We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Rose Garden

Cafe, Vegetarian, Fusion
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
63 Circular Drive | Charlo, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
27413681295
Website
Improve this listing
Today
9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for: Families with children
Description: A visit to Port Elizabeth is not complete unless you have visited The Rose...
A visit to Port Elizabeth is not complete unless you have visited The Rose Garden, a coffee shop in the middle of Floradale Nurseries at 63 Circular Drive, Charlo. Here you do not only find peace and tranquility but you can treat your taste buds to the most scrumptious and mouth-watering dishes, be it for breakfast or lunch. Here the words ... I'll be back ... permeate the air.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 25 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 14
    Excellent
  • 6
    Very good
  • 3
    Average
  • 0
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    5 of 5 stars
An excellent place to have lunch

I have had most things on the menu and to date everything has been delicious. Thesetting is very tranquil. Lovely play area for kids to run around. And a stroll through the nursery is a must. One small issue, if you have someone with you in a wheel chair or using a walker the gravel pathways make... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed November 26, 2015
carmenb964
,
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I always used to like the Rose Garden before they moved to the new venue . I am sure in time it will become charming , but at the moment its like sitting in a school hall unless you can get a seat on the verandah . Everything is still new and just planted so there is no ambience yet... More 

Helpful?
Thank 365giannad
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

What a treat. A beautiful setting, comfortable seating and lovely staff. A varied menu saw us taking the scrambled eggs, a full breakfast and the lighter English verion. Well presented, hot and delicious. Note that the scrambled egg portion is very generous! Can't wait to sample some more on our next visit to PE.

Helpful?
Thank Blodwyn3
TheRoseGarden, Owner at The Rose Garden, responded to this review

Dear Sheelagh, Sarah & Mike, Thank you for lovely review which we will be sharing with our team at The Rose Garden. We look forward to seeing your return next year. Kindest regards, Roy More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

great meal, great project, great storys, great staff and great location.... This place is more than just a place to eat, but do try their 'eggs benedict'!!

Helpful?
Thank Ruben D
TheRoseGarden, Manager at The Rose Garden, responded to this review

Dear Ruben, Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure to receive customers from Belgium. Hope to see you return to The Rose Garden. Best wishes from all of us. More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

Our entire family loves The Rose Garden with its magical ambiance. Always a friendly smile from the waitresses and the food is well priced and always consistent. Our family of 12 (visiting from Australia) enjoyed a delicious meal to celebrate a new arrival to the family. We did wait for our food but it is understandable being at the height... More 

Helpful?
Thank MaureenDeVilliers
TheRoseGarden, Manager at The Rose Garden, responded to this review

Dear Maureen, Thank you for your beautiful review. It encourages us to continue to strive to higher standards all the time. We look forward to your next visit. Friendly regards, The Rose Garden Team More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2015 via mobile

What a dissapointing experience. First we had to wait forever to be seated and when we were it was at a dirty table without menus. Eventually these too arrived but by that time it was clear that the level of service was by far substandard. So, we left and will not be returning.

Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
BouMulPE, Manager at The Rose Garden, responded to this review

Dear Tracy, Thank you for bring the poor service which you experienced at The Rose Garden to our attention. It is just not acceptable that you left us as an unhappy customer. We did experience high volumes of customers Yesterday and at times our staff and kitchen were under enormous pressure being the high season Your feed back is invaluable... More 

Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015 via mobile

The rose garden is the best place for lunch in PE! I like to sit outside with a view of the nursery. It's also a nice place for familys, because the parking area is seperated. So you can enjoy your coffee and your bobotie (my favorite!) or a nice carrot cake in a relaxed, quite and safe atmosphere while your... More 

Helpful?
Thank Johannes M
BouMulPE, Manager at The Rose Garden, responded to this review

Dear Johannes, Thank you for the beautiful review. Friendly regards, The Rose Garden Team More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2015

I have had most things on the menu and to date everything has been delicious. Thesetting is very tranquil. Lovely play area for kids to run around. And a stroll through the nursery is a must. One small issue, if you have someone with you in a wheel chair or using a walker the gravel pathways make for a diffucult... More 

Helpful?
Thank carmenb964
BouMulPE, General Manager at The Rose Garden, responded to this review

Dear Carmen, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about The Rose Garden. We do have an in house wheelchair available and our staff will always assist you. The pathway will be upgraded after the crazy season. Thanks again. The Rose Garden Team. More 

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

The lovely setting of the Rose Garden in Floradale Nursery can't be beat! Easy access and great parking make this a pleasure. An excellent choice menu, to meet all needs, and food freshly prepared and beautifully served, adds to your enjoyment!

Helpful?
1 Thank Carole98Summer
BouMulPE, Manager at The Rose Garden, responded to this review

Your review is appreciated by the entire team at The Rose Garden. Thank you for writing it for us. Friendly, Andiswa More 

East London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

I took my Dear Son, Daughter in Law and Grandson for Breakfast on Sunday Morning. What a delightful experience. It was so pleasant walking through the very attractive Nursery and find this EXCELLENT RESTAURANT!.The choice of food will suit everyone. It is very well cooked and presented and served by very pleasant Waitrons. It is spacious with an attractive decore.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank R M
BouMulPE, Owner at The Rose Garden, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and generous review. We have immediately shared it with all our loyal staff at The Rose Garden and Floradale Nurseries. Friendly regards from The Rose Garden. More 

Level Contributor
108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015

Super breakfast and lunch venue . Good Breakfast and good lunch menu . Something for everyone . The atmosphere is lovely and there is a good place

Helpful?
Thank 365giannad
BouMulPE, Manager at The Rose Garden, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We hope to see you back at the Rose Garden soon. More 

Travelers who viewed The Rose Garden also viewed

Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to The Rose Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: 63 Circular Drive | Charlo, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Eastern Cape  >  Port Elizabeth
  • Phone Number: 27413681295

Price and Cuisine

  • Cuisine: Cafe, Vegetarian, Fusion

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Good for: Families with children

Description

A visit to Port Elizabeth is not complete unless you have visited The Rose Garden, a coffee shop in the middle of Floradale Nurseries at 63 Circular Drive, Charlo. Here you do not only find peace and tranquility but you can treat your taste buds to the most scrumptious and mouth-watering dishes, be it for breakfast or lunch. Here the words ... I'll be back ... permeate the air.
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 4:30 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 4:30 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Rose Garden and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Rose Garden staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?