We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ship & Anchor

2 Moana Avenue, Orewa 0931, New Zealand
+64 9-426 1539
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good34%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“steak” (10 reviews)
“chowder” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, New Zealand, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
DETAILS
2 Moana Avenue, Orewa 0931, New Zealand
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 30 of 126 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2016 via mobile

Today I visited ship and anchor to celebrate my mums birthday and met owners Niraj and Monica. The service provided was exceptional and plenty to choose from including their kids menu. Been there for the first time and have not been disappointed. We had popcorn...More

Thank salihah i
NeerajChugh26, Owner at Ship & Anchor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for celebrating your birthday at Ship and Anchor. It was pleasure to serve you and we hope to see you again soon!!

Reviewed December 4, 2016

We were a big group. Loved the food. Staff was great. We even stayed a bit late. They were very good about it.

Thank Rob W
HarpreetChahal01, Manager at Ship & Anchor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback and hope to see you soon!!

Reviewed December 4, 2016 via mobile

Perfect Restaurant to dine in Orewa , Lovely Service and Delicious Food .. Definatley Recommend The Seafood platter , value for money & Also the Scotch Fillet Steak , Cooked to perfection , Cheers :)

Thank Leaah04
HarpreetChahal01, Manager at Ship & Anchor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback and hope to see you soon!!

Reviewed November 30, 2016

went here twice while on holiday. fabulous food, great service from the young lass. comfortable seating in intimate setting. wide choice of food, between our group and 2 visits we had 12 meals, all were spot on.

Thank brendie12
HarpreetChahal01, Manager at Ship & Anchor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback and hope to see you soon!!

Reviewed November 23, 2016 via mobile

My dad and I went in for dinner to take advantage of a steak dinner special. The atmosphere is really welcoming, and currently all decorated in the Christmas spirit. With the vaulted ceilings, dual levels as well as dining room and bar areas the restaurant...More

Thank MeaganE
HarpreetChahal01, Manager at Ship & Anchor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for dining at Ship and Anchor. Hope to see you soon!!

Reviewed November 13, 2016 via mobile

Loved the lovely range of food offered here. The seafood chowder was spectacular. Scotch fillet with the mushroom and bacon sauce was just the best. Recommend highly to try out this gem of Orewa.

Thank Dellis L
HarpreetChahal01, Manager at Ship & Anchor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback and hope to see you soon!!

Reviewed November 12, 2016

Very friendly staff (esp Preet). Nice layout for a restaurant with a distinct nautical theme. Menu - typical NZ selection....a bit of everything. Food - okay. Price - average.

Thank FnLnNZ
HarpreetChahal01, Manager at Ship & Anchor, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, hope to see you soon!!

Reviewed October 28, 2016

pulled in, so too speak. Enjoyed some drinks and nibbles. Great to see large screen for live sports coverage too. Enjoyed the ambiance so returned later in the evening with a small group and all enjoyed our meals.

Thank Michael P
HarpreetChahal01, Manager at Ship & Anchor, responded to this review

Thanks for the wonderful feedback. Hope to see you again!!

Reviewed October 18, 2016 via mobile

Visited a couple of times. Food was fairly good , hot , fresh and on the whole pretty good. Only crictism is that the pizza base had caraway seeds in it ...first time for everything I suppose. Butter chicken was good and so were the...More

Thank karin1961
HarpreetChahal01, Manager at Ship & Anchor, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback. Just for the information we do not use caraway seeds in any of our food product and only use rosemary and thyme to add flavors to pizza base. Once again thanks for dining at Ship and hope to see you again.

Reviewed October 14, 2016

A nice place for a family meal. The food was lovely and not expensive. The service was very good and the manager Preet was warm and professional. We will be back again....

Thank r0bb0d0wnunder
HarpreetChahal01, Manager at Ship & Anchor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback and hope to see you soon!!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Casablanca Meditteranean Cafe and Bar
336 reviews
.04 miles away
Micks
129 reviews
.04 miles away
Oliver's Cafe
98 reviews
.04 miles away
Kuzina Mediterranean Cafe & Bar
44 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Orewa Beach
221 reviews
.12 miles away
Red Beach
7 reviews
1.74 miles away
Wenderholm Regional Park
38 reviews
3.69 miles away
Snowplanet
169 reviews
3.76 miles away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
Neil D
Is this a BYO as well as licensed?
May 26, 2016|
Answer
Response from NeerajChugh26 | Property representative |
Hi, Unfortunately we are not a BYO restaurant.
0
Votes
ngatirehia8
Hi, Doe's Ship and Anchor have live music/entertainment? Whether you do or not would not stop myself from visiting however I do think it would be a bonus for your business and if you do, would you have a timetable or list of you entertainment, also, what is your dress code?
July 2, 2015|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from NeerajChugh26 | Property representative |
hi , sorry we don't do any live entertainment on a regular basis and our dress code is casual, Thank you
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$7 - $27
Cuisine
Bar, European, New Zealand, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Moana Avenue, Orewa 0931, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Orewa
  • Phone Number: +64 9-426 1539
  • E-mail
Description
Situated at the heart of Orewa Beach, We have a great variety of
Food & Beverages, all cooked in our own unique style we specialize in fresh seafood and steak.
Bring the family along and enjoy our hospitality.