We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Fez at Baghdad

Baghdad Centre, Corner, White River 1240, South Africa
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good47%
  • Average16%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“sushi” (24 reviews)
“steak” (9 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Moroccan, Mediterranean, Sushi
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Baghdad Centre, Corner, White River 1240, South Africa
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 90 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2016

My partner and I both ordered the Moroccan lamb, cous cous to die for - so light and fluffy! Made to feel very welcome by the owner and the staff who served us in this cosy but stylish restaurant. Will be back for sure!

Thank HhushaHhusha
murdoch447, Owner at The Fez at Baghdad, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2016

Thank you very much for your kind and generous review on Trip Advisor it is greatly appreciated. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Best regards Derek

Reviewed June 1, 2016 via mobile

Excellent location and reasonable service. Food was good. A bit pricey. Ambience good. A bit on the quiet side for an eastern restaurant...maybe not every ones taste.

Thank Reinette B
murdoch447, Owner at The Fez at Baghdad, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to review the Fez it is appreciated and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back. Regards Derek

Reviewed May 31, 2016

Something a little different and upmarket but great food and good service. You can try something a little out of the ordinary when eating here.

Thank Jenny i
murdoch447, Owner at The Fez at Baghdad, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2016

Thank you for you kind review of the Fez pleased you enjoyed the visit . Best regards Derek

Reviewed May 30, 2016

I've ate steaks all over SA but this T-Bone was surely the best I've ever had. Be sure to visit this place, great service, good music and overall good hospitality. Thanks for having us!

Thank George R
murdoch447, Owner at The Fez at Baghdad, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2016

So pleased you enjoyed your steak so much that you raved on trip advisor greatly appreciated and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back Best regards Derek

Reviewed May 27, 2016

Great service and really good food. Lamb Shank was exceptional, good Sushi and craft beer. A warm friendly ambiance.

Thank Patrick W
murdoch447, Manager at The Fez at Baghdad, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2016

Thank you so much for your generous review so pleased you enjoyed the restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back. Regards Derek

Reviewed May 25, 2016

I love going to Fez because there is something for everyone, from lamb shank to sushi and everything in between.

Thank Lee-AnnMcCleland
murdoch447, Owner at The Fez at Baghdad, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2016

Thank you for the review it is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Fez. Regards Derek

Reviewed May 14, 2016 via mobile

Delicious meal! Ambiance just right & wine selection great! A must for anyone visiting White River🍷local is the best for yummy scrumptious food! Please try the cashew nut tart! To die for💓❤️💓

Thank 191priscillel
murdoch447, Owner at The Fez at Baghdad, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2016

Thank you Priscille for your kind and generous comments so pleased you enjoyed the restaurant. Hope to see you again soon. Derek

Reviewed May 7, 2016

Restaurant with good atmosphere, good menu and wine list, in an area where there are not many options.

Thank Nelson M
murdoch447, Owner at The Fez at Baghdad, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2016

Many thanks for the review it is appreciated. Regards Derek

Reviewed March 16, 2016

This restaurant has been on my bucket list for some time. I was, however, disappointed. 14h30 and my first menu choice - Casablanca Chicken - not available as it was not ready. Changed to the Thai fillet strips - very watery, lacking in flavour and...More

Thank penny n
murdoch447, Owner at The Fez at Baghdad, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2016

Thank you for your review and I am so sorry you were disappointed but I have taken note of your comments and hopefully we may have the pleasure to welcome you back and have the opportunity to change the poor impression you currently have of...More

Reviewed February 27, 2016 via mobile

I've odered sushi. Something on the plate was not smelling 100% and I decided to call manager and present my concern. He just replied, "yesterday we had the house fully packed and no one complained. This batch is from yesterday and is perfectly fine." Since...More

Thank Eduardo V
murdoch447, Owner at The Fez at Baghdad, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2016

As discussed the sushi is freshly prepared to order and the tuna had just arrived. We could not establish anything wrong with the large platter you ordered and sent back but you wanted to pay for it non the less and order something else( which...More

Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Fez at Baghdad staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Baghdad Centre, Corner, White River 1240, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Mpumalanga  >  White River
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing