We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

El Coconut

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican, International, Vegetarian Friendly
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Main Street | Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
+506 2653 0086
Today
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

465 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 417: English reviews
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I had a couple of the fish dinners and and found the presentation and taste to be top notch. You can just sit and watch the traffic go by while you are served quality food and the staff was very attentive.

Helpful?
Thank basia3222
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

The stuffed lobster with shrimp, mussels, calamari and mahi was amazing! I would definitely recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
katharina_elcoconut, Owner at El Coconut, responded to this review

Thank you so much :) Yes, the Neptune Treasure Chest has become a favorite. As we say: For one true seafood lover or two to share. Thank you for recommending us. More 

1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wife and I went for lunch with our daughter...$85 lunch and we only had water to drink...the food was ok at best...but for the money the worst place we ate in tamarindo...maybe best to only have dinner here...but there are much better places to eat...such as Roof or Patagonia.

Helpful?
Thank Mike W
katharina_elcoconut, Propietario at El Coconut, responded to this review

Dear Mike, I have been trying to reach you via mail/ private message through TripAdvisor, unfortunately I have had no success. I have been looking through the bills of the last month and I do not find any that match the price of $85 that you are mentionning for a lunch of 3pax with water. The closed I found was... More 

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

The owner came by and offered to help us with the menu choices and wine pairings. The Staff was very attentive to all our needs, and we had a large party. All the food came out hot and delicious; a most savory meal! Go and have your expectations surpassed.

Helpful?
Thank gerriekblair
katharina_elcoconut, Owner at El Coconut, responded to this review

So kind :) Our goal is to reach exactly what you said "Go and have your expectations surpassed". I am very glad we succeeded with you! Thank you so much for this compliment. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

A nicely appointed restaurant just away from the hubbub of the main area of town. Very tasty and well presented food delightfully served. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Pablocar_11
katharina_elcoconut, Owner at El Coconut, responded to this review

Thank you so much :) More 

Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly efficient staff, good choice on the menu. We both had a seafood dish, which was very good. Would highly recommend a visit :)

Helpful?
Thank LouVowles
katharina_elcoconut, Propietario at El Coconut, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and for recommending us. I hope we will be seeing you back on your next visit :) More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I had the privilege of eating their Lobster and my spouse had the steak. One of the best food, best drinks and best entertainment that we experienced in all of Costa Rica. This was our 5th time to Costa Rica so this says a lot. Fell in the with the pleasant owner, how could you not. Thank you from Fort... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cecile B
katharina_elcoconut, Owner at El Coconut, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this beautiful review :) You sure did but a smile on my face. I hope we will be seeing you back in Tamarindo and in El coconut soon again! More 

Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice ambience in this place. Well north of the mAin area of the town centre...count on a 10min walk. We ordered off the set menu, $29 tax in for 2 of dessert, main, starter. Shared the Miss Piggy salad - orange, avocado, bacon - quite good. My wife had the fillet with mushroom sauce & loved it. Well cooked, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank chutski
katharina_elcoconut, Propietario at El Coconut, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this review Do believe me when I say that I am truely sorry for service lacking towards the end of your meal. The service should follow through on the whole dining experience! Staff meeting today and hopefully we will improve thanks to your comments :) More 

Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the outside, it was just another beachside restaurant in a Costa Rican surfer's town, Tamarindo. However, the food, the wine, and the service were worthy of any high class French restaurant. My tenderloin steak was cooked to perfection in every sense and my wife's chicken and shrimp on rice was just as good. Service was quick and attentive. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank A2ZWorldTravLR
katharina_elcoconut, Propietario at El Coconut, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your oh so positive feed-back. You were a pleasure to receive and I do hope we will be seeing more of you down here! PS: maybe even in your convertable ;) More 

Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile

Service was prompt and friendly. Food was reasonably priced and tasty. Shrimp with avocado appetizer very tasty. Owner was attentive to her guests All in all a good experience

Helpful?
Thank Karen M
katharina_elcoconut, Owner at El Coconut, responded to this review

Thank you so much. I am glad you enjoyed your evening with us and I hope we will have the pleasure of receiving you soon again :) More 

Travelers who viewed El Coconut also viewed

Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to El Coconut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Seafood, Central American, Costa Rican, International, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street | Tamarindo Beach, Tamarindo 50309, Costa Rica
  • Location: Central America  >  Costa Rica  >  Province of Guanacaste  >  Tamarindo
  • Phone Number: +506 2653 0086
Description
This setting could just as well be in LA or Paris; beautiful teak terracing, all handmade wood furnishing and the shining cobber from the bar and the lamps give that warmth and good feeling we all enjoy. The wait staff takes pride in being members of Team Coconut for years. It is their personalized attention that permits them to remember each client and their likings. Nowhere else will you feel as Welcome and Well attended as here. Every day the same words are repeated "The Client is the King". At El Coconut you will also find a truly professional kitchen where the main ingredients are "Heart & Soul". Who could be able to resist an Avocado filled with sauteed Shrimps, A Tropical Lobster prepared with fresh pineapple, raisins and ginger or not to forget the Surf & Turf even big enough to satisfy the hungriest surfer. Where else in Costa Rica would you find a temperate wine cellar of almost 1000 bottles? Nowhere that we know of. Our wine selection goes from the easy drinking Latin American table wines to finer selections such as Chateau Neuf du Pape, Penfold 389 and many more. Our seating capacity is more than 100. We are used to and truly enjoy arranging your special events; be that "The President's Club", incentive dinners, rehearsal dinners or weddings. Let us make your night that special night.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from El Coconut staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?