We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Meloncino

Shop 259, Upper level | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 419 5558
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good34%
  • Average9%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“pasta” (96 reviews)
“osso bucco” (12 reviews)
“focaccia” (8 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 am - 11:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Italian, Mediterranean, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Shop 259, Upper level | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Write a Review
Reviews (992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 250 of 719 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2016

Our party of four sat at a corner table on their patio and enjoyed a beautiful view of Table Mountain and the surrounding area. Very relaxing and enjoyable. The food was good and the service acceptable.

Thank Patricia W
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2016

Dear Patricia W Thank you for your patronage and reviewing our establishment. It was only a pleasure hosting your party and we look forward to the next visit. Kind regards Paolo Carrara Co-owner

Reviewed January 13, 2016

Food was really good for the value. I got the veal saltimboccaw which was really good, not too salty (which restaurants often do) and went well with the sides, and my wife had the vegetable ministrone soup (she's vegetarian) - it was large enough to...More

Thank Ryan H
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2016

Dear Ryan H Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear you and your wife enjoyed your experience with us. We use only the best veal in South Africa and I will be sure to pass on the compliments to...More

Reviewed January 12, 2016

Deapite the fact they were setting up for a New Year's Eve party. they accommodated us for late light lunch. It was excellent and the service superb. Zenzi looked after us well and the lady who was running the restaurant an example of how to...More

Thank Albert S
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2016

Dear Albert S Thank you for writing a fantastic review on Trip advisor as well as awarding us 5 stars. It was only a pleasure assisting you before our New Years Eve function. I will pass on the kind words to both Erin and Zenzo...More

Reviewed January 7, 2016

Providing a peaceful break from a crowded shopping centre right before Christmas, Meloncino was a great location to enjoy the harbour view and a delicious pasta. The wine list is extensive, with lots of options available by the glass.

Thank Cayleigh88
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2016

Dear Cayleigh88 Thank you for taking the time out and review Meloncino. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our delicious pasta as well as our extensive wine list. We loved hosting you and look forward to many more visits. Kind regards Paolo Carrara Co-owner

Reviewed January 7, 2016

Worst meal by far,after two weeks in Cape Town. The caprese starter ,hard tasteless tomatoes covered in a white goo,it was awful.two had Pasta with bolognaise sauce,which was tasteless,and could not eaten.l had the signature pasta dish which just ok. The first two picks off...More

2  Thank Derek T
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2016

Dear Derek T We are sorry to hear that you had a disappointing experience while visiting us during your two week stay in Cape Town. In our caprese salad we use a specialised cheese called Burrata which is specifically made for us as well as...More

Reviewed January 4, 2016

The place is in a grate location in the V&A Waterfront. VIP view to the Table mountain, The Wheel and the harbour. We had a table outside even that was cold and windy,but the warm fluffy blankets supplied by the restaurant did it all. Pizza...More

Thank 262Blondy
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2016

Dear 262Blondy We are thrilled to receive a 5 star rating on Trip Advisor as well as being "the best steak". All our meat is 6 weeks matured and grain fed. This allows our meat to be extremely tender and taste amazing. I will be...More

Reviewed January 3, 2016

Nice italian resturant on the waterfrount. The views are good if you sit outside but you would need to reserve before hand. The starters are good and they have a selection of meat and pizza for main. The desserts are were so appealing so we...More

Thank kit1978
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2016

Dear kit1978 Thank you for rewarding us with a 4 star on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to see you had a positive experience with us and we hope to see you in the future. Kind regards Paolo Carrara Co-owner

Reviewed January 3, 2016

This restaurant is in a great location in the V&A Waterfront. We had a table inside, but if the outdoor tables are available then you will have a great view. We went to the restaurant for pizza. The pizza is a nice thin crust. There...More

Thank pop43435
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2016

Dear Molly O Thank you for taking the time and expressing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to hear that the service you experienced was below standard. As you are aware you joined us during peak season. We were serving a...More

Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

The Scene: after a busy day sightseeing we decided to have a night in with a takeaway. We found Meloncino on TripAdvisor as a good takeaway restaurant. Positives: the friendly waiter sat us at the bar and kept us updated on our order. Pizza arrived...More

Thank lostinLondon522
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2016

Dear lostinLondon522 Thank you for visiting our establishment during your stay in Cape Town. I will be sure to pass on the kind words to both the waiter and pizza section regarding your positive feedback. We have won awards for our pizzas and all our...More

Reviewed January 3, 2016

Visited Melonchino in morning of NYE asking them to cater for dairy allergy and onion/garlic intolerance. Hostess was very accommodating and offered to cater for our needs using an ingredient we provided. She oversaw the whole process and ensured no problem ingredients were used. Nothing...More

Thank cjfb7
cinzann0capet0wn, Owner at Meloncino, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2016

Dear cjfb7 Thank you for taking the time and writing a review on Trip Advisor. I will be sure to pass the message onto Erin who assisted you during the entire process while visiting our establishment. We are an extremely hands on establishment and we...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Willoughby & Co
2,897 reviews
.10 miles away
Baia
2,142 reviews
.03 miles away
Gibson's Gourmet Burgers & Ribs
747 reviews
.01 miles away
Vovo Telo
546 reviews
.11 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Victoria & Alfred Waterfront
7,802 reviews
.09 miles away
The Springbok Experience Rugby Museum
426 reviews
.16 miles away
The Cape Wheel
609 reviews
.13 miles away
Cape Town Diamond Museum
309 reviews
.23 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Meloncino staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$9 - $21
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shop 259, Upper level | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 419 5558
  • E-mail
Description
Meloncino – Ristorante, Bar, Pizzeria Italiano. Experience authentic Italian cuisine in Cape Town. Meloncino Restaurant opened at the V&A Waterfront, bringing a genuine Italian flavour to our shores. The modern and stylish decor creates an eclectic European vibe where one can sip cocktails and snack on canapes, nuts and olives. As someone suggested, “Close your eyes and you could be in Rome.” Open your eyes and you face the magnificent Table Mountain, as seen from the comfort of one of Meloncino’s white sofas. Expect home-made pasta with authentic Italian sauces, steaks and seafood from their charcoal grill, traditional wood-fired pizza and an extensive menu to choose from. In order to stay faithful to the original, various ingredients like cheese, coffee and wine are imported from Italy. Buon appetito!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing