We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Roundhouse Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
European, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Kloof Road, The Glen | Camps Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
+27 21 438 4347
Website
Today
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Tue - Sat 6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

599 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 536: English reviews
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We where very excited for this meal but where sadly very disappointed. Walking into this property the room was dead quiet and had a very traditional feel to it. We had a tasting menu with wine parings. While the food looked beautiful, each dish was lacking in some way. The biggest issue being that every dish had an element of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jmitchy
Roundhouse_Team, Manager at The Roundhouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your disappointment, during your recent visit. Firstly please accept our sincerest apologies for all the shortfalls. We can assure you that your experience is certainly not at all typical to our establishment, and has been addressed with our executive management team In addition please provide us with your reservation details... More 

Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friend recommended The Roundhouse to me and luckily I went! Maybe the best restaurant experience ever. The food was so good, and for once the sommeliers wine suggestions really made the difference. And the service, impeccable. I would go to Cape Town just to visit here again.

Helpful?
Thank Mikko_29
Roundhouse_Team, Manager at The Roundhouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us at The Roundhouse and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Your Roundhouse Team More 

London
Level Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent salads, huge portions. Sit under the trees. Pizzas also very tasty. Not enough parking. Popular with group parties. Only been for lunch and late afternoon, not in the actual restaurant itself, which is open in the evenings.

Helpful?
Thank budgetfussy
Roundhouse_Team, Manager at The Roundhouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us at The Rumbullion. Perhaps next time you might want to join us at The Roundhouse, our fine dining restaurant, also located on the property. Your Rumbullion Team. More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were welcomed on arrival and our names printed on our menus. These thoughtful details, in addition to attentive service were appreciated and added value to this classic venue. My partner chose a meat based menus whilst I opted for a pescatarian alternative, though I could also have chosen vegetarian in advance. The restaurant are very accommodating. I highly recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank LMoffatTravels2
Roundhouse_Team, Manager at The Roundhouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us at The Roundhouse and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Your Roundhouse Team More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recently had dinner here with friends, a wonderful restaurant with a great winter seasonal menu. Food, wine, staff and service all exceptional

Helpful?
1 Thank globalcitzen
Roundhouse_Team, Manager at The Roundhouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us at The Roundhouse and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Your Roundhouse Team More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

I think the excellence of the chef and staff are let down by the feeling that one is being overcharged. The food and location are lovely. Service is good. However, the price was very high indeed for South Africans and a few of my guests left actually feeling hungry after paying such a lot because the portions were very small... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn M
Roundhouse_Team, Manager at The Roundhouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your disappointment, during your recent visit. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your experience with us. Please provide us with your reservation details in order for us to follow up on your experience and most importantly on the wines ordered as we never intent to overcharge any of our... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

The service was truly inspiring from start to finish. A quiet restaurant with a taster menu. The food was very well presented although not as creative as you'd find at similar establishments. I asked in advance for lactose free. The staff emphasised each of my dishes were lactose free by the 3rd time, "yes I get it". They just took... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mike b
Roundhouse_Team, Manager at The Roundhouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your valued feedback which we will take into consideration going forward. In addition please provide us with your reservation details in order for us to follow up on your experience. Your Roundhouse Team More 

Wellington, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

What an evening !Beautifully served ! Delicate fine food ! We had the prix fixe dinner and it was perfect !! I made reservations well in advance over the Internet ! A memorable event in our lives !

Helpful?
Thank mfh2016
Roundhouse_Team, Manager at The Roundhouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us at The Roundhouse and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Your Roundhouse Team More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

At the Roundhouse the folks are scared you find something better to do on the evening of your reservation.So, first you have to consent to a full charge of dinner on your credit card if you don't show up, and then you receive two emails and a request for re-confirmation by txt. Fortunately, we did intend to eat there so... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ilse020
Roundhouse_Team, Manager at The Roundhouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your valued feedback which we will take into consideration going forward. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Celeriac dish and wine selection and hope to be welcoming you back in near future. Your Roundhouse Team More 

Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

If you want to taste the best food paired with best wines while you're in Cape town I highly recommend you visit the Round house for dinner. Everything was amazing

Helpful?
Thank Freedom N
Roundhouse_Team, Manager at The Roundhouse Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive review, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us at The Roundhouse and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Your Roundhouse Team More 

Travelers who viewed The Roundhouse Restaurant also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Camps Bay, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to The Roundhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
European, Contemporary
Meals
Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Open Hours
Tuesday
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Thursday
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Friday
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Saturday
6:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Kloof Road, The Glen | Camps Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 438 4347
Description
Steeped in over 300 years of history, the former guard house, tea room, hotel and the hunting lodge of Lord Charles Somerset has been elegantly restored with the charm and sophistication of the Grand Old Cape. The style of cuisine at The Roundhouse is uncomplicated, contemporary French, inspired by seasonal ingredients and paired with one of the finest boutique wine collections in South Africa.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Roundhouse Restaurant and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Roundhouse Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?