We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grillhouse Rosebank

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
As featured in Jo'burg Foodie
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
C/O Oxford Road & Bierman Avenu | Shop 1, The Firs / Hyatt Shopping Centre, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
+27 11 880 3945
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Sun - Fri 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Mon - Wed 6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Thu - Sat 6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,196 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,106: English reviews
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

This restaurant is simply fantastic. Best steak I think I have ever had accompanied by an amazing wine list ! What more could one want on a trip to SA!

Helpful?
Thank Lara V
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great steak and boerewors, but we could have easily shared one portion. The portions were huge and we had to take more than half home. Investigate what the portion size looks like before you order. I can't imagine anyone actually eating all that mixed grill plate. But it was delicious!

Helpful?
Thank TransylvanianGrl
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this review

Excellent review - thank you. We look forward to seeing you back again soon. The Grillhouse Rosebank Team 22 years of reminding you why you work so hard! More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

For when you want a well presented but functional meal and some conversation... set up for formal occasions and feels more like a location fit for business "men" but easily accomodates everybody. Located conveniently in Rose bank area of Johannesburg. Menu focused on steaks and meats and suits local as well as international tastes. Portions are quite generous. Service is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dorcas O
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your support. The Grillhouse Rosebank Team 22 years of reminding you why you work so hard! More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We took friends to this restaurant and were not disappointed by the steaks! So much more tasty that our UK steak houses. The only disappointment was the attitude of the person that took the payment at the end. I miscalculated the tip. He was almost angry about it. Pity. It would have been 5 star otherwise.

Helpful?
Thank Ralph T
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this review

We are disappointed to hear that you experienced some unhappiness from our staff. Apologies. Its good to know that you were still able to enjoy your experience. Thank you for your support. The Grillhouse Rosebank Team 22 years of reminding you why you work so hard! More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Was very busy for a Tuesday night. We were a group of 12. Celebrating a work event. The steaks were excellent and cooked to spec. The ribeye was great and the monkeygland sauce was awesome. The wine choice was excellent, starting with a rubicon 2013 and finishing with a teano 2011. For entree the oysters and calamari were fresh and... More 

Helpful?
Thank David W
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this review

What a great review - thank you very much. The Grillhouse Rosebank Team 22 years of reminding you why you work so hard! More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Busy, busy, busy especially at this time of the year with huge tables doing the Xmas party thing. But we waited at the bar (also busy - no seats available) and the manager bent over backwards to seat us ASAP. We waited longer than usual for our food; dry-grilled kingklip (excellent) and king prawns although don't trust the classification -... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jill M
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this review

We love to hear that you had a "wow" experience dining with us. Thank you for the superb review. We hope to see you back again soon. The Grillhouse Rosebank Team 22 years of reminding you why you work so hard! More 

Thessaloniki
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

It is an excellent restaurant, with great service, great atmosphere, great food. The wine list has almost all the neccesery flavors. The dishes and the portions are big and the price not too high. Ideally for both business and personal dinners.

Helpful?
Thank Chrysostomos
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review. The Grillhouse Rosebank Team 22 years of reminding you why you work so hard! More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The meat here just melts in your mouth. You can also buy juicy steaks (from the counters outside)of all varieties - their packaging is very well done.

Helpful?
Thank anuka c
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. The support is appreciated. The Grillhouse Rosebank Team 22 years of reminding you why you work so hard! More 

Level Contributor
109 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As always, this restaurant is a safe bet and worth visiting. While staying in Johannesburg, I always try to spend at least one evening at the Grillhouse. The one in Rosebank is convenient and offeres basically lots of tables. Nevertheless, reservation in advance is highly recommendable. Grilled beef fillet, pepper crusted. Just amazing how that dish is being prepared. Will... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aleksander L
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this review

Thank you for your continued support. We appreciate you visiting us when in Johannesburg and look forward to seeing you back again soon. The Grillhouse Rosebank Team 22 years of reminding you why you work so hard! More 

Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My first restaurant trip in South Africa got off to a fantastic start. A starter of the local sausage and then entree, a T bone steak cooked to perfection with a side of pap. It will be my first port of call on my next trip.

Helpful?
Thank Kevin R
Cheryl C, Public Relations Manager at The Grillhouse Rosebank, responded to this review

Welcome to SA. Thank you for your great review. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip. Travel safely. The Grillhouse Rosebank Team 22 years of reminding you why you work so hard! More 

Travelers who viewed The Grillhouse Rosebank also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to The Grillhouse Rosebank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Steakhouse, Grill, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Highchairs Available
Good for
Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
6:30 pm - 10:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: C/O Oxford Road & Bierman Avenu | Shop 1, The Firs / Hyatt Shopping Centre, Johannesburg 2196, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Gauteng  >  Greater Johannesburg  >  Johannesburg
  • Phone Number: +27 11 880 3945
Description
Welcome to The Grillhouse, Johannesburg's most loved and well established premium steakhouse. Established in 1995, The Grillhouse offers the perfect quadfecta in dining - great food, a huge selection of fine wines and malts, stellar service and an upmarket yet warm and hospitable atmosphere.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Grillhouse Rosebank and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
swansea
6 months ago
Johannesburg, South Africa
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Grillhouse Rosebank staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?