We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mediterranean

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
I'langa Mall | Ilanga Mall, Shop UG 2, Corner Flamboyant & Bitterbessie, Nelspruit, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Add hours for Mediterranean and help diners know when to go.
+ Add hours
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for: Families with children
Description: I believe there are two outlets of this restaurant, with one in Riverside...
I believe there are two outlets of this restaurant, with one in Riverside Mall, and the one I was at in I'langa Mall. The URL seems to be for the Riverside one, but at least the phone number will help.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 150 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 59
    Excellent
  • 68
    Very good
  • 19
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
meal with a view

I had the Salmon platter. It was gorgeously set, with generous slices of sashimi, and delicious. We sat at the section where you have a beautiful view of the hills. We also had a dish with rice. The rice could use some improvement. The texture and taste did not quite meet expectations. The... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed 3 weeks ago
Marie Sharon G
,
Mozambique
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If you have a love for seafood this is the restaurant for you. Platters and specials galore. Do not hesitate to book a table here. Kid friendly as well.

Helpful?
Thank Steve S
Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

It seems exceedingly difficult to find a really good experience afa fish or other seafood is concerned in Nelspruit and surroundings. Of course, you might say, there is no sea near Nelspruit. And you will be right. But there is no sea around Pretoria, or Johannesburg, or Bloemfontein for that matter, and I have eaten special 'fishy' meals in all... More 

Helpful?
Thank engemi
MarketingTLMC, Marketing Agency at Mediterranean, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us. We really appreciate all our clients feedback, positive and negative, as we can never improve on our service and quality if not for that. We are saddened by your under average experience as we believe that good food and wine, combined with amazing service... More 

Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After having a good meal at this restaurant the week prior, it set us up with good expectations for a 2nd visit with overseas guests. Very very disappointing. My three guests had a chicken, seafood and fish curry respectively. I had Kingklip strips with chips. The waiter was poorly trained in table service and the food was bland and mediocre.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wildogsa
MarketingTLMC, Marketing Agency at Mediterranean, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We continuously strive to keep the highest quality and service constantly and are very disappointed to learn of your below average experience. we do hope however that you will give us a chance in future to rectify this and convince you that we are indeed Nelspruit's best loved... More 

Mozambique
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had the Salmon platter. It was gorgeously set, with generous slices of sashimi, and delicious. We sat at the section where you have a beautiful view of the hills. We also had a dish with rice. The rice could use some improvement. The texture and taste did not quite meet expectations. The shrimps that came with the dish were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marie Sharon G
MarketingTLMC, Marketing Agency at Mediterranean, responded to this review

Dear Marie, Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your feedback - we continuously strive to better and hope that you will be happy with all aspects of your meal during your next visit. See you soon! Kind regards Management & Staff More 

Harare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited Mediterranean Restaurant as we were wanting to try some sushi and have a relaxing afternoon. The sushi was very good and with a couple of bottles of chilled white wine, we had a fine relaxed afternoon. The service from the waiters, and attention from management was fantastic and they went out of their way to look after us.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ant K
MarketingTLMC, Marketing Agency at Mediterranean, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us - we appreciate your positive feedback. Hope to see you back in the near future. Kind regards, Management & Staff More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Dropped in for a spot of sushi and racked up a rather large total in the end. Most of it was quite good although we weren't a fan of the dry crab meat or the seaweed salad. The rest was great and the staff were very good. Sushi is prepared in front of your eyes if you sit up at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tristan S
MarketingTLMC, Marketing Agency at Mediterranean, responded to this review

Dear Tristan, Thank you for your review and for trying some of our more unusual dishes :) We hope to see you again soon for some yummy sushi. Kind regards, Management & Staff More 

Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

You will make no mistake by going to this restaurant. The food is always of good quality, management is always around and the staff is friendly and well trained. Well done NIco. This is the one place that you can take friends and family without being ashamed.

Helpful?
Thank SUNBIRDnelspruit
MarketingTLMC, Marketing Agency at Mediterranean, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review - we love hearing from you and we look forward to see you again soon. Kind regards, Management & Staff More 

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
156 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2015 via mobile

Great people; great food; great place - what more can you ask from this Cypriot owned restaurant. Quality fish, shellfish and the best sushi. The owners pride themselves on running a tight ship in every respect so expect good service and top quality every time - not a regular occurence in this area. Customers come from as far as Mozambique... More 

Helpful?
Thank postscript65
MarketingTLMC, Marketing Agency at Mediterranean, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive review. We are so proud to be able to receive such compliments. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Management & Staff More 

Gorinchem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2015 via mobile

i had lunch at this restaurant and unfortunately not enough time to enjoy all the nice seafoid. Certainly must go back sometime!

Helpful?
Thank GJvdG
MarketingTLMC, Marketing Agency at Mediterranean, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your 5 out of 5! We loved hearing from you. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Management & Staff More 

White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2015

Wonderful open and spacious restaurant with a selection of sitting in or outside. Fast efficient service with an excellent food and drinks selection from the menu. Very good value. A regular on our calender.

Helpful?
Thank Edwin H
MarketingTLMC, Marketing Agency at Mediterranean, responded to this review

Dear Edwin, Thank you so much - we love hearing from our regular customers. Hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Management & Staff More 

Travelers who viewed Mediterranean also viewed

Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
 
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga
 

Been to Mediterranean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: I'langa Mall | Ilanga Mall, Shop UG 2, Corner Flamboyant & Bitterbessie, Nelspruit, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Mpumalanga  >  Nelspruit

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Japanese, Mediterranean, Seafood, Sushi, Greek

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Description

I believe there are two outlets of this restaurant, with one in Riverside Mall, and the one I was at in I'langa Mall. The URL seems to be for the Riverside one, but at least the phone number will help.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mediterranean staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?