We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Piccolo Mondo

135 West Street | Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton 2196, South Africa
+27 11 282 7000
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good22%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“creme brulee” (13 reviews)
“eggs benedict” (5 reviews)
Open Now
6:30 PM - 10:30 PMAll hours
CUISINES
European, International, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
135 West Street | Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton 2196, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very friendly staff ( almost too polite ) but excellent service. The food was wonderful and in the perfect "size"... not too much and not too little. The price is fair. I went for dinner and was not necessary do a reservation. The restaurant belongs...More

Thank Fernanda F
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Fernanda F, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. As a 5 star establishment we are continuously striving to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our guests return home with fond memories of the Michelangelo Hotel...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

I am residing at Michelangelo hotel and this place never ceases to amaze me in terms of the level of service being provided. Food is great and tables are impeccably laid out.More

Thank Naresh G
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Naresh G, Thank you for taking the time to review Piccolo Mondo Restaurant. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you for all your lovely compliments! We would love to have you join us here us at The...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The restaurant was quiet. We booked for 6:30pm only to be told to wait at the bar because they open at 7pm. Anyway, the restaurant is outdated. The furniture could do with a change. The food though... It was great. The service was good, the...More

Thank Refilwe K
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Refilwe K, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. As a 5 star establishment we are continuously striving to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our guests return home with fond memories of the Michelangelo Hotel...More

Reviewed October 8, 2017

Had a dinner for two and had the wine pairing set menu. The food was beautiful and very delicious. The service from the waiters was really someone special. They treat you like old friends.More

Thank Pieter K
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2017

Dear Pieter K, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. As a 5 star establishment we are continuously striving to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our guests return home with fond memories of the Michelangelo Hotel...More

Reviewed September 23, 2017

A great venue and food is good and fancy. great to treat an important client or business associate. fine dinning at its bestMore

Thank Len D
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2017

Dear Len D, Thank you for taking the time to review Piccolo Mondo Restaurant. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you for all your lovely compliments! We would love to have you join us here us at The...More

Reviewed September 9, 2017 via mobile

A very old style beautiful venue with no atmosphere almost nobody there last night (Saturday). We asked for the line fish which was the only fresh ( not frozen) fish but they wouldn't do it with their standard menu. So we left. Then we walked...More

Thank Jeremy J
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Dear Jeremy J, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. As a 5 star establishment we are continuously striving to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our guests return home with fond memories of the Michelangelo Hotel...More

Reviewed September 4, 2017

We had dinner at the Piccolo Mondo on Saturday night, as a special treat from my husband to me. We were impressed by the new menu with the option for two or three course dinner with wine pairing or not. We opted for the other...More

Thank 61Riana
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2017

Dear 61Riana, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we welcome all feedback. Please accept our sincerest apologies for Piccolo Mondo not living up to your expectations on the evening. This is certainly not the standard we adhere to and usually strive for faultless...More

Reviewed August 29, 2017

... yes, they play live piano music every now and then and their fish pond is an absolutely great thing. However, the service for a leading hotel of the world is by far not there yet and the place, especially in the evening can be...More

Thank Urs W
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017

Dear Urs W, Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, we welcome all feedback. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the IL Ritrovo Lounge not living up to your expectations on the day. This is certainly not the standard we adhere to and usually...More

Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile

We we're off for a family day in Michelangelo and decided to try piccolo mondo. Overall result was impressive. They have menu suggestions that already come marching with chief wine suggestion (each dish one specific wine) and that was great. Positive highlight: #1 service was...More

Thank CORTE777
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2017

Dear CORTE777, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. As a 5 star establishment we are continuously striving to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our guests return home with fond memories of the Michelangelo Hotel and...More

Reviewed August 9, 2017

Excellent food and excellent staff! In the midst of Michelangelo hotel is this excellent restaurant. I had the searlion and a bottle of red "Buitenverwachting"; it was simply the best! So, strongly recommended.More

Thank AlexisDeVliegher
CptChris, Manager at Piccolo Mondo, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2017

Dear AlexisDeVliegher, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. As a 5 star establishment we are continuously striving to provide only the best service possible to ensure that our guests return home with fond memories of the Michelangelo Hotel and...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Butcher Shop & Grill
2,649 reviews
.01 miles away
Pappas on the Square
483 reviews
.01 miles away
Trumps Grillhouse and Butchery
874 reviews
.01 miles away
Hard Rock Cafe Johannesburg
840 reviews
.01 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Nelson Mandela Square
2,108 reviews
.00 miles away
Sandton Convention Centre
274 reviews
.20 miles away
Sandton City
83 reviews
.30 miles away
Sandton Taxi Cabs (Pty) Ltd (Johannesburg Shuttle Services), South Africa
34 reviews
.37 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mark M
June 9, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Dean E | Property representative |
Dear Mark M, The Dress Code is smart casual
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Monday
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Tuesday
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Wednesday
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Thursday
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Friday
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Saturday
6:30 AM - 10:30 AM
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 10:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 135 West Street | Nelson Mandela Square, Sandton 2196, South Africa (Formerly Michelangelo's Piccolo Mondo)
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Sandton
  • Phone Number: +27 11 282 7000
  • E-mail
Description
True to its name, the Piccolo Mondo really is “a world in one”, combined with superb food, excellent wine and a sophisticated ambience. The Piccolo Mondo instantly turns your visit into a distinctive culinary experience.Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served seven days a week in this magnificent restaurant, which overlooks the Nelson Mandela Square.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing