We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

LORD PRAWN

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveler rating
133
98
32
15
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
133
98
32
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews queen prawns seafood calamari langoustines sole rice potato chips curry baby lobster great prawns lm prawns lemon butter dom pedro menu is extensive peri peri sauce lunch time umhlanga village
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 285 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

Amazing meal and great service. Started with Prawn Cocktail and Garlic Snails - the way we grew up with. Then o to a KG of Queen a Prawns each - these were to die for. Will definitely be back for more.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank DawieJ12
Reviewed 5 days ago

Always visit Restaurant on our break to Umhlanga. Restaurant did not disappoint. Prawns well prepared and tasty. Garlic and lemon butter sauce was not good, quite bland. Nice clean well maintained restaurant, friendly service rendered ... has inside and verandah seating. Verandah quite popular with...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Rianagel01
Reviewed 1 week ago

We always come here as a tradition, when we are in town and this time was particularly bad. We had oysters as an appetizer and the 2 that ate them were sick the next day. The prawns were not the best and were overcooked The...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank shellxha
LordPrawn, Manager at LORD PRAWN, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good day, Everytime we came to your table and asked if everything was ok not once did you complain about anything, in actual fact you said the prawns was great. When you paid you paid the bill straight, i then came to you asking was...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had lunch at Lord Prawns. Ordering 1kg Queen Prawns with rice for R275. Prawns where nice but not 1kg. 14pieces of QueenPrawns are ca 1/2kg. (21-25 pieces are 700-800gramm). They cheat the guests. Will be more attentive the next time.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank looping100
LordPrawn, Manager at LORD PRAWN, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for eating at Lord Prawns. Our 1 kg prawns are between 15 and 16 on a plate. The quality of prawns are bigger in size. Feel free to speak to me when you at the restaurant. Regards Lord Prawn

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So we arrived in Umhlanga, first time in years. Heading towards lunch time, started looking for a new place to eat. Found Lord Prawn, and life had been better since! What a fantastic culinary experience! The strawberry daiquiri was a great start. Then, the main...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Chappies40
LordPrawn, Manager at LORD PRAWN, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your kind words, see you guys soon. Regards Lord Prawn

Reviewed February 4, 2019 via mobile

I went to this restaurant expecting to taste prawns as good as they get. After all, how hard is it for a restaurant to get it wrong, right? Wrong! Failure came very easily tonight for these cost and corner cutters who obviously have become cynical...More

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank HubNerd
LordPrawn, Manager at LORD PRAWN, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good day, As explained on the day, we did give your concerns over to the owner. He has made changes to his recipy. Regards Lord Prawn

Reviewed February 2, 2019 via mobile

Baby lobster and prawns very tasty. No complaints on service and food. Friendly attentive staff. Not over priced.

Date of visit: February 2019
2  Thank Judbetty
LordPrawn, Manager at LORD PRAWN, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good day, Thank you for your kind words, see you soon. Regards Lord Prawn

Reviewed January 17, 2019

Absolute value for money - prawn is divine - the best. Not to mention the coctails. Staff are very friendly - good service

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Davidjeanniejack
Reviewed January 3, 2019 via mobile

I visited on 28th Dec 18 with my sister and 2 nieces. From arriving we had superb service in this busy gem of a restaurant. We had garlic bread to share and my niece had a prawn cocktail, the bread was so soft and hot...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank Lisa C
Reviewed January 1, 2019 via mobile

Absolutely pathetic service, the food took almost 2 hrs to be delivered. The resturant was busy and I completely expect a delay, however a 2 hr wait without an explanation or check-ups points to bad management and poor mise en place. I am really disappointed...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank WorldTravels94
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 19 nearby hotels
The Capital Pearls
79 reviews
.06 miles away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
390 reviews
.10 miles away
Beverly Hills
1,474 reviews
.11 miles away
The Oyster Box
2,386 reviews
.16 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 144 nearby restaurants
Mythos
140 reviews
.09 miles away
Ile Maurice
847 reviews
.07 miles away
Casa Bella Pearl Walk
118 reviews
.05 miles away
Butcher Boys Umhlanga Rocks
669 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 26 nearby attractions
Mindgame Escape
50 reviews
.18 miles away
Umhlanga Main Beach
859 reviews
.30 miles away
Umhlanga Beach
10 reviews
.07 miles away
Whalebone Pier
83 reviews
.14 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
863ralphi
November 25, 2017|
Answer
Response from MariG1571 | Reviewed this property |
Yes weekends
0
Votes
863ralphi
November 25, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from MariG1571 | Reviewed this property |
Yes preferably but for lunch times it can be walk in
1
Vote
TAMISH-ZN
February 16, 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Robert M | Reviewed this property |
Good place to celebrate but stick to Prawn and fish dishes
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing