We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

German, European, Central European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options

Location and contact

4.6 miles from U.S. Space and Rocket Center
Improve this listing
About
Hildegard's German Cuisine takes pride in serving meals that are freshly prepared, perfectly seasoned, and remind you of dishes served in your Oma's kitchen. You will never leave Hildegard's hungry! Pair your meal with one of our many German weine or biere, and don't forget to check out our decadent dessert case. If there is anything we can do to make your visit with us more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to ask. We look forward to serving you today and for many days to come.
PRICE RANGE
$10 - $21
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
CUISINES
German, European, Central European
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Free Wifi
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveler rating
277
64
19
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
277
64
19
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews schnitzel black forest cake asparagus soup nutella cheesecake reuben kraut veal bread basket rouladen potatoes cakes ham fries red cabbage wonderful meal service was excellent visit huntsville
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

We went with a group of friends for a lunch date. They took great care of of everyone in the group and our server was amazing. The food was authentic, fresh, delicious and came in a timely manner. We had a great lunch date and...will be back soon for sure!More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 days ago

Hildegard German Cuisine was great, very clean and very friendly. Didn't take long for food to come to table. I would recommend anytime.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Terrible! If you’re looking for German food, look someplace else. My wife and I ordered jager schnitzel, Colby mack & cheese, spätzle and red sauerkraut. The schnitzels were extremely thin (1/8”), so much so that the breading was thicker than the meat and as you...would expect tasted like breaded leather. The Colby mack & cheese needed cheese, you would think with cheese mentioned twice in the name that you would be able to taste some in the dish. The spätzle included a half dollar size lump that I cut in six pieces and tastes doughy. The coke and sauerkraut (out of ajar) was good. All for $37 and change, not including the tip. I recommend avoiding this restaurant.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Amy M, Owner at Hildegard's German Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Mr. Tremblay, I'm more than sorry that you had such a bad experience here, and I appreciate your candid review. I can assure that the food you were served is not what we usually deliver, and it appears that our preparation and QC methods need...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had a Reuben and it was phenomenal! The meats was tender and perfect the bred was to die for and the presentation and service was excellent! If you got a craving for German cuisine I urge you to stop by!

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed November 29, 2020 via mobile

Out for dinner at Hildegard's...OMG best Deutsch food we have had since leaving Germany! Every dish was amazing. We tried Bavarian schnitzel, Chicken cordon blue, Goulash soup, spatzel, potatoe salad & red cabbage. Even bread basket was decimated. Took coconut cake home for later. Accompanied...by German beer & wine, we were happy campers! Our server Katie was super awesome. Restraunt interior was tastful, not kitschy. Highly recommended dining establishment!! Will plan to return next time in town.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
D2724LZamym, Owner at Hildegard's German Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2020

Dear spun69, Many thanks for posting this for us! So happy to read that you enjoyed your time here. Please come see us again soon! Sincerely, Amy Miller

Reviewed November 14, 2020

After reading the reviews, my wife and I drove from Trussville Al (90mi) because we had not eaten German cuisine in many years. It was delicious and next time we’ll bring some friends with us. Great job by the wait staff also.

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
D2724LZamym, Owner at Hildegard's German Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2020

Hello, trikebutch2017, This is such a great compliment, and I very much appreciate you taking the time to drive here, and to post this for us. Please do come again soon! Sincerely, Amy Miller

Reviewed October 20, 2020 via mobile

I wanted to try different dishes and I’m so glad they had a sampler plate. I ordered Hildegard's House Sampler that had Chicken Schnitzel, Kassler Rippchen, and Bierbrat. I ordered the spicy soup which was good but not spicy at all. It’s all relative and...I like really spicy things. Overall I would order it again. Nice 3-4 outdoor tables as well.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
ericmJ1790IE, Owner at Hildegard's German Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2020

