We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Goloso

90 Regent Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
+27 21 439 2144
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good33%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“pasta” (62 reviews)
“apple pie” (7 reviews)
“tiramisu” (8 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
90 Regent Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good quality Italian food at fantastic prices. We had the bolognese and carbonara, both were very tasty and rich in flavour. Very laid back atmosphere and extremely friendly staff.More

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Jayh2012
Goloso_Owner, Owner at Goloso, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear guest Thank you very much for your visit and this lovely review. From our humble beginnings nearly 9 years ago, the focus has been firmly on good food and good value, a tradition we aim to continue for as long as we can. Thank...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have used this Restaurant on numerous occasions and never been disappointed, but tonight I decided to try there fillet steak and it was one of the best Steaks I have tasted in a very long time, cooked to perfection and really tender 10 out...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank dlcommercials
Goloso_Owner, Owner at Goloso, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear guest Thank you very much for this lovely review and your loyal support over the years. Our grilled Namibian beef fillet is indeed something special, we are glad you enjoyed it so much. As I explained to you during your visit, there is a...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The pasta, and it being very good made the rating a very good, because the pasta is very good. The only thing that held it back from an excellent rating was when we went there was no base tomato sauce, and what we had been...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank tablemountainhike
Goloso_Owner, Owner at Goloso, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your visit and this review. Thank you also for complimenting our pasta, we make it daily by hand right here on the premises from Italian "00" flour and fresh eggs. I do humbly apologise that our Napoletana sauce...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I tried 2 pasta but soso. I think the Anne ladies salad is very delicious!! Pizza looks good but no chances to try. Would like to try next time for the pizza and salad!More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Glor N
Goloso_Owner, Owner at Goloso, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest Thank you for your visit and your review. Please accept my apologies that you found the pasta only "so so". It is a fully hand made product cooked to order from scratch, so variations may occur at times. If we are notified about...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Sihle was our waitress for the evening. She was extremely friendly and welcomed us with a big smile. We had pizza and lasagne. The pizza was excellent. The base was thin and the tomato puree tastes fab. The lasagne was good also. Would recommend a...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank PaulM4497
Goloso_Owner, Owner at Goloso, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest Thank you very much for your visit and this stellar review. We are truly grateful for your high praises. We have passed your comments on to Sihle, who is one of our many long serving staff who takes great pride in looking after...More

Reviewed November 28, 2018

This is a great place to get a meal if you're unlucky enough to be stuck in The President Hotel nearby. The staff and owner are appropriately attentive, the prices are sensible and, most importantly, the food is excellent. We ate here 3 times within...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank David C
Goloso_Owner, Owner at Goloso, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2018

Dear guest Thank you for your repeated visits, perfect rating and this wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed our cuisine, value and service so much. Goloso is a small humble venue where the focus is firmly on the food, and we are very fortunate...More

Reviewed November 17, 2018 via mobile

Had dinner here few days ago , the restaurant is main road, the sitting is simple and service was not bad. They offer early bird special from 5-7 . Two pizzas or pastes or stews mix and match with bottle of wine for 295zar ,...More

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank Winnernumber1
Goloso_Owner, Owner at Goloso, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2018

Dear guest Thanks for your visit and this review. We are glad you enjoyed our hand made pasta, service and good value dinner special so much. We do apologise about the burnt pizza edges. Our pizzas are stone baked at high temperature in order to...More

Reviewed November 14, 2018

The pizzas were great, fair amount of good quality ingredients and I especially liked the pizza base. Not oily and greasy like many pizzas tend to be. Did find the pizzas on the pricey side though so won't be buying too often.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank LangebaanRainbowgirl
Goloso_Owner, Owner at Goloso, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2018

Dear guest Thank you for your visit and this review. We are glad you liked our stone baked pizza so much. We take great care to use the best Italian "00" flour and wild yeast to make our hand rolled pizza bases, before baking them...More

Reviewed November 13, 2018 via mobile

We went here for a dinner one evening as it was the nearest place from the hotel. The restaurant was terrible, greasy, sticky, I was bitten by insects all evening. The food was ok but nothing special and really not worth going there for. The...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank EmmaR1040
Goloso_Owner, Owner at Goloso, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2018

For the benefit of the reader: These guests lied to our staff in order to get out of paying for everything they were served. After paying us less than they owed and short-tipping the waiter, they hurriedly left the restaurant. They were then contacted at...More

Reviewed September 26, 2018

If you love Italian this restaurant is a definite must visit. The restaurant has an authentic Italian feel to it, immediately creating a relaxed atmosphere. As we arrived just before happy hour we grabbed the opportunity and quickly ordered a drink and a starter. Thereafter...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Dewald R
Goloso_Owner, Owner at Goloso, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2018

Dear guest Thank you very much for your visit and this great review. While not trying to portray ourselves as too seriously Italian, we do take care to get the basics right, from our fresh hand made pasta and cooked from scratch sauces, to our...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 114 hotels in Cape Town Central
The Amalfi Atlantic Hotel
94 reviews
.03 miles away
New Kings Hotel
327 reviews
.04 miles away
Sea Point Inn
105 reviews
.07 miles away
The Peninsula All-Suite Hotel
536 reviews
.11 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Sundoo
162 reviews
.07 miles away
Three Wise Monkeys
122 reviews
.05 miles away
Chicha Wine and Tapas Bar
6 reviews
.06 miles away
NV-80 Grill & Bar
1,083 reviews
.10 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Ginger & Lime
11 reviews
.21 miles away
Mojo Market
112 reviews
.26 miles away
O on Kloof Boutique Spa
27 reviews
.38 miles away
Yemaya Spa & Hair
5 reviews
.12 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Debbie K
October 4, 2018|
Answer
Response from Goloso_Owner | Property representative |
Hi Debbie Our House Rose wine is made by Simonsvlei Winery in Paarl. Please let me know if you have any further questions. Regards Johan Owner Goloso
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$6 - $10
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
12:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Tuesday
12:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Wednesday
12:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Thursday
12:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Friday
12:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
12:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 90 Regent Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 439 2144
Description
Established in 2010, Goloso has become a firm local favorite for home made Italian cuisine served in a welcoming, relaxing environment. Specializing in hand made pasta and stone baked pizza, we also offer a wide variety of starters, grills and delectable desserts, as well a full bar boasting a comprehensive wine list and Darling Brew craft beer on tap. Owner run and managed, we take pride in offering great food, friendly service and unbeatable value for money through our daily lunch and dinner specials.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing