We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Bamboo

207 Tugela Road | Ashlea Gardens, Pretoria 0081, South Africa
+27 84 508 9752
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good15%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“scallops” (13 reviews)
“duck” (16 reviews)
Closes in 27 min
7:00 AM - 10:00 PMAll hours
CUISINES
European, Contemporary, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
207 Tugela Road | Ashlea Gardens, Pretoria 0081, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Absolutely devine. A colourful, delicious taste sensation. Black Bamboo tops my list. Exceptional service. Complimentary amuse bouche and pallet cleanser was a valued treat. Relaxed yet modern environment. I had the beetroot ravioli with hazelnut components and goats cheese, stunning. And the sea bass main...More

Thank Lianri91
PRManage, Manager at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Lianri91, Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review for us. We appreciate your valuable comments and are thrilled that you had a great experience with us. It is also great to receive specifics as to what you enjoyed. Your business...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

The ambiance in the Restaurant set the mood for a great Menu with Wine pairing. The service was good and very friendly. what surprised me, later the evening, we were just half way through the Menu the staff went off duty. What a disappointment halfway...More

Thank canada493
PRManage, Manager at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear canada493, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It is disappointing to read about the service issue and have been addressed with the team. Apologies for the inconvenience caused. It is however, pleasing to hear that the food was...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a fabulous lunch to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It was definitely one of the best meals I have had in a very long time. Thank you. We will be back soon.

Thank VicdeS
PRManage, Manager at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear VicdeS, Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review for us. Your business is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards, The Black Bamboo Restaurant Team

Reviewed 1 week ago

We celebrated our wedding anniversary on Saturday evening( 11/11). 1stly there were no parking available inside the premises and we had to park outside on the pavement. Inside we were met by enthusiastic staff and I thought we were in for a night to remember....More

Thank Werner R
PRManage, Owner at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Werner R, Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. We constantly strive to make sure that all guests leave with the proper fine dining experience and it's really disappointing when we are not able to live up to our own...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For the ultimate dinner date, this is the place to go. Clean white linen table cloths, beautifully presented food on interesting crocery, this restaurant is a show stopper. Located in the Menlyn Boutique Hotel, if your pocket can stand the price, why not book in...More

Thank Lisa V
PRManage, Manager at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Lisa V, Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review for us. Your business is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards, The Black Bamboo Restaurant Team

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a formal and lovely restaurant We had beautiful food, lovely wine, and a good waiter with great recommendationsMore

Thank Karicks
PRManage, Manager at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Karicks, Thank you for reviewing us and scoring 5 out of 5. Your comments are valued and will be passed on to the team. Your business is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards, The Black...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The place is very easy to find. Parking is secure and ample. The venue is great and the art on display is amazing. Metal tables inside with comfortable chairs. Outside has bamboo styled chairs. The service is very friendly and prompt. This is not a...More

Thank ShilohNaiken
PRManage, Manager at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear ShilohNaiken, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and for pointing out or shortcomings and strengths. We have discussed all the points you have made and take note thereof. As a team we welcome feedback from our diners in...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A beautiful setting where all the staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. I really like that you are never rushed, they bring you the wine list and wait for you to order before bringing the food menu. It was very romantic and beautiful.More

Thank Johanni26
PRManage, Manager at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Johanni26, Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review for us. We appreciate your valuable comments and are thrilled that you had a great experience with us. Your business is much appreciated and are looking forward to welcome you back in...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Started with Kudu loin which was well seasoned and a perfect medium, moved onto a main of herb crusted pork loin and ended with strawberry panacota and an excellent cuppuccino All food is beautifully presented and tasty. Excellent and non intrusive service. Well worth a...More

Thank Hilton J
PRManage, Manager at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Hilton J, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate your valuable comments and compliments. Your business is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the near future and to achieve full 5 stars. Best...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a lovely night we had, the food was delicious compliments to the chef the ambience the place itself is awesome love the outdoor setting where you can have appetisers then the indoor for the meal

Thank portiarabatshidi
PRManage, Manager at Black Bamboo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear portiarabatshidi, Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review for us. Your business is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best Regards, The Black Bamboo Restaurant Team

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Caraffa
158 reviews
.44 miles away
Baobab Cafe
245 reviews
.42 miles away
Krisp Bistro
80 reviews
.44 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Hazel Food Market
119 reviews
1.21 miles away
Austin Roberts Bird Sanctuary
93 reviews
2.67 miles away
Faerie Glen Nature Reserve
48 reviews
1.64 miles away
Atterbury Theatre
49 reviews
1.12 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
meganspedding
May 17, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from PRManage | Property representative |
Good Day, Yes we do have a breakfast menu, you can view it on Facebook under the Menu tab. Please ensure to make a reservation online or phone us at: +27(0)84 508 9752. Kind Regards, The Black Bamboo Team
0
Votes
Cara L
January 5, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Mike S | Reviewed this property |
Depends on who you want to impress.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 207 Tugela Road | Ashlea Gardens, Pretoria 0081, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Pretoria
  • Phone Number: +27 84 508 9752
  • E-mail
Description
The Black Bamboo offers a truly unique, world-class dining experience, which celebrates the synergy between food, wine and art. An ever-changing a-la-carte menu is inspired by international delicacies with a local twist, and a carefully selected wine list offers interesting options for every palate and occasion.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing