We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Zachary's Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Lagoon View Dr, Eastern Head | Conrad Pezula, Knysna 6570, South Africa
044 302 3364
Website
Sunday
Closed
Hours:
Wed - Sat 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 72: English reviews
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

Both the mains were cooked saltless. Considering this was fine dining, the presentation was quite ordinary. Avoid if vegetarian.

Helpful?
Thank VijayTaparia
Conrad P, General Manager at Zachary's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear VijayTaparia, Thank you for your review and for choosing to dine at Zachary's Please rest assured that we have noted your comments and will use your valuable feedback to make improvements. It is only through feedback that we can continuously improve. We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back and restore your confidence in us. Best... More 

Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016 via mobile

First time at Zacharys restaurant woooooow that was a good experience the food was very very amazing,thumbs up to our waitress for that night Wendy she welcome us with a beautiful smile in her face ohhhhh the recomendation of food she gave us we couldn't ask for more ,from starters to dessert everything was amazing goooood service will definitely coming... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
Conrad P, General Manager at Zachary's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Mark H Thank you for taking the time to share your dining experience at Zachary's, Conrad Pezula with us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the menu and that you received knowledgeable and friendly service from Wendy. I will be sure to share your positive comments with her. We do hope we will have... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
245 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2016 via mobile

So disappointing to see how Zachary's has gone from bad to worse since the Conrad has taken over the Pezula. We have been several times over the years, with our recent visit being the lowest point, and the one at which we will no longer return until changes are made. Service is terrible (untrained staff left us having to ask... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PatBar2
Conrad P, General Manager at Zachary's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear PatBar2 Thank you for your review and for choosing to dine at Zachary's. It is disappointing for me to know that you left with a negative impression of us and as you have explained in your post, your overall dining experience was not what you expected for which we sincerely apologise. Please rest assured that we take every opportunity... More 

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2016

placed in a beautiful hotel one would expect to have a higher quality and gourmet dinning so it was very disappointing to be served an average off the road dinning.

Helpful?
Thank Sheila Z
Conrad P, General Manager at Zachary's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sheila Z Thank you for your review and for choosing to dine at Zachary's. Please rest assured that we take every opportunity to learn from any mistakes we have made and will use your valuable feedback to make improvements and assist with further training. We hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back and restore your... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2016

After seeing some great reviews, we thought we'd book this place for dinner during our stay in Knysna, and wished we hadn't bothered! This restaurant certainly isn't fine dining - despite being only one of four occupied tables in the entire restaurant, we were completely neglected. The service was slow, our bottle of wine was placed on the other side... More 

Helpful?
Thank Meera L
Conrad P, General Manager at Zachary's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Meera L Thank you for your review and for choosing to dine at Zachary's. It is disappointing for me to know that you left with a negative impression of us and as you have explained in your post, your overall dining experience was not what you expected for which we sincerely apologise. We hope that we might have the... More 

Cotswolds
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2016

The food is very good, the service was at the sort of slow pace we enjoy in this sort of restaurant. The wine service needs addressing, you have to be firm insist on the wine list early as there appears to be only one copy. Some people were getting food before they ordered wine. If this area was corrected then... More 

Helpful?
Thank welshtraveller09
Conrad P, General Manager at Zachary's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear welshtraveller09 Thank you for taking the time to share your dining experience with us on Trip Advisor. While there are positive aspects in your feedback, it concerns me that you waited for wine service. Please note this has been addressed with the service team. Best regards, Victor Chalfoun General Manager More 

Garden route
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2016

Pardon a preamble divergence - I have commented many times how good the food and how mostly poor the service is at Cafe Z . Now to Zachary's . I have attended 3 food and wine pairings in the last 5 months . The new chef is far more talented and a cut above his predecessor . The last tasting... More 

Helpful?
Thank GardenrouteOstrich
Conrad P, General Manager at Zachary's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear GardenrouteOstrich Thank you for your continued support of Zachary's and Conrad Pezula and for sharing your feedback with us. We have noted your comments regarding the meal and wine pairing and will use your valuable feedback to make improvements. We hope to see you at our next gourmet wine evening. Best regards, Victor Chalfoun General Manager More 

Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2016 via mobile

I had high expectations for this restaurant since it is inside The Conrad Pezula Resort. Unfortunately the service is poor. People are kind but simply forget what we order. Also they take FOREVER to serve. You ask for the check...also a lifetime. They charged twice for the soft drinks. We were drinking one wine and all of a sudden the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank walterrodriguesfilho
Conrad P, General Manager at Zachary's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Walter R Thank you for taking the time to share your dining experience at Zachary's with us on Trip Advisor. It disheartens me to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your experience and would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered during your stay. We hope to welcome you back... More 

Cape
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2016

Thank you very much for accommodating our group for this special function! Olga from Meridian made sure that we enjoy our La Motte wines. Only the best!!

Helpful?
Thank HeinWine
Conrad P, General Manager at Zachary's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear HeinWine Thank you for dining at Zachary's and for sharing your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your evening and the delicious La Motte wines. We hope you visit us again soon. Best regards, Victor Chalfoun General Manager More 

Chigwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

This restaurant was relaxing and offered a lovely menu. The staff were helpful. Our waitress was delightful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth F
Conrad P, General Manager at Zachary's Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Maurice1808 Thank you for your lovely review. I will be sure to share your positive comments with the team. We hope you visit and dine with us again soon. Best regards, Victor Chalfoun General Manager More 

Travelers who viewed Zachary's Restaurant also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Zachary's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$20 - $50
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Full Bar, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Open Hours
Wednesday
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Lagoon View Dr, Eastern Head | Conrad Pezula, Knysna 6570, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Knysna
  • Phone Number: 044 302 3364
Description
Named after the Chairman's much-loved and well-travelled Labrador, Zachary's is stylish and contemporary and reflects the five star luxury of the award-winning Conrad Pezula Resort & Spa. Upmarket without being intimidating, sophisticated but not pretentious, Zachary’s offers seasonal menus incorporating vegetables, fruit and herbs from the hotel’s organic gardens and the bounty of fresh produce available in the Garden Route area, reflecting a clean, honest approach to food with a unique style of its own.The restaurant’s award-winning wine list has twice received an Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Zachary's Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Zachary's Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?