We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Tikka Palace

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Village Square Water Front Piaza | Hermanus, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
283122239
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 95: English reviews
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Tikka place provides a welcome change of cuisine in hermanus. The service was efficient and menu reads like most Indian restaurants in big cities so enough variety for all. Food is ok. Not special as can get better in major cities but for its location it is ok. Restaurant was quiet as we were the only patrons during lunchtime but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kyle W
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

If you want something different from the usual cuisine around Hermanus this a a good place to try out . The food Indian but a clean decent place to have a meal . The food although "authentic" lacked something that would make this place very special. Although the food was well prepared and nothing to complain about we have eaten... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shube1
Hermanus
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lam Rogan Josh was delicious but oh my hat, only 4 pieces of beef in the entire dish. It was a mission to get my husband there and then to leave still hungry. the portions are really too small for the amount of money you pay.

Helpful?
Thank Timsnon
TikkaPalace, Owner at Tikka Palace, responded to this review

Hi dear sorry to hear you found 4 pieces of meat in Lamb Rogan Josh. Firstly we do not have any beef dish on the menu, so it was lamb and not beef, secondly under no circumstances you could get 4 pieces of meat, as our portions are generous and we do not compromise on quality and quantity. I personally... More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2016

We love Indian / Pakistani / Bangaldeshi food - love it love it love it and so whenever we are away we must (MUST) find THE place to indulge our obsession. In Hermanus we found it, oh we soooo found it. From the warm welcome to the attentive care of our waiter Lovemore we couldn't have been happier. We poured... More 

Helpful?
Thank African_Albatross
TikkaPalace, Owner at Tikka Palace, responded to this review

We thank you so much for your positive review, and appreciate your Patronage. Looking forward to serve you again. Regards More 

Level Contributor
206 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016 via mobile

We went to Tikka Palace for dinner last night. As usual the food was excellent. This restaurant maintains it's standard for food quality and consistency. The food is typical North Indian cuisine. Do not expect the lavish furniture and decor that you would see at Bukhara. The styling is rustic but functional.

Helpful?
Thank Clinton C
TikkaPalace, Owner at Tikka Palace, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Regards More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2016

Having stayed in Pringle Bay last weekend we decided to take a drive to Hermanus. We opted to have lunch at this restaurant and felt happy with our choice of food especially in the chilly weather. The restaurant has a sea view and a pleasant layout. The food menu was extensive and everyone was pleased with their meals except for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue4680
TikkaPalace, Owner at Tikka Palace, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, sorry about Biryani and Lassi. We use Mango Pulp in Lassi and some time it is very Sugary. We will do our best to satisfy your needs and expectations. Regards More 

Johannesburg
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016

Business Lunch. Had a loverly meal. If you like indian food this is the place to go. Decor and service lets it down a bit, but the food makes up for it.

Helpful?
Thank Linmic16
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
165 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016

Arrive late evening on a quiet day in Hermanus...is there any other type? My wife fancied an Indian meals and this did not disappoint. Good selection, quality food and friendly service. The only drawback is its location upstairs in a nondescript shopping area.

Helpful?
Thank tommywelltravelled
Hermanus, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2016

A must in Hermanus great food, friendly owners and staff so so friendly. Prices really good and you can take your own wine. The food from so mild to hot you can choose from huge selection every thing on menu greate.

Helpful?
Thank andre g
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2016 via mobile

Food consistently good - don't even use menu anymore ;-) Esp samoosas & chic korma! Friendly servers and gracious host.

Helpful?
Thank drsueki

Travelers who viewed Tikka Palace also viewed

Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 
Hermanus, Overberg District
Hermanus, Overberg District
 

Been to Tikka Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$5 - $10
Cuisine
Indian, Vegetarian Friendly, Pakistani, Halal, Middle Eastern
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Delivery, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Large groups, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Village Square Water Front Piaza | Hermanus, Hermanus 7200, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Overberg District  >  Hermanus
  • Phone Number: 283122239
Description
The Tikka Palace Restaurant in the Village Centre Hermanus offers exquisite traditional Indian & Pakistani cuisine by candle light. All at a reasonable rate! During whale season guests are also amazed by the performance of the whales in the ocean opposite Village Centre.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Tikka Palace and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Cape Town
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Tikka Palace staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?