Hello deltaman, Thank you for this nice review. I'm glad you enjoyed your meal! We have a new sampler now, which includes soup or salad, Polish sausage and kraut, Goulasch and spatzle, and a Rahm Pils schnitzel, plus your choice of another side. Hope you'll...More

Reviewed September 22, 2020

Back to Huntsville for surgical sutures removal, consolation was dining in at Hildegard's. We both had reuben sandwich w mashed potatoes w brown gravy on the side. As usual, delicious. Finished off by sharing a slice of Black Forest cake. The wonderous Katy wasn't there...because she works the evening shift but, as usual, the service was great. This is my 20th review of Hildegard's, the number being so low because for us it's a 140 mile round trip.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
D2724LZamym, Owner at Hildegard's German Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2020

Thank you so much for your continued support, sir! We appreciate you very much. Looking forward to your next visit! Sincerely, Amy Miller

Reviewed August 18, 2020

We wanted to try something new and different and I'm so glad we came here. No idea what to get, but my boyfriend loves mushrooms and our server Kaitlenn knew exactly what to recommend! He got the Rham Pils and loved it. Im not big...on mushrooms but she recommended the cucumber salad and it was delicious! With everything going on in the world it feels great to be able to be taken care of as much as we were. I work in the restruant industry and I'm very nitpicky at times when it comes to service and Kaitlenn really blew me away with her energy and bubbly personality. We ordered the blueberry cheesecake as well, and had to get another one to go, because it was TOO good. I'll definitely be coming back and will ask to be seated with her again, and I'm sure she'll help us pick out something else tasty to try.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
ericmJ1790IE, Owner at Hildegard's German Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2020

Dawn, Thank you so much for this review, and apologies for the delayed response! I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your time here and that Kaitlenn took good care of you. Hope you'll come again soon! Sincerely, Amy Miller

Reviewed August 18, 2020

Going to be honest, I couldn't decide what sausage to get but Kaitlenn told me about Schlachteplatte with three different kinds of sausage, which was an amazing suggestion because it all tasted amazing! Kudos to the kitchen for the amazing food and thank you Kaitlenn...for the bomb suggestion!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
ericmJ1790IE, Owner at Hildegard's German Cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2020

Hello Meerkat, Apologies for the delayed response to your nice review. I'm happy that your enjoyed your meal and that Kaitlenn's suggestion made it that much better! We look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Amy Miller

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Homewood Suites by Hilton Huntsville-Downtown
701 reviews
.81 miles away
AC Hotel Huntsville Downtown
50 reviews
1.18 miles away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
1,668 reviews
1.23 miles away
SpringHill Suites Huntsville Downtown
463 reviews
1.36 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Ruth's Chris Steak House
331 reviews
.79 miles away
Farm Burger Huntsville
124 reviews
.84 miles away
Mason Dixon Bakery - A Gluten Free Bakery.
55 reviews
.05 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Huntsville Museum of Art
116 reviews
1.23 miles away
Land Trust of North Alabama
44 reviews
1.11 miles away
Earlyworks Museum Complex
86 reviews
1.23 miles away
Hays Nature Preserve
34 reviews
.75 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
moodymolavi
February 10, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Amy M | Property representative |
My apologies for the delay! I just saw this question. We do have gluten-friendly options here at Hildegard's. All our schnitzels can be made with rice flour, and we cook them in a separate pan from any schnitzels that have... More
0
Votes
Temblor123
January 25, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Amy M | Property representative |
I'm so happy to hear that you'll be back! Sorry for the circumstances though - best wishes for your speedy recovery! Is it possible that you will be in town Saturday, the 11th? I ask because we are open 11:00-8:30, Tuesday... More
0
Votes
HeidiR922
October 1, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Amy M | Property representative |
Hello, Heidi R. My apologies for the delayed response - I just saw this inquiry. At this time we don't have Tshirts, but if you'd like to provide your contact info I'll be sure to let you know if/when we do! Please come... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing