We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cape Town Fish Market (V & A Waterfront)


Ratings and reviews


Location and contact

The story of Cape Town Fish Market is the story of creating a restaurant that strives to create a great experience for our customers. It is a restaurant built on fresh ingredients, a relaxing atmosphere, and, most of all, great-tasting seafood and sushi. But we didn't create a world-class restaurant overnight. The Cape Town Fish Market you know and love today is the result of almost two decades of passion and hard work by CTFM's founder, Douw Krugmann and his family, in partnership with the best franchise owners in South Africa. His wife, sons and daughter have all joined the family business and have played an integral role in making CTFM what it is today.It all began in 1997, when Douw bought
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Late Night
Japanese, Seafood, Sushi
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
521 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
More languages
Traveler rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood hake fish cakes ribs fries clock tower swing bridge robben island sushi bar extensive menu our waiter waterfront platter ct mall cape vibe
Selected filters
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 521 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is quite a large restaurant which is great because it means you can easily get a table, even in the busy season. It also offers great views of the waterfront. The food is nice, but not exceptional. Similarly the service is fine, but not...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Saar01
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Right next to our hotel the market was fantastic. Plenty of choice and oysters to die for. plenty of opportunity to sample foods before purchasing. A real must go.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank NGER14
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The ambience, service and food where very good. We all had different dishes and everyone enjoyed the meal. The tiger shrimp.appetizer was delicious amd ahould not be missed.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank aimeed911
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It was very crowded when we went on a Tuesday evening in early May, so had to sit in the “sand area”, a curious sunken sand pit set amid the wood decking. It’s not the most comfortable seating and you do get sand in your...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank wucie
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing Paella, Fish and Chips, Salad and Fish curry. you won't be deceived.. Will go there again...

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank pawan704
Reviewed May 9, 2019

Wonderful way to have food - start with some sashimi and sushi and then move to crayfish. GreAt place!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank 969dirkd
Reviewed May 6, 2019 via mobile

Went here for our first meal in Capetown. Seafood is on point. Really love their Fish Curry, not sure what kind of fish it was but the sauce was on point. Wine is cheap for American standards and tasty. Overall a great restaurant for seafood....More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank JackieNewportBeach
Reviewed May 2, 2019

We popped in for some quick sushi, which turned out to be the worst I’ve tasted ever. The rice was too cold, and the seaweed was soggy. The Nori should be crispy and toasty, and almost cracks as you bite into it. The rice was...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Monk A
CTFMSA, Manager at Cape Town Fish Market (V & A Waterfront), responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2019

Hi Monk, We're sorry to see that you had a disappointing experience at our store. It's worth noting that the entire V&A Waterfront is experiencing a rat problem – it is one of the challenges of being located in a working harbour. Centre management is...More

Reviewed May 2, 2019 via mobile

Informal place tucked into the waterfront. We were seated on a wooden table with benches outside. It all has a bit of a pub grub vibe. Service is okay. The kingklip and chips I had was actually pretty good. The surroundings themselves may benefit from...More

Date of visit: May 2019
28  Thank liverpool1023
CTFMSA, Manager at Cape Town Fish Market (V & A Waterfront), responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2019

Thanks for the review. We'll be sure to pass your feedback to the store.

Reviewed April 29, 2019 via mobile

On Saturday 27 April, my friend and I had dinner here after a trip up Table Mountain. I opted for the prawn popcorn (a definite must try) which was prepared in a batter with a sweet mayo sauce. There was about a dozen pieces at...More

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank faizelpet
CTFMSA, General Manager at Cape Town Fish Market (V & A Waterfront), responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2019

Thanks for the review, although we're sorry to hear about the mussel sauce. We'll be sure to pass your feedback to the store.

View more reviews
Nearby HotelsSee all 117 nearby hotels
The Table Bay Hotel
2,867 reviews
.05 miles away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
1,828 reviews
.24 miles away
Dock House Boutique Hotel
250 reviews
.26 miles away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
869 reviews
.28 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,324 nearby restaurants
Willoughby & Co
3,847 reviews
.08 miles away
2,663 reviews
.09 miles away
Baia Seafood Restaurant
3,024 reviews
.07 miles away
599 reviews
.11 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,022 nearby attractions
Victoria & Alfred Waterfront
12,781 reviews
.01 miles away
The Cape Wheel
982 reviews
.21 miles away
Victoria Wharf Shopping Centre
51 reviews
.13 miles away
Eyewitness - A Private Collection
12 reviews
.19 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
December 2, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from nbennett480 | Reviewed this property |
I don’t think the fish and lobster are halal as for the meat I did not notice this on the menu sorry
Samantha Kathle... S
October 23, 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from CTFMSA | Property representative |
Hi. Yes, we are! We don't have a kids play area but we do have a kids menu. And we have a sandy area with tables that kids love!
Terri C
April 24, 2017|
Response from CTFMSA | Property representative |
Hi Terri, we have great specials which run Monday - Thursday. Monday: Get a portion of FISH & CHIPS (200g) or ANY BURGER (served with chips and onion rings) for only R50. Tuesday: 50% off classic sushi, 25% off sushi... More
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing