We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Karoo Cattle and Land

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Corner Nellmapius and | Nellmapius Road, Centurion 0157, South Africa
+27 12 662 1111
Website
Today
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 8:30 am - 9:30 pm
Mon 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tue - Fri 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Sat 8:30 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 102: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I decided on lamb sosaties - it was scrumptuous. Waiters are well trained - management in Suit and Tie.. I am impressed by an overall stylish restaurant! Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Hanno B
Rod W, Owner at Karoo Cattle and Land, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review! Particularly in the evenings, we try and create exactly as you say, a more stylish atmosphere for our guests, with dimmed lights and myself and management in more formal dress than during the day. I greatly appreciate both the positive comments on the meal and waiters, and this mention of the atmosphere.... More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Average service and food, definitely a big no-no to serve guests pre-cooked Lamb Shanks that are still frozen. At least they should be properly defrosted and heated up before serving. Disappointed.....

Helpful?
Thank Francois S
Rod W, Owner at Karoo Cattle and Land, responded to this review

Hello sir. We have already replied to you in detail on your Facebook complaint, so I won't go into the detail again, but we apologise for this spoiling your evening out. The shanks are of course precooked as they take far too long to cook to order, and the cooked shanks are vacuum packed and held in hot water during... More 

Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Even though this is a steak place the vegetarian platter was excellent. I got stir fried veggies, deep fried maize meal balls, potatoes in garlic sauce, a selection of cheeses and a small green salad.

Helpful?
Thank Stephannie S
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I can honestly say, this is the best quality and best value for money breakfast in Centurion. Service was surprisingly awesome. Wow.

Helpful?
Thank Roston S
Rod W, Owner at Karoo Cattle and Land, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback! Our legendary "Boere Buffet"" weekend breakfast has been on the go now for many years, and it's terrific to hear that we are still creating the great experience we aim for! Much appreciated! More 

Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We'd been there on a number of occasions and had never been disappointed. Excellent steaks, but we invariably end up having the very large fillet to share. Super tender and grilled to perfection. Service can be a bit slow at times but never excessively so.

Helpful?
Thank 560pieterv
Rod W, Owner at Karoo Cattle and Land, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this wonderful review, and for your regular support! We really appreciate the feedback and share this with all the team so that we can all understand our guest experience - we'll be working on speed of service now! Thanks again! More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2017

The service at first was horrible but after speaking to the Manager, he took very good care of us and we felt special. Thank you guys and please keep it up.

Helpful?
Thank mphoshololo
Rod W, Owner at Karoo Cattle and Land, responded to this review

I'm so sorry it started badly, but delighted we were able to deal with this and make you and your party feel special and have an enjoyable experience! Your feedback is much appreciated and we all look forward to seeing you back again. Many thanks! More 

Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2017

Nice restaurant with different "cubicles", depending if you want a private function which is very nice

Helpful?
Thank Elize_13
Rod W, Owner at Karoo Cattle and Land, responded to this review

Thank you Elize! Our semi-private areas on the stoep are indeed popular for events where some privacy and separation from the rest of the restaurant is desired. Thank you for your kind review! More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2017 via mobile

Fantastic really good food and really very quick service. Loved it! Thanks for this making our V-day meal really tasty and efficient 😊

Helpful?
Thank L485GIelizabethb
Rod W, Owner at Karoo Cattle and Land, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this kind review, and we are delighted that your Valentine's Day was special at Karoo Irene! Your feedback keeps us inspired to offer the very best of food, service, ambience and personal attention and we hope to see you again soon! More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed dinner with my wife and daughter. Felista's (waitress) service was good. Girls had Karoo lamb shank - highly recommended! I had my usual fare: pork belly with mash. Unfortunately over-cooked and dry inside, but always a winner. Good value for money and a super vibe on the fountain square.

Helpful?
Thank AndreCoetzee3
Rod W, Owner at Karoo Cattle and Land, responded to this review

Hello Andre and thank you for your kind review! I'm so sorry about the pork belly and will be following up on this right away! I'm glad however that you enjoyed the experience once again and appreciate he feedback. Best wishes More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2017 via mobile

We had a late lunch and was seated upstairs close to the salad bar. The food was really delicious (pork belly and steak for my husband) but the personnel were really, really noisy. They had loud conversations laughing and chatting and that was really not nice. When you go to a restaurant and pay R500 for lunch for 2 people,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stellie-Bell
Rod W, Owner at Karoo Cattle and Land, responded to this review

I am so so sorry about this! I can completely understand your annoyance and frustration! Sometimes, at the quieter times of day, the staff, with little to do, chat and don't realise the volume of sound they create, but a manager should have picked this up and dealt with it. Could I ask you to tell me which date and... More 

Travelers who viewed Karoo Cattle and Land also viewed

 
Centurion, Gauteng
 
Centurion, Gauteng
 

Been to Karoo Cattle and Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$7 - $16
Cuisine
Steakhouse, African, Grill, European
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
8:30 am - 9:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
8:30 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Corner Nellmapius and | Nellmapius Road, Centurion 0157, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Centurion
  • Phone Number: +27 12 662 1111
Description
It looks like a steakhouse. Mmmm, it smells like a steakhouse. And it certainly tastes like a steakhouse. But Karoo Cattle & Land is more than just a steakhouse. It's a top steak-based restaurant. And a South African one at that, featuring traditional SA fare like bobotie and boerewors, as well as steaks cut from the very best South African beef. Although famous for its red meat and ribs, KC&L's menu caters for all tastes and includes a sumptuous selection of the freshest SA fish and poultry, a choice of vegetarian dishes and free salads. For the health-conscious, there's even ostrich.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Karoo Cattle and Land staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?