We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Chart Room Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
4786 Homer Spit Rd, Homer, AK 99603-8001
+1 907-235-0406
Website
Today
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Sat - Sun 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 270: English reviews
Arizona
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Monte cristo and salad were awesome. Views were amazing. Very comfortable and relaxing environment. Peaceful. Great menu selections. Good coffee.

Helpful?
Thank Lori S
Bakersfield
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Some friends said this was a good place and we went here. I had bouillabaisse. They offered two options spicy or regular. I ordered spicy. It was totally bland. I put some salt in it and tried to bring it around but it didn't help much. The shrimp was over cooked making it chewy while the fish chunks which were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Silver660
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
190 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I spent four nights at the Land's End Resort last week. We had three breakfasts and one dinner in their Chart Room Restaurant. The breakfasts were fine -- typical American, bacon, eggs, cereal, etc. The last day we opted for an omelet that was not very successful -- somewhat pre-prepared. I can't recommend their omelets. Price was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roycal
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
206 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Entrees were adequate but the quality of service was not. Wine pours were small. Oysters were small for the price ($3/each). Expected better and had better at other venues. Dissatisfied overall.

Helpful?
Thank VaTechDad
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
210 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a great meal here Steak and seafood was excellent Very nice professional service and very reasonably priced A fantastic view over the bay to the snow covered mountains and glacier Outdoor seating when sunny. !!!!!! We are going back tomorrow night

Helpful?
Thank nonna54
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Clam Chowder was terrific, but the rest of the meal was just okay. We were there for lunch this time. I find breakfast and dinner to be better. The view is the best.

Helpful?
Thank aksteph64
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had two meals at the Chart Room Restaurant. The first meal for the four of us was delightful and the meal was prepared well. We ate an early dinner. The second meal was in the late evening of our last night at Lands End. The dining room was full of guests and the wait staff was very busy. In... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pat W
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall the food and service was good. The view of Kachemak Bay was very nice. The biggest disappointment was we could not take a partially finished bottle of wine with us in spite of state law AAC 304.405. I asked to have the bottle corked but was informed that the restaurant did not have the proper liquor license to do... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allen I
Mike D, Manager at The Chart Room Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Land's End Resort. I am delighted that you enjoyed your food, service and the million dollar view. I regret that you were given mis-information regarding your request to have your bottle of wine corked to take with you. The statement that we don't have the proper license was inaccurate, it is currently our policy that we... More 

Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had the fish & chips. Halibut, of course. Delicious. The service was very good. As we were eating lunch a humpback whale performed outside our window. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Mary D
Mike D, Manager at The Chart Room Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our Chart Room restaurant. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience and that one of our local friends was performing just off the shores in Kachemak Bay. Thank you for mentioning our service staff and for your recommendation. Our team thrives on the opportunity to ensure that our guests arrival here is Just the Beginning... More 

Sheridan, Wyoming
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Restaurant : Good food, POOR service, NOT family friendly. Assistant manager Morris lacks basic customer service skills. He was rude, completely disrespectful and argumentative. Unless you're looking for R rated dining experience, SKIP this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank WyoTripster
Mike D, Manager at The Chart Room Restaurant, responded to this review

We regret that your experience was completely undermined by the people who decided to remove their clothes and take a swim. I have been here for over nine years, and I have never heard of such an occurrence here. We are a family, friendly establishment. We did make a couple of mistakes in managing this situation-- to our staffers credit,... More 

Been to The Chart Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
American, Seafood
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Reservations, Television, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4786 Homer Spit Rd, Homer, AK 99603-8001
  • Location: United States  >  Alaska (AK)  >  Homer
  • Phone Number: +1 907-235-0406
Description
Long a favorite among locals and visitors alike, the Chart Room Restaurant occupies one of the most spectacular waterfront locations in Alaska. We feature local seafood and individually prepared meals in a full-service, fine dining yet family
oriented atmosphere. Enjoy the unmatched beauty of Kachemak Bay from the dining room windows; take in the awe-inspiring array of marine life and waterfowl from our outdoor deck, watch the local fleet as they round the spit and head out to sea. “Where Smiles and the Ocean Greet You at the Door!”

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Chart Room Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?