We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Haiku

58 Burg Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
+27 21 424 7000
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good27%
  • Average9%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“peking duck” (30 reviews)
“dim sum” (69 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
58 Burg Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 366 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2017 via mobile

We had dim sum which was outstanding. The spinach and cream cheese dim sum is a hit. Quite a variety of other food on the menu, the main meals we had were nice but it was the dim sum that stuck out. Great service and...More

Thank Deborah C
Sabi S, Owner at Haiku, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Hello Deborah, We are so glad you enjoyed your time and the food at Haiku. Did you know we were the first in South Africa to introduce the Spinach Har Gau? We hope to see you soon so you can try the rest of our...More

Reviewed April 30, 2017 via mobile

Phoned last minute on a Sat night and got table for 8pm. And in middle of long weekend! We were lucky. It was a great meal. Food is cooked from four separate kitchens which makes for a big and complicated menu but staff were extremely...More

Thank Jill M
Sabi S, Owner at Haiku, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Hello Jill, We are so glad you enjoyed your experience at Haiku! Thank you for visiting and writting such a nice review.We hope to see you soon so you can try the rest of our menu. We apologize that we were out of your first...More

Reviewed April 28, 2017

On recommendation of a colleague we dined at Haiku and let the staff do our ordering for us. What followed was a gastronomical journey through Southeast Asia with a twist. In between courses the waitress kept checking whether her choices were right. In our case...More

Thank Huub v
Sabi S, Owner at Haiku, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Hello Huub V, Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review about Haiku. We are glad you had a good experience as we always strive to keep standards of excellence so our customers have a memorable experience! We hope to see...More

Reviewed April 23, 2017 via mobile

The restaurant was recommended by friends and we enjoyed everything we experienced. The variety of food was great and with the variations on the menu from different kitchens we have to return to taste the rest of the menu. The peking duck with pancakes was...More

Thank GSAUNDERS1958
Sabi S, Owner at Haiku, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Hello GSaunder, Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review about Haiku. We are glad you enjoyed your time at our restaurant. We always strive to keep standards of excellence so our customers have a memorable experience! We hope to see...More

Reviewed April 19, 2017

Haiku has always been a favorite of mine with great service, great food and a great vibe. My last visit however was quite disappointing, there was so much on the menu that was not available, our waiter was very undertrained but sweet nonetheless. The food...More

Thank Josephine13ct
Sabi S, Owner at Haiku, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Hello Josephine, Thank you for taking the time share your experience at our restaurant. We are sorry for any inconvenience caused during your meal, we will make sure in the future to stock more of the drinks you have requested in order to avoid disappointment....More

Reviewed April 13, 2017 via mobile

Excellent food inspired by numerous Asian themes and full of flavour. Service was incredibly friendly (Werner was a star) and was particular to point out to us that all the meat is halal, which is important to us.More

Thank Asad A
Sabi S, Owner at Haiku, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Hello Asad, Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review about Haiku. We are glad you enjoyed your time at our restaurant and we will let Werner know that his service was great! We always strive to keep standards of excellence...More

Reviewed April 4, 2017 via mobile

The food and service was fantastic, we shared several dishes. The favourite was chicken yakitori, definitely a must!More

Thank Diane S
Sabi S, Owner at Haiku, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Hello Diane, Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review about Haiku. We are glad you enjoyed your time at our restaurant. We always strive to keep standards of excellence so our customers have a memorable experience! We hope to see...More

Reviewed March 24, 2017

I enjoyed lunch at Haiku. This is a good time to come as the restaurant is not terribly crowded. Even dining alone, there were plenty of tasting combinations on the menu, making it possible to enjoy a wide variety of their offerings. The sashimi was...More

Thank David L
Sabi S, Owner at Haiku, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Hello David, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time at Haiku. It's always nice to see people appreciate the effort we put in into our food and service. We hope to see you soon again so you can try the rest of our...More

Reviewed March 20, 2017

We had a wonderful meal, the waitress was extremely attentive and explained the menu very clearly and made some excellent suggetions which we accepted. Our only complaint would be the noise the kitchen is open plan and it became extremely noisy as the resturant became...More

Thank Sandra D
Sabi S, Owner at Haiku, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Dear Sandra, Thank you for visiting our restaurant and sharing such a nice review about Haiku. We are glad you enjoyed your time at our restaurant. We always strive to keep standards of excellence so our customers have a memorable experience! The restaurant does get...More

Reviewed March 12, 2017

I started from  a negative perspective because this restaurant was recommended by our concierge, whom I presumed had an angle! I couldn't have been more wrong. This was s sublime meal. We didn't have a duff course. Despite FOUR of our choices being unavailable (a...More

Thank Lazzagear
Sabi S, Owner at Haiku, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2017

Dear Lazzagear, We are glad your perception of the restaurant went from bad to excellent! Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review about Haiku. We are glad you enjoyed your time at our restaurant. We always strive to keep standards...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Addis in Cape Ethiopian Restaurant
568 reviews
.06 miles away
Bombay Brasserie
408 reviews
.09 miles away
Doppio Zero Cape Town CBD
352 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Stobers Tours - Day Tours
5 reviews
.06 miles away
Greenmarket Square
945 reviews
.08 miles away
Iziko Slave Lodge
249 reviews
.09 miles away
St. George's Cathedral
175 reviews
.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Haiku staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$100
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
6:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 58 Burg Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 424 7000
Description
The Haiku concept is exotic Asian cuisine. Chinese dim sum, wok and barbeque; Japanese robata grills and sushi, served tapas-style, are some of the dishes to be shared and enjoyed in a stylish setting.DescriptionThe Haiku concept is exotic Asian cuisine. Chinese dim sum, wok and barbeque; Japanese robata grill and sushi, served tapas-style, are some of the dishes to be shared and enjoyed in a stylish setting.The restaurant interior features a state-of-the-art open kitchen where diners can watch food being artfully prepared by a group of talented, professional chefs. The restaurant exudes trendy sophistication, with walls and floors of beautifully polished granite.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing