We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$8 - $15
CUISINES
Italian, Neapolitan, Campania, Southern-Italian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveler rating
107
111
28
14
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
107
111
28
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza meatballs side salad tiramisu tapas bree street nice wine selection lovely meal friday night wale crust
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed October 16, 2020

Food - top marks! Delicious, quick, well-priced (very small menu - for the "post-covid" period I assume - but we all found a satisfying option) albeit rather small portions... Wine - we had no problem finding great, reasonably priced wine options Situationally this is central...and easy to get to. Its a nicely set-out space and even has a small street patio for pre-drinks. The ambience is some-what spoiled by very disengaged managers and staff. Their lack of "welcome" is bordering on awkward. The actual service was also disappointing (especially considering there were only three tables) and on the three occasions that we did require some service, we had to raise our hands and request menus/more drinks/etc... Staff have so much to be proud and happy about - they are serving great food in a stunning environment and that ticks a VERY big box. Just learn to fake the welcome if you aren't feeling it...people like to feel special when they go out...just saying!More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Traveler37387993794, Owner at Bocca, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2020

Good day, Thank you for your feedback. We will definitely work on the lows you mentioned. At the moment, but it shouldn't be an excuse, we are operating with a very reduced team. It is actually only two. This is because the business levels are...More

Reviewed September 23, 2020 via mobile

The owners are so enthusiastic about making food that most of it they make from scratch. Most Italian restaurants make their dishes with loads of sauce. That is not the Italian way. Bocca knows how to make proper Italian food - pure, simple and extremely...tasty. When you get up you do not leave with that heavy feel in your tummy of over indulgence. The pizzas are really good. However the highlight for us was the tiramisu. You cannot get more Italian than Bocca - the chef is Italian, some of the ingredients come straight from Italy...even the pizza oven is from Italy.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Traveler37387993794, Owner at Bocca, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2020

Thank you so much for your kind words. It's been really hard for us lately and this means a lot.

Reviewed March 10, 2020

Fresh and innovative, really great pizza. Generous toppings, good drinks selection, and a really unique desert! Definitely recommend

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Traveler37387993794, Owner at Bocca, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2020

Good day Rachel, thank you so much for your review. We'll pass the compliments to the rest of the team and surely they'll be very happy.

Reviewed January 25, 2020 via mobile

Our food and service was excellent at Bocca. We ordered a cheese plate with three cheese. All three were excellent. We hard to please sone we’re from Wisconsin‘Dairyland USA ‘. Nice wine selection. Main dish were pizza and spago da mare. Loved both. Our wait...staff was wonderful even though they had a large group.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed December 28, 2019 via mobile

Overpriced, tinny small portion of pasta for 130 bucks, I asked for a bottle of still water, they gave me a bottle of their filtered tap water which they charged me 20 bucks. I left hungry because I realised after getting my 20 rand filtered...bottle of tap water and my super small portion of pasta that this place was a rip off.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Traveler37387993794, Owner at Bocca, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2019

Good day, We are sorry you did not enjoy your experience at Bocca, even though you did not mention any detail regarding the quality. Unfortunately, our menu items are priced accordingly to the quality of the ingredients and the related cost. We do serve a...More

Reviewed December 4, 2019

to watch people in Cape Town going about their business. Good food, good service what more do you want

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 25, 2019

Recommended by our hotel concierge, we were not disappointed. The pasta with clams was excellent. i am not a big eater so I enjoyed the size of the plates. Didn't find the wine too expensive compared to U.S prices. Staff was attentive and friendly.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed November 23, 2019

It is rare to find a restaurant serving Italian dishes that adhere to the style, flavours and quality of dishes that you would find in Italian cities and towns but Bocca manages to do just that. Situated at the corner of Bree and Wale streets,...not far from Long Street, this is an easy place to find and is close to both the downtown (fancy) hotels and the cheaper (backpacker-style) hotels alike. Staff are friendly, attentive yet unobtrusive. Although the menu is limited, there should be something here for all choices. It was the quality of the ingredients and the great cooking that impressed me. As good as many meals I have eaten in Rome, Milan and other Italian towns. Best of all, it is not too expensive. So, if you're looking for a true taste of Italy, look no further than Bocca.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 17, 2019 via mobile

We went there with our small children and had a excellent meal. The portions are small but makes a lovely tapas meal. The beef ribs were very good. The one thing I did not like was you are not allowed to bring your own wine...and the wine list is VERY pricy.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed November 15, 2019 via mobile

The Google reviews for Bocca averaged at 4/5 and so we confidently booked for a 7 member family group. Foolishly, we didn't actually read any of the reviews because then we would have picked up on one of our pet peeves - ridiculously overpriced wine....The bottom of the range white wine priced at R225 and the red wine started at R245. Who can enjoy the taste of such a glass when the bottle store will sell it for a third of the price? That's the bad angle. The good angle is that our food was delicious, although the portions were small.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?2  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Pinnacle
4 reviews
.02 miles away
Cape Town Lodge Hotel
892 reviews
.05 miles away
Daddy Long Legs Art Hotel
478 reviews
.11 miles away
Cape Heritage Hotel
1,670 reviews
.16 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Honest Chocolate Cafe
202 reviews
.03 miles away
Clarke's Bar and Dining Room
298 reviews
.03 miles away
Iron Steak and Bar
61 reviews
.05 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Stobers Tours - Day Tours
13 reviews
.12 miles away
Inverdoorn Game Reserve Safaris
507 reviews
.06 miles away
Iziko Bo Kaap Museum
86 reviews
.12 miles away
Auwal Mosque
6 reviews
.10 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Bocca staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing