We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dragonfly Bar & Grill

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 Update: Local restaurants need your support! Purchase a gift card directly from them and make a difference. Contact the restaurant for instructions.

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

  • Best Places to Eat in Tamarindokimkim.com

Details

PRICE RANGE
$7 - $22
CUISINES
International, Grill, Fusion, Seafood, Healthy, Central American, South American
Reviews (1,322)
Filter reviews
1,209 results
Traveler rating
891
228
57
27
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
891
228
57
27
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beef buddha bowl red curry carrot cake filet mignon beet salad seafood linguine churros mahi mahi ice cream rice dragon fly off the beaten path whole snapper great dinner costa rica the main drag
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a wonderful dinner and cocktails. I enjoyed the Tequila Mockingbird very much. Great ambiance. Excellent service. Social distancing and safe practices were observed. It was nice to see people out. The road to Dragonfly is typical... unpaved and rugged.

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
dani-kris_dragonfly, Owner at Dragonfly Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us! We sincerely appreciate your feedback and five-star review!

Reviewed April 1, 2020

Excellent food, however be prepared to pay for it. We felt like it was overpriced. Excellent ambiance and comfortable setting. The dishes were amazing and service was okay. You need to make a reservation.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
dani-kris_dragonfly, Owner at Dragonfly Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and atmosphere, yet regret that you felt the service was just okay. We aim to provide excellent service and value for our guests. We appreciate your feedback!

Reviewed March 26, 2020

We were told about Dragon Fly while sitting at the pool from a couple that was from Canada! So we checked it out, and it was amazing!! Highly recommend reservations, we did have a party of 8, and 2 with seafood allergies. The service here...is the best in Tamarindo, it is prompt and courteous. We had all of the apps that were on the menu and the specials- and they were all delicious, the empanada's and the sushi rolls will not disappoint, so fresh. The filet and the tuna were full of flavor and presented so well. We all had a great evening, and would highly recommend the Dragon Fly on your visit to this great little town!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
269danielled, Owner at Dragonfly Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2020

Thank you so much for sharing your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the Dragonfly and we truly appreciate your detailed feedback and recommendation! Gracias!

Reviewed March 22, 2020

We had excellent service and delicious food at this quaint little spot owned by a former Sudburian.Dragonfly boasts a varied menu and eclectic food that is moderately priced. I loved the venue...a bit off the beaten path but worth the visit in terms of service...and culinary delight. We loved and visited it twice during our stay!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
269danielled, Owner at Dragonfly Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2020

Thank you very much for sharing your review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed both of your experiences with our team at Dragonfly! We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback, recommendation, and kind words! Thank you!

Reviewed March 21, 2020

Try the filet mignon- melt in your mouth, the tuna tartar was delicious. ambience was reasonable, staff efficient and friendly enough. An excellent restaurant at a reasonable price.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
dani-kris_dragonfly, Owner at Dragonfly Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the Dragonfly, and we sincerely appreciate your feedback.

Reviewed March 17, 2020

We came here with high expectations and this is what happened. We weren't terribly hungry and knew the portion sizes to be good so ordered a filet mignon with a potato cake. I asked the waiter to make it 'low salt' but happy with pepper,...garlic, etc. and make it medium/rare. What arrived was a medium to well piece of meat, covered in some awful, salty spice rub replete with flavouring enhancers. Underneath the steak was a very nice thinly sliced potato cake (as they called it), so when I sent the steak back I was hopeful the next one with said potato would be good. Yes, the steak was medium rare but for some reason covered with a disgusting, sweet and gloopy barbecue type sauce, something again, I would never eat unless it was home made and certainly didn't ask for. The 'potato cake' this time was flaccid, grey and opaque because it was very undercooked. I gave up .... at least the main was refunded with no problem. Oh for some decent natural food!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
dani-kris_dragonfly, Owner at Dragonfly Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review. We regret that you did not enjoy your experience, and that your filet was not cooked to your liking the first time around. We are also disappointed to hear that the potato cake was undercooked. We do want to...More

Reviewed March 16, 2020 via mobile

We actually ate here twice as the first experience was good. Many of the waiting staff are women and some of them speak good English. Food is good without being great. Portions are large and unless you are a big eater, I would suggest that...you share a starter and possibly a main. The shrimp roll (semi sushi!) is good, but the calamari was over cooked and best avoided. Whole snapper excellent. Red curry had far too much cream in it. We never managed a dessert. Wines priced at typical CR levels so you will be paying a minimum of $40 once service and tax are added. Quiet position away from the Main Street. Simple but pleasant looking place. In European terms it is expensive for what it offers.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
269danielled, Owner at Dragonfly Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review. We appreciate your feedback.

Reviewed March 15, 2020

My wife and I went there three times, make sure you have a reservation. Whithout one, lets just say you'll not have a good seat, we were asked to sit between two babies the parents had put in the corner in their carriage beside their...table, we found this to be pretty ordinary for a romantic dinner. Howerver when we went back and had a more secluded seat, we really enjoyed the place. The tune tartare is amazing, the filet mignon tender, always well cooked and a very good plate. The service was also excellent and it was reasably priced. I would recommand.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
269danielled, Owner at Dragonfly Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experiences at the Dragonfly and we appreciate your feedback.

Reviewed March 13, 2020 via mobile

I’m traveling with a friend who has been to Tamarindo before, and her two requests were to do a sunset sailboat that she had experienced last time & to eat at Dragonfly again because it was one of her top five meals of her life....And, I’d agree. The food is sensational. Presentation is beautiful, but more so - the food was delicious. So many flavors on one plate, perfectly blended with one another. (I had the Thai beef dish). We split an appetizer, each had an entree, split two desserts, and had two drinks a piece. Service was great and the twinkling lights made for a whimsical atmosphere. Pricey for Tamarindo - but we’ll worth it!More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
269danielled, Owner at Dragonfly Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2020

Thank you for sharing your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the Dragonfly and we appreciate your feedback and recommendation!

Reviewed March 9, 2020 via mobile

Highly recommend this place when visiting tamarindo. It’s a lot off the main drag but not hard to find. The food was amazing and so was the atmosphere.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
269danielled, Owner at Dragonfly Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2020

Thank you kindly for sharing your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at the Dragonfly and we truly appreciate your feedback and recommendation!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Ten North Tamarindo Beach Hotel
246 reviews
.09 miles away
Hotel Nahua
204 reviews
.10 miles away
Hotel Arco Iris
630 reviews
.12 miles away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
491 reviews
.13 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Antichi Sapori Sicilian Cuisine
613 reviews
.10 miles away
La Bodega
788 reviews
.08 miles away
Green Papaya Taco Bar
2,280 reviews
.07 miles away
La Esquina Restaurant & Pizzeria
352 reviews
.14 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Crossfit Surfside
13 reviews
.13 miles away
Volcano Brewing Company
109 reviews
.16 miles away
Tamarindo Farmers Market
119 reviews
.06 miles away
Tamarindo Tennis & Pickleball Club
9 reviews
.16 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lkholloway
January 17, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Jojo170227 | Reviewed this property |
I’m not sure where your resort is. But this restaurant is just off the Main Street!
0
Votes
265brandtl
December 24, 2017|
Answer
Response from dani-kris_dragonfly | Property representative |
Yes, we will be open our regular hours 5:30 - 10:00pm, please let us know if you would like to book a reservation, thank you.
0
Votes
robertrI225HU
August 22, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from dani-kris_dragonfly | Property representative |
Hi there, it is approximately a 1h15 minutes drive from the Secrets Papagayo Hotel to Tamarindo. We hope you can join us!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing