We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
No. 1, Courtenay Street, George 6529, South Africa
+27 44 873 3127
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 174: English reviews
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2016 via mobile

the food was amazing and the service was even better the waiter knew his food and drinks loved my visit

Helpful?
Thank hayden p
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2016 via mobile

The place has been upgraded and it looks good. Service was very good and the sushi definitely got upgraded. We try to eat at every sushi place in George and this is the new number 1. It used to be good but now its great. Like the atmosphere. All round good experience. You guys will see us again.

Helpful?
Thank WesJulz L
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2016 via mobile

Had a very nice evening friendly service with a delightful waiter(Emile) great food and sushi. Love the new look

Helpful?
Thank JasonGrey
Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2016 via mobile

Absolutely not impressed with the new manager, I was not happy with my meal as it tasted a bit off and funky ( I had prawns) He came to the table to tell me my meal was indeed "not off". I insisted then that he should taste it and he told me he did and it tasted fine. Very cocky,... More 

Helpful?
Thank TaylaT17
Management response:

Hi Tayla, We can assure you that your prawns were not off, just a different type of prawn. South Africa is short of prawns at the moment so the ones you had are not the ones that you are used to (you had Argentinian prawns as those were the only ones we could get at the time, you are probably... More 

Comayagua, Honduras
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2016 via mobile

So disappointed. A friend said it was a good place for seafood. I felt like we received yesterdays fish reheated. I ordered mussels for a starter. It had a very thick garlic butter sauce in each shell. Once I tasted them I saw why. They were not fresh. I had the hake and calamari. The hake had a light breading... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynobin
Management response:

Hi there Lynobin. Gosh, we are so sorry that your experience with us was so atrocious! If we had known we would have corrected it immediately! I can guarantee that we get fresh whole fish in daily to avoid situations like this. This is the reason we removed different options of fish from the menu and only have a Fish... More 

George, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2016

The King Fisher used to be one of my favourites, until it came under new management. The question is: How do you destroy a winning recipe? This is quite simple: 1. Change the decor to make it look more expensive 2. Increase the food prices to fit the new decor 3. Reduce the food quality to increase the profit margin... More 

Helpful?
Thank Toerman
Management response:

Hi there, Toerman. Seeing as King Fisher used to be 'one of your favourites' you would know that change of ownership has changed twice since May 2016, the first change prices increased, the second time round prices DECREASED. (As of 1 December 2016) - I'm quite sure you do a lot of your shopping at places like Pick n Pay... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2016

A delicious meal was had by all. A very helpful waitress who happily correct an error when the wrong sauce was added to a pasta meal and made it very spicy, inedible. It was a Sunday night so the restaurant was quiet which was perfect for our group. Some of the yummiest chips I've had in ages, don't often eat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2016 via mobile

The restaurant itself is very basic, it hasn't kept up with the times but the food is even worse. The presentation of the food on the plate looked dreadful. Why this restaurants chef needs to cook the vegetables until they are completely dead and then cook it some more and then boil it further amazes me. Great service but an... More 

Helpful?
Thank AfricanNomad1985
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

Wow, since the new owners took over, is not just the amazing make over a breath of fresh air but the new menu aswell, the shusi is out of this world...best in George, but every dish on the menu is something to talk about...."out of this word", thank you for great food and nice atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank sharryn w
Laingsburg, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2016

I only ever order sushi when eating out and I do not eat out that often but I do know my sushi. What passes for sushi in South Africa today is a joke. Basically salmon, tasteless frozen crab sticks and equally tasteless frozen prawns. Even tuna is hard to find these days. Ten years ago a decent (Cape Town) sushi... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey G
Management response:

Hi Geoffrey! We know that you are the king of sushi as you basically explained that to your waitress, the manager and the chef. Sushi in South Africa is probably not the same as the sushi in Japan but then again, I'm sure their Braai's are a joke over there. Come give us another try, we're under new ownership now... More 

Travelers who viewed King Fisher also viewed

 
George, Western Cape
 

Been to King Fisher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Seafood, Sushi, International, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: No. 1, Courtenay Street, George 6529, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  George
  • Phone Number: +27 44 873 3127

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of King Fisher and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from King Fisher staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?