We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

De Kloof Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
European, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Waterkloof Golf Estate | Johan Rissik Drive, Pretoria 0000, South Africa
27730928562
Website
Today
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Mon 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tue - Sat 12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

186 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 183: English reviews
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was our anniversary. Tasting menu with wine paring was excellent. It was such a lovely experience, definitely me and my wife's new favorite restaurant. Thank you for the amazing service and food!

Helpful?
1 Thank frrenki
Pretoria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My favourite outing is to a De Kloof wine pairing and this was no exception. We attended a venison and shiraz evening and it was out of this world! The wine contained some unknown gems and the food combined with it was spectacular. Never disappointed with this restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Heloisef
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The restaurant atmosphere was peaceful, cosy and romantic. The service made us feel warm and welcome, and we learned a few interesting facts about wine and food. The food was incredible, and we enjoyed the different types of wine that complemented each dish. Overall there is nothing I would change about the restaurant. This is definitely me and my husband's... More 

Helpful?
Thank Magdel B
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016 via mobile

Food was good, no great. Service was actually disappointing. Value for money not on par...wine pairing not arriving with food. Disrupted waiters serving us. I think they broke half the kitchen crockery while we sat for dinner?

Helpful?
Thank DriesFrandia F
Centurion
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016 via mobile

We expected so much but was disappointed. Sure you have beautiful views in the day but as we had dinner and it is winter we walked into a restaurant with very dated decor and no atmosphere, listening to the kitchen noise in background. Granted personnel was very friendly and helpful. We chose the 5 course tasting menu with wine pairing.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ilseuys
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

This was our first visit to De Kloof.After eating out at most of our favourite restaurants( there are only a few) we googled best seafood restaurants and decided on De Kloof.(We didn't even know about this restaurant) We did not make a booking and on our arrival we were met very friendly and shown to our table with a beautiful... More 

Helpful?
Thank Karen v
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2016

We took the opportunity to visit De Kloof Restaurant during Restaurant Week to experience their culinary delights. Situated in the Waterkloof Golf Estate the venue provides a lovely evening view over the Pretoria suburbs. We were first served a tapas style appetizer, which consisted of a shot of pumpkin soup; slices of baguette and an aubergine & sundried tomato pesto.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ockert M
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2016

We dined at this restaurant on the 10the of May 2016 for my wife's birthday (party of 5), and we were VERY disappointed, to say the least. Our whole table picked your 7 course tasting menu, and quite frankly, the food was not up to standard. The sweet potato angel hair on the "Alive & Kicking" dish was terrible. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank JacovanTonder
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2016 via mobile

We had a birthday celebration for my husband and wanted to treat my son's girlfriend who was a Masterchef top 20 contestant a couple of series ago to a fine dining experience. What a disappointment,both service-wise as well as the food we received. We waited ages for the food orders to be taken and no explanation was forthcoming. We asked... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Terry8bra
tripper007London, Owner at De Kloof Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Terry8bra As a matter of policy we do not normally respond to public reviews, rather preferring to communicate directly with our clients whether complaint or complement. We are able to do this because 99% of our guests make reservations, so contact details are always stored. However, we are are unable to find any record of a table of 5... More 

Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2016 via mobile

We had the 5 course tasting menu with wine pairing. The food and wines was good, the view was very good. We loved the gluwein which was paired with the first course on a cold rainy day. The ambience and decor did not compliment the food but the view made up for it. Worth the visit.

Helpful?
Thank P33t

Travelers who viewed De Kloof Restaurant also viewed

Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 
Pretoria, Gauteng
Pretoria, Gauteng
 

Been to De Kloof Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
European, Contemporary
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Full Bar, Private Dining
Good for
Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
12:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Waterkloof Golf Estate | Johan Rissik Drive, Pretoria 0000, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Pretoria
  • Phone Number: 27730928562
Description
Upscale and creative European-style cuisine, with local influences, in a modern space with terrace. South African Restaurant of the Year 2013

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of De Kloof Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from De Kloof Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?