We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House

$$ - $$$Asian, , Chinese
33 Deveni Rajasinghe Mawatha | (War Cemetery Road), Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
+94 81 2 384082
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good28%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“rice” (19 reviews)
“curries” (8 reviews)
Closes in 25 min
All hours
CUISINES
Asian, Sri Lankan, Chinese, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Halal
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
33 Deveni Rajasinghe Mawatha | (War Cemetery Road), Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 80 of 186 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2015

We had dinner here after seeing the Kandyan Dancers. The location is lovely, perched overlooking greenery and a tumbling river below - and that's about it - food is average and over-priced - such a pity for such a nice location.

Thank Pavalia
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2015

Thank you for your review. Not sure what you were expecting. The prices are on the menu. Not sure what you have based your comparison on and no detail of the food you had in order to address any short comings. Sorry you were dissapointed.

Reviewed July 9, 2015

We had a good lunch at honeypot. The best thing was we were able to sit out and enjoy a view of the hills and the river flowing next to this place. The service is a little slow, but we didn't mind, as the sound...More

Thank Sonal251
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2015

Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate your comments very much.

Reviewed June 20, 2015

After the sight seeing at the very busy and noisy city centre of Kandy we decided to go for somewhere quiet for the dinner.The restaurant has so peaceful and calm atmosphere with a great river view from the table, exactly what we were looking for....More

Thank ybb106
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2015

thank you for your very kind and encouraging feedback of your experience at Honeypot. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post your comments.

Reviewed June 7, 2015 via mobile

Calm and quiet surrounding with the soothing sound of the river. Reasonably priced menu with good varieties, especially desserts. Very helpful staff willing to explain all dishes served. Quick service.

Thank Nimaldrin
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2015

Thank you very much for your feedback.

Reviewed June 7, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and ate dinner and breakfast here . The room was tired and in need of a bit of an upgrade especially the cracked toilet seat but the staff were so nice and eager to please that I feel mean...More

1  Thank Jennifer R
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2015

Thank you for your review. We are pleased about some of the aspects you have raised. We are pleased that you were happy with our staff and service. Indeed we are pleased that you reported about the toilet seat so that we could rectify this...More

Reviewed June 5, 2015 via mobile

Had a very pleasant lunch of Sri Lankan curry delicacies. We ate out on the balcony with a lovely view and sound of the river going over Rapids. No hesitation in recommending and prices very reasonable.

Thank James G
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2015

Thank you very much for your feedback of your experience at Honeypot. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments.

Reviewed May 30, 2015

Bad service, their food came to the table too late. I don't know why people have put so many good reviews and why it is ranked 5 I don't recommend anyone to go there and too many flies coming to our table NEEDS A LOT...More

Thank Gihansa
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2015

We have looked into this review in more detail and made a complaint to trip advisor as we have now identified that you have never been to our restaurant and you are not a genuine visitor with genuine intensions.Your comments are very generalised and no...More

Reviewed May 21, 2015

I was there with one of my clients for the lunch at Honey Pot Restaurant. The superb service with smiley faces of stewards given us the real welcome and served us the Sri Lankan traditional lunch with more varieties of vegetables which we ordered. The...More

1  Thank isuru381
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2015

Thank you very much for your feedback in relation to your visit to Honeypot. Our staff are delighted with your comments which is means everything to us.

Reviewed May 7, 2015 via mobile

Very good ambience. ..nice location...small restaurant but awsome food...infact while moving towards nuwara eliya we took break at this restaurant. ..we were not supposed to have lunch since had heavy breakfast..we ordered rice n curry for namesake but after tasted we went for another plate..good...More

1  Thank Santosh A
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2015

Thank you very much for your very encouraging review. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments

Reviewed May 1, 2015 via mobile

Great food.awesome location.....reasonably priced. 3 cheers to the whole team...keep it up.....must try the rice chicken

1  Thank samrat c
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Honeypot.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Barista - Peradeniya
18 reviews
.85 miles away
Peradeniya Rest House
64 reviews
.24 miles away
Kandyan Arts Restaurant
168 reviews
.64 miles away
Tavern 29 Rooftop Bar
12 reviews
.13 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Oak Ray Creations Batik
11 reviews
.42 miles away
Royal Botanical Gardens
2,760 reviews
.84 miles away
Commonwealth War Cemetery
378 reviews
.39 miles away
New Ranweli Spice Garden
304 reviews
1.00 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ageely
September 12, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 33honeypotbear | Property representative |
Thank you for your inquiry. Yes we have a halal menu, but I am unable to attach it to this post as trip advisor does not permit any attachments on this. Perhaps if you send me a mail I can send you the menu and or pictures... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$2 - $5
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Delivery, Reservations
Good for
Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 33 Deveni Rajasinghe Mawatha | (War Cemetery Road), Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
  • Location: Asia  >  Sri Lanka  >  Central Province  >  Kandy District  >  Kandy
  • Phone Number: +94 81 2 384082
  • E-mail
Description
The Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House is an Eighty seater family Restaurant located 1.5Km from the Kandy town centre.(About 5-8 minutes from the central Town Clock Tower by TukTuk). It is a great place to enjoy a meal overlooking the river and mountain range and indeed away from the pollution and noise of the town centre, yet not far from all the sight seeing places and attractions of the historical City. We offer a child and family friendly atmosphere. We serve hot and cold food from authentic Srilankan curries to fish&chips,Seafood dishes,fried rice, noodles, snacks, sandwiches, Halal dishes and many more. We also serve a selection of fresh tropical fruit juices along with hot drinks too. All our dishes are prepared to a very high standard. Our Prices are very low, whilst the service we offer is like no other. We also provide a free WiFi service to all our guests. The Honeypot also has four Guest Rooms which are clean, simple and competitively priced. All rooms are en-suite with a/c and fans. All rooms have a private balcony overlooking the river. The Honeypot prides itself for its simple original building design & deco, constructed utilising local material.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing