We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Asian, Soups, Tibetan
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (816)
Filter reviews
754 results
Traveler rating
474
195
53
13
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
474
195
53
13
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews soup noodles spring rolls chicken chowmein tibetan food small place family run restaurant wai wai taxi stand gandhi road delicious food worth the wait great taste must visit place momo veg
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a lovely place to visit for lunch or dinner in Darjeeling. This is located in Gandhi Road . It’s near the Club Taxi Stand. Try their Momos , Chilly Pork and the Thukpas. It’s not that cheap these days . The place is...average is ambience but clean . The food is simply wow . This is a must visit place .More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good food, great taste. If you are Pure Vegitarian, tell them they will take care of it or advise other food items. Good hospitality by staffs.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed April 21, 2020

Pay no attention to the (one or two submission) reviewers that rate this cafe poorly. Owners are in the store, taking orders and making sure the food is hot and tasty. This is a small and busy restaurant with tourists and locals packed in to...share tables, many smiles, and a great atmosphere. It's not a quiet or intimate setting....but it's the real deal. We arrived early to get a table and were seated immediately. Menus were in our hands seconds later and the owner explained some of the dishes we asked about. 5 minutes later the food was served. We ate here twice. Wouldn't miss it the next time we visit....and they don't take American Express! Excellent experience. Bring cash.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 28, 2020

It is a small restaurant so it gets very crowded and you may need to share the table with strangers, but it's not a disadvantage for solo travellers like me. Food was delicious - I had a huge platter of momos and a thukpa (noodle...soup) - both recommended, and not pricey at all.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 7, 2020 via mobile

The restaurant is petit and bijou. The food is delicious, in a intimate atmosphere. The staff delivered a polite professional service. The steamed chicken momos and the chicken vegetable soup was delicious.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 5, 2020

I wonder y this restaurant is so much hyped...the food is not at good and under cooked meat...had a terrible experience...

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Trek56595880043, General Manager at Kunga Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2020

Dear. Mam thanks for the right every people have there own personal taste and u did not like it

Reviewed February 1, 2020

The owner/staff of the place is a really rude lady. We had ordered some dishes and were sitting in the restaurant when I wanted to order one last dish and the lady blatantly refused it saying the kitchen is closed because it was already 6pm....I requested for this one last dish but she was very adamant and rude about it. Also the food was not at all of good quality and the place was filled with cockroaches. When I wanted to give a polite feedback to the owner she was so rude about it saying, "I'm not interested". Hence, I'm writing this review. I think there are better places in Darjeeling to try out the tibetian foods.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Trek56595880043, Manager at Kunga Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2020

Dear mam. I would like to say that despite of the resto being closed we gave u as a last customer and when we told u. To order before coz we had no stalk so that was the reason and nxt time when visisting small...More

Reviewed January 13, 2020

We ate here on our innkeeper's recommendation when we wanted a more authentic regional meal. It was a cool, raw day so it was wonderful to sit, have some tea and wait for the fresh, warm food. The place is tiny and tight, with people...coming and going constantly, but the momos were fresh (they told us they'd ran out when we tried to order more and another order would be 45+ minutes). Food was plentiful, tasty, and full of flavor. We have a food allergy, and we were able to communicate it easily.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Trek56595880043, Owner at Kunga Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2020

Thank u so much for ur comment

Reviewed January 4, 2020

It's quite a small hotel, with 15-16 people capacity. Visited first day, had too much of wait time. Went again second day, got seats. Ordered sweet corn soup, chicken fried rice, thukpa, chicken momos - family liked it all. Portions were larger than we expected,...so they packed stuff we couldn't finish. Will rate it overall as good experience, though service speed could have been a tad better!More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 1, 2020

Crammed place, you do not know when one table ends and another begins. However, there is a huge rush always with people waiting outside. We ordered chicken noodles and chicken steamed momo. Portions are good. However, taste is nothing special. One time visit is OK.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Treebo Trend Dekeling Hotel
747 reviews
.01 miles away
OYO 5228 Seven Seas
41 reviews
.02 miles away
Udaan Dekeling Resort, Darjeeling
801 reviews
.02 miles away
CHAS Sanderling Hotel
47 reviews
.06 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Sonam's Kitchen
506 reviews
.11 miles away
Tom & Jerry's
196 reviews
.12 miles away
Glenary's
2,638 reviews
.10 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Dali Monastery
96 reviews
.27 miles away
Himalayan Tibet Museum
72 reviews
.15 miles away
Lloyd Botanical Garden
56 reviews
.07 miles away
Aloobari Gompa Monastery
20 reviews
.14 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
debapriyaghosh
February 9, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Phurba T | Reviewed this property |
No cash only
0
Votes
tipu2u
October 11, 2016|
AnswerShow all 14 answers
Response from nirmaljita | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
Ranajit R
December 17, 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Sutirtho G | Reviewed this property |
steamed and fried momos, friedrice,chicken wangtong soup
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing