We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Vovo Telo

Parkhurst Cobbles Centre, 4th Avenue | Parkhurst,, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
+27 78 627 2279
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good43%
  • Average11%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“brunch” (14 reviews)
“bread” (18 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, International, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
Parkhurst Cobbles Centre, 4th Avenue | Parkhurst,, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 171 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2017

I was recently back at Vovo Telo in Parkhurst for lunch and was very disappointed with the quality of the food, it has gone downhill in the past few months,More

Thank globalcitzen
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding our food quality. I am very sorry you feel the quality has dropped, we are often inspected by Famous Brands regarding food quality, standards and presentation methods, and we always pass will...More

Reviewed March 12, 2017 via mobile

If you want a lively restaurant area this is the place to come. All types of restaurants are here. We were here for breakfast and enjoyed scrambled eggs and tomatoes,on toast,Griddle stack breakfast excellent and Pulled Pork Egg Benedict which was very different. If you...More

Thank watchman2015
Reviewed March 9, 2017 via mobile

We stopped there for coffee and a cake which wasnt good, coconut cake was very dry and plain. I think just a bad choice as the other cake mist probably were goodMore

Thank EA_Oussov
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am quite surprised your cake was dry, as the volume of cakes we sell during the day, doesn't often allow time for them to dry out, however I do apologise we failed you on...More

Reviewed March 8, 2017

Before you enter the place, you are already drawn by the amazing smell of the breads baking in the oven! Nice quaint setting with a lovely menu.More

Thank Paul L
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words, I will be sure to share with our baking team, I'm sure they will be pleased to know their bread aromas bring you in from the street. Watch for our new fall/winter menu coming out in April,...More

Reviewed March 1, 2017 via mobile

Just had a great meal at this restaurant. Chicken livers with tageteille was superb and the blondies divine. A small, relaxing restaurant with friendly service which I highly recommend. Thank you for a wonderful night.More

Thank Africansi
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments, and thank you for your business. On 4th Avenue there are a lot of restaurants to choose from and we thank you for choosing Vovo Telo. Watch for our new fall / winter menu coming out in...More

Reviewed January 31, 2017 via mobile

Exasperating. Ordered Mediterranean burger. Three times what was presented was with ham, on a different bread, without olives. No basil pesto.More

Thank Dusanka
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this review

Sorry for our late response, just catching up on some Trip Advisor feedback. Oh my goodness, 3 times ordered and we still cannot get a simple Burger Trio right. I am embarrassed for the kitchen team and as an Owner. Our team is trained each...More

Reviewed January 16, 2017 via mobile

The breakfast scrambled eggs option was delicious and the portion size was generous. The staff were friendly and attended to my requests diligently. Keep up the good service.More

Thank peterjohndutoit
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this review

Good Morning Peter, Thank you very much for your kind review, truly we appreciate the feedback. I will be sure to share with our team, it's always nice to hear some positive feedback, in this new cyber world of so many food critics, some positive...More

Reviewed January 13, 2017 via mobile

Slow, unfriendly service. Ordered creamy scrambled eggs and received dry, overcooked eggs on undercooked rye bread. It was remade and equally as terrible. Won't be back.More

Thank SonzWoolff
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your unfortunate breakfast experience, we are very sorry the eggs were not to your liking, I do hope you brought this to the managers attention, as we are all human and mistakes do happen. I am sure...More

Reviewed January 4, 2017 via mobile

After being back in Joburg & SA after more than a year away, I had to have a stop off at Vovo Telo for old times sake! I always love it there, I love the pavement style cafe and to just sit and people watch...More

Thank AmzJoseph
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this review

Good Morning, I am thrilled to hear your "Vovo Telo fix" hit the spot. Thank you for remembering us after so long, nice to have you back and I hope you also enjoyed Jozi's great weather. Safe travels, Ian Jones

Reviewed December 19, 2016

This is a pleasant, very popular street-side cafe, which serves excellent light breakfasts and lunches, and sells "home-made" breads of a high quality. Reasonable prices, and efficient, pleasant service.More

Thank John B
IANANDSTELLA, Owner at Vovo Telo, responded to this review

Good Morning John, Thank you so much for your kind words, I will be sure to pass along to our team - some motivation through Social Media is a nice change, these days we get such negativity. Thanks again, and have a great week ahead,...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Coobs
198 reviews
.12 miles away
Craft Restaurant
267 reviews
.05 miles away
Nice on 4th
90 reviews
.10 miles away
The Wolfpack
126 reviews
.10 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Johannesburg Botanical Gardens and Emmarentia Dam
375 reviews
1.47 miles away
African Craft Market of Rosebank
261 reviews
1.62 miles away
The Mall of Rosebank
152 reviews
1.49 miles away
Delta Park
63 reviews
.65 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Vovo Telo staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$10 - $20
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Delivery, Reservations, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Families with children, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday
7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Parkhurst Cobbles Centre, 4th Avenue | Parkhurst,, Johannesburg 2193, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Johannesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 78 627 2279
  • E-mail
Description
Quaint bakery / cafe in the heart of Parkhurst. Family and dog friendly, a lovely airy cafe, with plenty of outdoor seating, in our cozy courtyard. Daily freshly baked breads, cakes and other sweet treats, be sure to consider us for birthdays, anniversaries or other special occasions, full facility is available to book for any special event.