We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Market

$$ - $$$, , Vegetarian Friendly
40 Marriott Rd | Greyville, Durban 4001, South Africa
+27 31 309 8581
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good34%
  • Average9%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“brunch” (6 reviews)
“lamb burger” (6 reviews)
“fish cakes” (8 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
Colombian, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
40 Marriott Rd | Greyville, Durban 4001, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely terrible service, waiter got the drinks orders incorrect twice, then forgot the food of 1 patron and got another waiter to come and tell us. Thereafter we paid the bill and they allowed 2 different patrons to pay for the same bill. Upon requesting...More

Thank Rishanth
Tahne B, Manager at Market, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am truly sorry to read this and if it is factual, I wish you had brought it to my attention on the morning, as I was working FOH the whole day. (Absolutely terrible service, waiter got the drinks orders incorrect twice, then forgot the...More

Reviewed April 9, 2018

We went for Sunday brunch after being told the place was worth it. Having flown 11000 miles we were hopeful that the place might be authentic. We were not disappointed. We had a portion of the pulled lamb on toast with hollandaise sauce and a...More

Thank Davidbignose!
Reviewed April 9, 2018

This is my first time here again after a number of years and I was not disappointed. It remains a tranquil spot set off from the road. The food is excellent and the staff friendly and efficient. A great place for a birthday party, or...More

1  Thank Lorj03
Reviewed April 8, 2018

We’ve been coming to Market for around 10 years and have yet to be disappointed. There was live music on our last Friday lunchtime visit (and I understand every Friday & Saturday), which would normally make me run a mile, but Beat-Route turned out to...More

Thank Chris-CH J
Reviewed March 14, 2018 via mobile

Been to lunch here. Great vibe and staff. Ideal for meetings. Will definitely refer colleagues here. Yhe fishcakes are a must try.

Thank Rian K
Reviewed March 5, 2018 via mobile

Great ambiance, our waiter , Moses , was awesome. We were under time pressure and his service and attitude made the evening .

Thank Mikel235
Reviewed February 28, 2018 via mobile

Visited this hidden gem for my friends 30th Birthday celebrations. The set up is laid back and beautiful. We had a beautiful evening under the open skies

Thank Mamthembusn
Reviewed February 3, 2018 via mobile

I've been to market a few time for lunch. Very nice setting especially dinner. Freshly squeezed juice available. Wildebeest capaccio is delicious. A must have. The Norwegian salmon was excellent. If you are a fish lover, definitely a must. Overall a very nice venue with...More

Thank Ruban N
Reviewed January 25, 2018

The service was excellent, but the food disappointing when i compare with previous. The ablutions need attention as were not clean.

Thank Janet_C_11111
Reviewed January 21, 2018 via mobile

Been there many times and was always impressed. Great setting with water fountain, birds and shady leopard trees. The service was friendly and excellent. The food was prepared and presented. My grandson enjoyed the 3 cups of baby cappuccino. Recommended

Thank Uttam G
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 46 hotels in Durban
The Concierge Boutique Bungalows
244 reviews
.55 miles away
Quarters Hotel Florida Road
129 reviews
.57 miles away
The Benjamin
247 reviews
.58 miles away
Florida Park Hotel
85 reviews
.63 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Next Chapter
7 reviews
.59 miles away
9th Avenue Bistro
541 reviews
.33 miles away
Sunkist
5 reviews
.59 miles away
Joops Place
254 reviews
.34 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Durban Botanic Gardens
1,008 reviews
.45 miles away
Greyville Racecourse
67 reviews
.22 miles away
St. Thomas' Church
22 reviews
.66 miles away
The Campbell Collections
16 reviews
.47 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Market staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Drinks, Late Night
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
8:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
8:30 AM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 40 Marriott Rd | Greyville, Durban 4001, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  KwaZulu-Natal  >  Durban
  • Phone Number: +27 31 309 8581
  • E-mail
Description
Market is a world-class garden café/restaurant, situated in a quiet courtyard behind a classic 1930’s colonial building at the foot of Durban’s Berea in Marriott Road. Market serves simple quality cuisine using locally and/or organic sourced ingredients in a professional, unique, and caring environment. Market is also known for its selection of award winning South African wines, freshly squeezed fruit juices and coffee. Our fine dining dinner food specials change regularly and provide the perfect catalyst for any occasion, whether it be your first date or a birthday celebration. The courtyard has a central fountain surrounded by a a ring of Leopard trees, which provide all year mottled shade and its peaceful atmosphere. The outdoor furniture and tables are modeled around 18th century French garden furniture, adding to Market’s allure. The restaurant’s indoor section is more a modern minimalist while still providing the feeling of dining somewhere in Europe. Market is always available for big parties, private functions or weddings.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;