extend an invitation to you and a partner or friends to return... More 

Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2016

Morgenhof Wine Estate is just out of Stellenbosch on your way to Paarl. Set in a beautiful valley, the restaurant is situation under huge shady trees. They have a wonderful menu with a wide range to chose from. We had the line fish (yellow tail), which was served on a bed of fresh mixed vegetables, and it was delicous. What... More 

Helpful?
Thank KrigGB
AnitaStreicherNel, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof restaurant, responded to this review

Hallo KrigGB, Thanks for your recent review, we use only the freshest and most premium quality local ingrediens to serve our guests. Furthermore we have an extremely professional and knowledgeable team in our kitchen creating master pieces! We hope to see you back soon! Regards, Anita More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2016 via mobile

On a very hot day the water jug was brought to the table automatically, a first for me in South Africa...... We chose from the light meals which catered to both old, middle aged and the young. Excellent wine at cellar prices made it a very good value for money. Will be back to sample some of the interesting looking... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Morgenhof_Wine_Est, Public Relations Manager at Morgenhof restaurant, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review of our restaurant. We strive for good customer service and are pleased that you were happy with the experience! Hope to see you back shortly! Kind Regards, Anita Streicher Nel More 

Travelers who viewed Morgenhof restaurant also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Morgenhof restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
African
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 11:00 am
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 11:00 am
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 11:00 am
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 11:00 am
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 11:00 am
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 11:00 am
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Stellenbosch, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Stellenbosch
  • Phone Number: 27218895510
Description
http://www.morgenhof.com/

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Morgenhof restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Morgenhof restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?