We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Med Seafood Bistro

Bayview Centre | Corner Gibb & Main Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
+27 44 533 3102
Website
Share
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good40%
  • Average12%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“duck” (10 reviews)
“seafood” (17 reviews)
“chorizo” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Grill, Soups
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Bayview Centre | Corner Gibb & Main Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 100 of 188 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2014

We always have a very consistent, tasty, and very reasonably priced meal at the Med. Dyson is such a wonderful waiter, charming, professional and a really superb, quality guy. Fantastic steaks tonight, cooked to perfection. Everyone in Plett should support this great little restaurant -...More

1  Thank Charlotte F
local-happy, Owner at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2014

Thank you for your amazing review ! Thanks for your support -it's very much appreciated .........

Reviewed June 27, 2014

We enjoyed a cosy evening on a cold night. The steak special was tasty and served with a rich gravy sauce with marrow. I would have preferred to be asked if I liked marrow as I would have said no. We did not return for...More

Thank Lieselle56
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We went to the med on our first night in Plett on the recommendation of our backpackers and we loved it. We had the mussels and tempura prawns to start and both were excellent, mussels sauce was really flavoursome and the prawns lightly battered and...More

Thank Rhys H
local-happy, Owner at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2014

Thanks for your fantastic review ! We appreciate it very much .............

Reviewed May 26, 2014

I went here a few years back and know people that go. My parents live in Plett. The Med has always been known for great food a high prices, but people always walk out satisfied. The intimate seating makes conversation easy and you can spend...More

Thank MackyDs
local-happy, Owner at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2014

Thanks for your lovely review - hope to see you again on your next trip to Plett !!

Reviewed April 10, 2014

We went to the Med on recommendations and reviews on TA. and weren't disappointed. Food was very good - the Malay seafood curry was the best I have had! However, the best was the reaction of the staff when the electricity went off for hours!...More

1  Thank quijano
local-happy, Owner at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you for your visit and review - we are very happy that we managed to delight you with food and service !

Reviewed March 25, 2014

We are now living in Plett and visited The Med for the first time in it's new location. From the time we arrived the service was excellent, the staff extremely welcoming and friendly and the food was delicious. We had Sole and Kingklip, both beautifully...More

Thank IreneJaneW
local-happy, Owner at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2014

Thanks for your vote on confidence - we appreciate it & hope to see you back on your next visit to Plettenberg Bay .......

Reviewed March 18, 2014

We were there for lunch & enjoyed sitting outside on the patio watching the visitors go by. It was not busy as it was out of season service was good and the price was value for money.

Thank Beryl H
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We are locals but hardly ever get the chance to go out for dinner. We had friends over from Scotland and thought that we would go to The Med with them for dinner. This was during season and it was very busy. The service was...More

Thank Jayne S
local-happy, Owner at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Jayne, a belated thanks for your kind review ! Glad you enjoyed the evening & hope to see you again soon .. Marianne

Reviewed February 8, 2014

We frequently asked hotel and info staff where to eat. The med was always recommended. After eating there several times never disappointed with food or service. Well worth a visit.

Thank Dawn M
local-happy, Manager at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

A belated thanks for your visit & kind review ! Hope to see you again next year?

Reviewed January 31, 2014

Visiting Plett the second time after some years we were glad "The Med" is still there and waiting with delicious food - expecially fish is fantastic and the service is quick. The location is a little bit downstairs, but very silent and relaxed. A good...More

1  Thank Paul_E_Pop
local-happy, Owner at The Med Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2014

Thank you for your nice review - I'm sure you will be happy to hear that we are now UPSTAIRS with a lovely sea & town view ......... hope to see you here on your next visit to Plettenberg Bay

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 15 hotels in Plettenberg Bay
Bayview Hotel
148 reviews
.01 miles away
Grand Africa Rooms
401 reviews
.08 miles away
The Plettenberg Hotel
633 reviews
.31 miles away
The Old Rectory
38 reviews
.36 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Blue Monkey Cafe
29 reviews
.03 miles away
Nguni
707 reviews
.11 miles away
Clare's Cakes & Deli
186 reviews
.14 miles away
Chez Laurent
118 reviews
.18 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Robberg Nature Reserve
1,925 reviews
.26 miles away
Secrets of Knysna Forest
8 reviews
.40 miles away
Plettenberg Beach
191 reviews
.29 miles away
Garden Route Wolf Sanctuary
163 reviews
.40 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Gavin S
July 30, 2017|
Answer
Response from Rainer H | Reviewed this property |
Have checked the previous reviews. Han1232014 Pretoria recommended to remove the restaurant on April 29th. Check the details in his review. Regards
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$5 - $13
Cuisine
Seafood, Grill, Soups
Meals
Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
7:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Bayview Centre | Corner Gibb & Main Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Plettenberg Bay
  • Phone Number: +27 44 533 3102
  • E-mail
Description
Independent, family-run Bistro established in 1985, since 2013 trading from the sunny terrace of the Bayview Hotel, situated in the center of the village. The restaurant has panoramic views of the ocean, mountains & town. Our cooking is country-style, using fresh local South African ingredients wherever possible, featuring sustainable seafood & selected choice grades of beef & venison. Poultry includes chicken & duck dishes such as duck confit . Our loyal clientele now feature 3rd generations of families who have enjoyed The Med's family-style ambience & offerings for many years.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;