We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

City Grill

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Shop 155, Victoria Wharf | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central, South Africa
+27 21 421 9820
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

828 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 593: English reviews
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

In the restaurants opening statement, they state an appetite is a must have. I regret to inform you that please don't go there hungry as you will leave still hungry. We were so disappointed in the portions we received and for the price 😔😔😔😔 daylight robbery! !! R195 for kingklip 300g and it was the size of a little fish... More 

Helpful?
Thank ruttercarolann
Barry N, Public Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to share your views and concerns. We have been trading in the Waterfront for 24 years, serving top quality food at good price points. We value our guests and I can assure you that our portions are measured accordingly every day. We are also a family run business and we always work... More 

Cheshire
Level Contributor
153 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

So we had to try a meal at the iconic Victoria and Alfred Waterfront. It certainly is a must if you visit Cape Town. We expected to pay top dollar, well at South African levels, and thats what we got however how can you complain when you have had 4 pints of beer, two bottles of Merlot, two 300g fillet... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cheshiretourist2
Barry N, Public Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer It is always wonderful to have a guest with us that knows good food. We appreciate the wonderful feedback. Kind Regards Management More 

Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Nothing is to much for this team. They just all work wonderfully together in order to provide good sevice. The dished are well prepared and excellently presented.

Helpful?
Thank Portapower
Barry N, Public Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer We value our customers considerably and we appreciate the fact that this is seen by our guests. We look forward to seeing you back at our restaurant soon. Regards Management More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I first and foremost have to say that this place rather should not host a function for tables more than 4 people.If the place is full rather skip it because disappointment is a definite. The most annoying thing was you see good steaks moving past your table and you get served minute steaks. The chicken salad had a strong fish... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jollydinner
Barry N, Public Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Although we welcome feedback, positive or negative, we also believe in the validity of a review. We feel that it is important to set the record straight, as your review has so many incorrect statements in it. Firstly, we have been catering for large groups since 1999 and we are one of the top restaurants in the V&A... More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The steaks were outstanding but pricey. The service was very good and we were served exactly what we had ordered.

Helpful?
Thank Larine G
Barry N, Public Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer We also believe that our food is of exceptional quality, but we do believe that the price point is extremely fair for the quality. We appreciate your feedback. Kind Regards Management More 

Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Tried several times to get a table, always fully booked. Finally succumbed and made a booking and it was well worth it. The restaurant mangager was extremely friendly and helpful, in fact remembered us from the unsuccessful visits. Food was great, some of the tastiest steaks we have had in S.A. and the service second to none. Friendly and unhurried... More 

Helpful?
Thank rba34234
Barry N, Public Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for the review. We appreciate the fact that you enjoyed your meal and good service. We believe in top quality food and outstanding service since 1999. Kind Regards Management More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went to City Grill last week for dinner having walked past it on the waterfront and read good reviews. Lovely meal overlooking the V&A Waterfront and Table Mountain! Try the Bobotie, traditional Cape Malay dish that is a must have when visiting Cape Town.

Helpful?
Thank Imy W
Barry N, Public Relations Manager at City Grill, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for the wonderful feedback. Kind Regards Management More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This waterfront steakhouse has the best steaks we had in the mother city and reasonably priced. Amazing and friendly service. Beat dining experience. Reservation is a must.

Helpful?
Thank cs098
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Food was delicious, I had the crocodile which was cooked beautifully. Great cocktail menu, would highly recommend the mango daiquiris, so fruity and fresh. Staff were really friendly

Helpful?
Thank Tam494
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I ordered a 300g rare fillet steak, it was easily 300g if not more, however it was blue not rare and was barely sealed. Managed to eat it all though :-;

Helpful?
1 Thank RememberRememberRob

Travelers who viewed City Grill also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to City Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Steakhouse, African, Grill, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Shop 155, Victoria Wharf | V&A Waterfront, Cape Town Central, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Cape Town Central
  • Phone Number: +27 21 421 9820
Description
Established in 1999, the City Grill is the oldest steakhouse in the V&A Waterfront. We invite you to discover a truly South African experience… so gather family and friends for a feast of flavour at the City Grill! A place where food has substance, big appetites are essential and South Africa is the flavour of the month, every month!

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from City Grill staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?