We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

Savoy Cabbage

Certificate of Excellence
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
101 Hout Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Mon - Fri 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Mon - Sat 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

886 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 769: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
221 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Lovely restaurant with really good food and excellent service. Slightly different dishes on the menu so if you have been eating out for a while it does make a good change.

Thank Jenny i
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked here for a birthday and truly had a wonderful experience. The menu is an innovative collection of delicious ingredients which melt in your mouth. The waiters all had beautiful multi-coloured bowties and our waitress was incredibly well-spoken and familiar with the menu. There is ample safe parking outside with easy access. A truly memorable experience to be repeated.

1 Thank DubaiRussells
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

excellent restaurant we have been several times when passing through cape town and it is one of our favourites. . well informed and friendly waiting staff with a great and varied menu with both game and traditional meat. good wine list with excellent food matching advice too. All at very reasonable prices. Security guard walked us back to our hotel... More 

1 Thank adtraveller2016
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
613 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dinner at the Savoy Cabbage where I went for some of the more hearty choices, before starting there was a gift from the kitchen (Amuse) and then I got stuck into the Cheese Souffle for a starter (excellent) and then onto the 3 Little Piggies (Pork done 3 ways) where the Pork Belly was awesome, to wrap up the meal... More 

1 Thank Kwan_Nyom
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were a little disappointed about this place after having seen the rave reviews. The food was just okay - not really "fine" dining, and the interesting dishes - zebra carpaccio, warthog etc - were just too meat heavy to be really enjoyable. Maybe we chose the wrong dishes. Beautiful interior though and no complaints about the service.

1 Thank John C
Savoyowner, Owner at Savoy Cabbage, responded to this review

Thank you for you review, which we very much appreciate. I am glad you enjoyed the high standard of service and decor. I do however think it is slightly misleading to other prospective diners. Our current menu has 7 vegetarian starters, one fish, one poultry and two meat. With regards to the main courses, there are many different types of... More 

Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were worried that without a reservation we wouldn't be able to get served. It was First Thursday. We walked in around 7:30pm and had no problem getting a table. Service was excellent, the food likewise.

1 Thank DLC12988
Savoyowner, Owner at Savoy Cabbage, responded to this review

Thank you you review. At this time of year we can normally accommodate people without reservations, although we might need to hold you at the bar if there is a pressure on order timings, so reservations are always ideal. Some First Thursdays we get lots of walk-ins, others not. It is such a growing movement that parking can be a... More 

1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was my first visit to Savoy Cabbage, after hearing much hype. I ordered a vegetarian main, Smoked Ricotta, Zucchini and Mushrooms with Sauce Romesco. The dish was okay, somewhat dry though, and it tasted as if the shitake mushrooms were a little old...dried out, possibly from the previous night's service. I couldn't pick up any smokiness in the ricotta,... More 

Thank jennifer d
Savoyowner, Owner at Savoy Cabbage, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments on the vegetarian dish. We cook the mushrooms only when the order comes in but they are allowed to crisps slightly for texture purposes. We are making our own ricotta and smoking it and the batch i tasted this morning has a strong smoky taste. I am glad you are intending to return for another... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2016 via mobile

Felt like a fish out of water. We walked in wearing casual wear & felt like everyone (smartly dressed) was looking at us as we were seated. The menu was a little different but mains we had were very nice. A lot on the menu was raw or lightly cooked. Waiter was polite but could come across as potencies. Not... More 

Thank Ilona-star
Savoyowner, Owner at Savoy Cabbage, responded to this review

I assure you we have no dress code and the whole philosophy of this business and its management is relaxed dining. On one evening (admittedly New Year's eve, we had kilts, DJ's, evening dresses and a group of hikers who had just descended the mountain! In summer shorts and tea shirts are the norm and we have often told people... More 

Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2016 via mobile

We had dinner with friends here, although the evening was alright we won't rush back. The service and food were both good. The selection includes a lot of game and only one vegetarian option, which didn't suit many of our tables tastes. The ambiance is quite different to most higher end restaurants due to a lack of mood lighting and... More 

Thank KathleenPot
Savoyowner, Owner at Savoy Cabbage, responded to this review

We have only three meat starters and the rest are vegetarian or poultry. Mains always includes at least one fish, a poultry and a vegetarian. The acoustics in the restaurant are such that we took an early decision not to play music and most of our customers appreciate the ability to hear each other. With regard to lighting, a recent... More 

Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2016

I got the warthog which was perfectltly cooked. For dessert I ordered the "caramel" tart either it was bitter chocolate or the filling was burnt. Got no reaction after complaint. Either they change recipe or won't come back. It could have been a nice diner if dessert was on par with the rest. You can cook it the way you... More 

Thank Tellurant
Savoyowner, Owner at Savoy Cabbage, responded to this review

The chocolate tart is made with the very best imported Belgian 70% dark chocolate and was accompanied by Caramel Ice Cream to supply the sweetness. I suggest it was the bitterness or the chocolate you were tasting not burn! As it is baked for a short time in a precooked pastry case, the casing would have burnt long before the... More 

Travelers who viewed Savoy Cabbage also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town

Been to Savoy Cabbage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$20 - $40
African, European, International, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
7:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 101 Hout Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: 0214242626
Enjoy creative contemporary cooking in a visually exciting venue. With its historic Table Mountain stone and old brick that dates back to the 18th century, architect Leon Saven's design is complemented by glass, concrete and exposed ducting. Cabbage motif chandeliers and salt dishes, fine table appointments and impeccable service reflect outstanding attention to detail. The menu alters daily, using the freshest local produce and combines unusual flavours to excite the palate of the discerning diner. A boutique wine list which is very reasonably priced.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Savoy Cabbage and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Knoxville, Tennessee

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Savoy Cabbage staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?