We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Grill

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2019 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
Established in 1999, the City Grill is the oldest steakhouse in the V&A Waterfront. We invite you to discover a truly South African experience… so gather family and friends for a feast of flavour at the City Grill! A place where food has substance, big appetites are essential and South Africa is the flavour of the month, every month!
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
CUISINES
Steakhouse, African, Grill
FEATURES
Takeout, Parking Available, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (1,297)
Filter reviews
906 results
Traveler rating
435
306
90
41
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
435
306
90
41
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak skewers mixed grill game meat kebab bobotie carpaccio creme brulee ribs ice cream chicken salad fries seafood cooked to perfection victoria wharf our waiter
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 906 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

A glass of wine is on par with sparkling water. This doesn’t seem right. Bobotie top was over cooked. Warthog skewer tasted like tasteless / flavorless pork. Meals were extremely SLOW coming out considering it wasn’t busy. Darlington was our server. As it seemed to...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Nads71
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Truly enjoyed our dining experience. Sat outside. A little chilly but they had the heaters on outside. Favorite dish was ostrich followed by springbok. The chef came out and explained the mixed grill and talked about the selection of meats. Of course enjoyed local wines....More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank PrincesSarah2015
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well, after our recent trip home to Cape Town, South Africa, we decided to meet up with good friends at the City Grill. Lots of other restaurants were very busy on this Friday evening, so we thought we chose a good location. Even with the...More

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank soloaw
guestservicesCGGF, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are extremely disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your experience. We would really appreciate if you could supply us with more detail, as we would like to investigate further. This...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the second time I have been to City Grill and on both occasions I have received nothing but outstanding service and food! On Friday 10 May, we went for dinner an our assistant Charles was absolutely on his A game. He was super...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank staceypluke
guestservicesCGGF, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Reviewer Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted to read that you had such a pleasant experience. Kind Regards Management

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed the fillet, different types of steak delicacy’s and great selection of wines. Restaurant not for young kids.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank EsrineZ1
guestservicesCGGF, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer Thank you for the wonderful review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and our extensive wine list. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Management

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed the excellent service by Ever! What a great way to try venison dishes. Beautiful locale and reasonably priced per USD.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank efie30
guestservicesCGGF, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer Thank you for the wonderful review. We also believe that we have great value for money offering and we are delighted to read that you had a pleasant experience. Regards Management

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Really great experience, food prepared deliciously. I received great service from Ever the waitress. Thank you for your great atmosphere

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank NicholeMJ2
guestservicesCGGF, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer Thank you for the review. A man that obviously understands good food. We appreciate and hope to see you again soon. Regards Management

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I was a bit apprehensive whether or or not I should write this review seeing that City Grill owner/manager don't respond well to any negative comment and rather shocked how you respond to clients who openly share their experience so that you can actually learn...More

Date of visit: April 2019
2  Thank CarmenM5638
guestservicesCGGF, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer Thank you for your open and honest review. That's exactly the way we like it and the way in which we respond. When we are wrong, we admit it, but when we believe we are not wrong we will defend our establishment and...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The waiters need serious customer service training. They kept on shouting while speaking to us especially “Ever”.. The most horrible experience and next time when your place is booked out rather not let customers in only to be treated horribly. I will never set foot...More

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank P_Luyanda
guestservicesCGGF, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer Thank you for the review. We are extremely disappointed to read that you didn't have the greatest time with us. This is very uncommon at City Grill. It's a pity you didn't bring your concerns to our attention on the evening, as we...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

From a resturant based in the waterfront frequented by foreigners I expected much more. Perhaps that was the mistake .... As I overhead a gent saying " its Africa" at a table next to us. We had to order our own drinks as our waitresses...More

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank BeaPop
guestservicesCGGF, Guest Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Reviewer Thank you for the review. We are extremely disappointed to read your comments, as the comments you are referring to was taken completely out of context. Our manager checked on you several times during the evening and not once did you mention that...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 117 nearby hotels
The Table Bay Hotel
2,849 reviews
.14 miles away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
1,821 reviews
.15 miles away
Dock House Boutique Hotel
250 reviews
.15 miles away
Queen Victoria Hotel & Manor House
863 reviews
.17 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,322 nearby restaurants
Baia Seafood Restaurant
3,000 reviews
.05 miles away
Karibu
2,605 reviews
.02 miles away
Vovo Telo
776 reviews
.09 miles away
Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar
3,486 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 967 nearby attractions
Victoria & Alfred Waterfront
12,673 reviews
.11 miles away
The Springbok Experience Rugby Museum
534 reviews
.14 miles away
The Cape Wheel
976 reviews
.11 miles away
Victoria Wharf Shopping Centre
49 reviews
.15 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from City Grill staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing