We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Shop 6162, Victoria Wharf | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 421 6002
Website
Today
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

720 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 633: English reviews
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The noodles and sushi were excellent. I will definitely stop by there again in the future. Very good service.

Helpful?
Thank Michel M
Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We went for lunch at Balducci's and decided to try their sushi lunch special. Living in Cape Town we have been to a lot of amazing sushi restaurants and this was really not one of them. The quality of the sushi was quite poor, it tasted like it had been made the previous day. We were really disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank KylieMaartens
Murray, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Food is phenomenal!!!! The menu is large and full of variety. Our group had calamari and tuna takaki for starters. Both were fresh and flavorful! We ended up getting a second order of the calamari. For main dishes we had filet, Kingclip and pizza. The filet was cooked perfectly. It was the first time trying kingclip and it was amazing!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tiffanileejohnson
Nassington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

If there was such a thing as a 5 plus I would give it to this restaurant on the waterfront. The food is extremely tasty served in large portions and is great quality. The staff cannot do enough to help and advise you on what is an extremely varied menu from Asian fusion to more traditional meals such as burgers.... More 

Helpful?
Thank united01
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear United01, thank you for the lovely review. We appreciate it very much and hope to have you join us again when you are next in the V&A Waterfront. Regards, Andrew More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Took my wife there recently and we tried their lunch specials.The waiter by the name of Samuel was very professional and friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Thabiso M
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear Thabiso, thank you for the review. We look forward to you joining us again soon. Regards, Andrew More 

Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my first visit to Balducci's It's in a small space and it feels a bit cramped but the menu is great. The food is really good and the prices aren't bad either. It's a great place for lunch.

Helpful?
Thank Ndapewa I
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear Ndapewa, thank you for the review. My apologies if you felt cramped. We hope to have you join us for an evening dining experience, as the atmosphere is totally different depending on the time of day that you dine. We look forward to you dining with us again soon. Regards, Andrew More 

Port Chester, New York
Level Contributor
171 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our group of 7 was kind of picky about where we sat and asked a lot about the different dishes and substitutions. Nevertheless, the staff was patient and pleasant, and that was really appreciated; service deserves 4 stars. On the other hand, the food was very disappointing and only deserves 2 stars. Being from NYC we're aware of what good... More 

Helpful?
Thank dabbler45
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear Dabbler45, thank you for the review. Please can you email me on support@slickrestaurants.com as I would like to investigate the areas of concern regarding your review about the food items that your table had. Looking forward to hearing from you soon. Kind Regards, Andrew More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Found this great looking restuarant at the V & A and thought we had found somewhere nice for supper , but what a mistake , firstly I enjoy a bit of space but the tables are so small that the drinks could hardly fit on the table , there were four of us and what a squeeze . Secondly ,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert A
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear Robert, thank you for the posting. My apologies that you did not enjoy your dining experience with us. We would have happily relocated you to another table if one was available, had you requested. The menu has numerous images, and are printed in the menu as a representation of the ingredients in the dish. It is not going to... More 

Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I feel this is my last time here. Apparently they no longer allow substitution on the menu. Bacon for Salami! Really !!! Amy the manager confirmed its a owner's rule.

Helpful?
Thank bluemaxer
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear Michael, we have communicated with your directly already on this same posting on another platform that you used. We replied and had a dialogue with you but you are now clearly just trying to bad-mouth us and posting the same thing on every forum that you can find. We have been trading here for over 20 years and have... More 

UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went in there due to trip advisor recommendation. Nice food nothing special. Had pizzas and wanted the bacon removing and replacing with mushrooms but were told no substitutions were allowed but we could pay extra for it! Second downer was told no bread available but if any did come available he would bring it over- fine- however were pretty much... More 

Helpful?
Thank Viva81
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this review

Dear Viva81, thank you for the review and my apologies that you felt that you were not looked after by our waiters. Bread service is a standard in our establishment, and I would like to investigate this as I am not happy to hear this. Please email me on support@slickrestaurants.com so I can have the opportunity to do so. Regards,... More 

Travelers who viewed Balducci's also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Balducci's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$15 - $25
Cuisine
Italian, Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Gluten Free
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Parking Available
Good for
Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shop 6162, Victoria Wharf | V & A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 421 6002
Description
Balducci at the V & A Waterfront offers an unrivaled menu of simple, everyday home cooked Italian dishes that reflect the most traditional elements of food and culinary styles. Our simple Italian home cooked food is prepared in a relaxed and restorative style, whilst at the same time being creative, traditional and affordable. Main restaurant open from 11am daily

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Balducci's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?