We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Original Oyster House

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
3733 Battleship Pkwy, HWY 90, Spanish Fort, AL 36527-9335
+1 251-626-2188
Website
Today
11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Thu 11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 10:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

682 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 674: English reviews
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2016 via mobile

Delish! So fresh ! We went at 5 o'clock and had a 5 min wait! Best seafood ever! The grilled oysters looked great but we did not try them this time.... Had crab cakes and grilled shrimp!

Helpful?
Thank sshoy
Cecilia M, Guest Relations Manager at Original Oyster House, responded to this review

Hi there, So glad you enjoyed your crab cakes and grilled shrimp! We hope you'll come back soon and try those grilled oysters! Thank you for the kind words. More 

Madison, Mississippi
Level Contributor
235 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

Nice restaurant. We go mainly for the chargrilled oysters which are great. Whitefish was very good. Gumbo not great. Waitstaff was very friendly. Great place for a family.

Helpful?
Thank CPARebel
Cecilia M, Guest Relations Manager at Original Oyster House, responded to this review

Hi there, We love our char grilled oysters and are glad you do too. We are sorry that the gumbo wasn't what you were looking for, but happy that you still enjoyed your visit. Original Oyster House loves entertaining families and we hope yours will come back and dine with us again soon. More 

Grove Hill, Alabama
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2016

This place has the best Seafood on the Alabama Coast. I have never been disappointed here or at there other locations. My favorite is their fried oysters, as you can have them crisp or chewy. They have very good Poboys, and Seafood Platters. The catch of the day is always fresh fish that is great.

Helpful?
Thank 416ronaldw
Cecilia M, Guest Relations Manager at Original Oyster House, responded to this review

Hi there, That is such a nice compliment! We are glad to hear that you enjoy our fried oysters as much as we do. Can't wait to see you again on your next visit! More 

Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2016 via mobile

Went here instead of our usual due to the enormous crowd at the other restaurant due to it being Father's Day. If you ever land here order the wood fired oysters! They were exceptional! The mediocre rating is for the overcooked stuffed whole flounder , the tiny crab claws & the lack of attention by the servers. Not all our... More 

Helpful?
Thank drjsp
Cecilia M, Guest Relations Manager at Original Oyster House, responded to this review

Hello there, We apologize for your less than positive experience while dining at our restaurant. We're dedicated to providing customers with the best service, experience, and food possible and we apologize that was not what you and your family experienced. While we're happy to see you enjoyed the fire-grilled oysters, we're just as disappointed that you didn't like the flounder,... More 

Clinton, Mississippi
Level Contributor
130 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2016

The Original Oyster House in Mobile and its sister restaurant in Gulf Shores Alabama provide consistently good service and food. We enjoy lunch at the Mobile site on our visits to and from Gulf Shores or Destin. The restaurant is very busy on weekends so if you plan to stop here for a Noon Lunch, be ready for a wait... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert H
Cecilia M, Guest Relations Manager at Original Oyster House, responded to this review

Hi Robert, We are happy to hear that you enjoy both of our locations! Thank you so much for being so kind, we work hard to provide our customers with consistency. It is great to be a favorite lunch spot, we hope to see you again soon! More 

Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2016

For various reasons we ate at the Original Oyster House again today for the first time in several months. The food is delicious!. I had a shrimp po' boy, my wife had white fish Florentine, and our granddaughter had the chicken nuggets appetizer with a baked potato as her meal. All was top notch! The waitress, Karen, was excellent --... More 

Helpful?
Thank Justice M
Cecilia M, Guest Relations Manager at Original Oyster House, responded to this review

Hi Justice, We will have to pass your kind words on to Karen and tell her to keep up the good work. We are so happy that you came back and dined with us again, and that your family really enjoyed their meal! It means a lot to hear that our customers appreciate all that we do at Original Oyster... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2016

Great menu, food and service were excellent, and there is even a play area below the restaurant to keep your kids occupied if you have to wait on your table.

Helpful?
Thank Nicole T
Cecilia M, Guest Relations Manager at Original Oyster House, responded to this review

Hi Nicole, So happy you enjoyed your meal. We love accommodating all of our customers especially the little ones. We hope you will come see us again soon. More 

Gilbertown, Alabama
Level Contributor
108 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2016

Ate here yesterday with my wife and what a treat we had. I ordered the grilled crab cake green tomato stack and it was a symphony for my taste buds. the cheese grits were delightful as were the turnips. My wife had a oyster po-boy that was out of this world. I had the peanut butter pie and my wife... More 

Helpful?
Thank clintfranks
Cecilia M, Guest Relations Manager at Original Oyster House, responded to this review

Hi Clint, So nice to hear that you and your wife we able to enjoy a variety of our menu! Thank you for being so kind, we work hard to keep our customers taste buds' as happy as yours! We will have to tell Melody to keep up the good work. We hope you'll be back again soon! More 

Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

The restaurant is located in a cool place. Great views of the water. Started with fried pickles. I had the Bubba Gump seafood platter (shrimp, and shrimp, with a side of shrimp). Also had a crab cakes and fish in the platter. I finished with a cheesecake. The bill was $44 plus tax. Not bad for a large seafood platter... More 

Helpful?
Thank timothy h
Cecilia M, Guest Relations Manager at Original Oyster House, responded to this review

Hi Timothy, We love it when our customers save room for dessert! We hope you enjoyed your cheese cake! Thank you for the kind words we hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

Oysters were terrible even the third batch after we complained ! This was at one time a great place to eat , now its terrible ! Should have known something was wrong because very few cars in parking lot !

Helpful?
Thank Bigdaddyjohnboy
Cecilia M, Guest Relations Manager at Original Oyster House, responded to this review

Hi John, We apologize that you didn't enjoy the oysters. We locally source our seafood to ensure quality and freshness and we apologize that was not your experience. Please know we take all of our customers' feedback seriously and are looking into your concerns. In an effort to earn back your trust, please consider allowing our restaurant manager to contact... More 

Travelers who viewed Original Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Original Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$4 - $20
Cuisine
American, Seafood, Grill, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Free Wifi
Good for
Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 9:30 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 10:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3733 Battleship Pkwy, HWY 90, Spanish Fort, AL 36527-9335
  • Location: United States  >  Alabama (AL)  >  Spanish Fort
  • Phone Number: +1 251-626-2188
Description
Opening its first location in Gulf Shores in 1983, the Original Oyster House restaurant quickly expanded and opened its second restaurant two years later on the Mobile Causeway. It soon became known as a Gulf Coast favorite for panoramic waterfront sunsets on the Mobile Delta, fresh Gulf Coast seafood and award-winning gumbo. Classics such as hand-battered fried crab claws, blackened Mahi and fire-grilled Gulf oysters kept locals and visitors coming back for more. A visit usually includes kids on the playground, seafood platters and Southern hospitality. Along with its take-out, homemade desserts and seafood gumbo, the Original Oyster House has been sending alligators home in kid's meals, and gives back to our community in sponsorships and donations. It has been recognized for its environmental practices including converting its fry oil into biofuel to transport, its solar water heaters and the only wind turbine on the Causeway, which generates electricity when winds reach 8 miles an hour or more. in 2016, the Original Oyster House piloted Alabama's FIRST Oyster Shell Recycling Program.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Original Oyster House and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Chattanooga, Tennessee
4 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Original Oyster House staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?