We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell Tavern

) #24 of 114 Restaurants in Knysna $$ - $$$ Bar, British, Pub
Lower Duthie Drive, Belvidere Estate | At The Belvidere Manor Hotel, Knysna 6570, South Africa
+27 44 387 1055
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good36%
  • Average14%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“cobb salad” (5 reviews)
“steak pie” (5 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Lower Duthie Drive, Belvidere Estate | At The Belvidere Manor Hotel, Knysna 6570, South Africa
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 70 of 239 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2016

Super steak and lovely craft beer. This little Tavern is just too cute to miss. Fantastic food and lovely service makes it all the better.

1  Thank gobeyondtravels
Reviewed June 3, 2016

As we were staying in the Knysna Chalets close by, we frequented this pub. The staff were extremely helpful and the food consistently good. The prices were very good value for money too.

1  Thank Gibbsfamily
Reviewed May 27, 2016

We were staying on the Belvedere Estate and ate in the Bell Tavern three times during our stay. Overall, the food was very good and reasonably priced. as were the drinks. It sometimes took a while for our food to arrive, perhaps because all the...More

Thank DAVID B
Reviewed May 21, 2016

It was quiet on the evening that we went to the Bell Tavern, but the staff were very attentive, the service was cheerful and friendly and the food was good. The prices were surprisingly good on both the food and drinks. My only problem was...More

Thank m0zchick
Reviewed May 15, 2016

We went to The Bell for a sun-downer with all good intention to move on to a restaurant for dinner afterwards. On reading the menu we decided to stay and were we bowled over by the quality of the food. I had the Potted Chicken...More

Thank Philda B
Reviewed May 14, 2016

We've been here numerous times for meals and never walked away disappointed. After arriving just before 10 for breakfast we waited in vain for any serving staff to appear. They just we're not to be found! After eventually tracking them down we were directed to...More

Thank Gatvol69
Reviewed May 1, 2016

We visited this pub / restaurant today, and were 7 people. We waited very long to be served, received half of our drinks and had to ask four times for one lady's G&T. We were very patient as it is a long week end and...More

Thank 8joan
MikeKnysna, Manager at The Bell Tavern, responded to this review

I must apologise for the poor service as described and plans have been made so that we don't get caught out by a busy weekend again. A great number of patrons arriving with only a limited staff on hand and insufficient preparation can only lead...More

Reviewed April 30, 2016

Service and meals I have always found to be excellent. Their famous chicken and mushroom pies as well as their Beef pies. The menu offers all sorts of meals from snacks, soup, fish, pastas, bobotie, and steaks. I have been there many times over the...More

Thank vernonbrusse
MikeKnysna, Manager at The Bell Tavern, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and look forward to you returning once again.

Reviewed April 22, 2016 via mobile

A lovely spot for lunch with excellent fish 'n chips. However, whatever pleasant ambience there might have been was totally spoilt by their anal attitude to wifi; it is only available to hotel residents and not those mere mortals who choose to spend their money...More

1  Thank a w
MikeKnysna, Manager at The Bell Tavern, responded to this review

Good day - Thank you for your comments - I sure you will understand that we don't give free wifi usage to everybody - had you wished to purchase a wifi voucher you could have gained wifi access. Hotel guest do have limited access on...More

Reviewed March 28, 2016 via mobile

The Bell Tavern is a charming little place with beautiful surroundings. The staff is friendly and we loved the wide variety of beer that was available but unfortunately the food was very dissapointing. Of the 4 main course that we ordered only one was sort...More

1  Thank StellaJ09
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Pembreys
388 reviews
.62 miles away
Butterfly Blu Restaurant
261 reviews
2.27 miles away
Cafe Mario
928 reviews
2.65 miles away
Kilzer's Kitchen
143 reviews
1.73 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Brenton on Sea
404 reviews
2.32 miles away
Knysna Lagoon
494 reviews
2.85 miles away
Featherbed Nature Reserve
922 reviews
2.44 miles away
Jandreart Studio
34 reviews
2.79 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
HelenevZyl
for breakfast tomorrow Sunday 29th May?
May 28, 2016|
What is your answer?
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Local cuisine, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lower Duthie Drive, Belvidere Estate | At The Belvidere Manor Hotel, Knysna 6570, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Knysna
  • Phone Number: +27 44 387 1055
  • E-mail
Description
It is a quaint little pub sitauated on the grounds of Belvidere Manor