We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House

$$ - $$$Asian, , Chinese
33 Deveni Rajasinghe Mawatha | (War Cemetery Road), Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
+94 81 2 384082
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good29%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“rice” (19 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Asian, Sri Lankan, Chinese, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Halal
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
33 Deveni Rajasinghe Mawatha | (War Cemetery Road), Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 60 of 185 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2015 via mobile

Your guide will suggest this place, and you would do well to say no. The food is overpriced and does not taste good. The view is decent but doesn't make up for the bad food.

Thank aviral71
Reviewed November 25, 2015

Stayed here 2 nights in November. Had problem with shower which they replaced. We had reported issue in morning and returned that evening to find them still working on it and would we like coffee while waiting. The only 10 mins turned into 75 mins...More

Thank dougie_martin
Reviewed November 8, 2015

A pleasant restaurant overlooking the river. Food is well prepared and staff friendly and courteous. Prices reasonable. Smokers on verandah can be an issue as smoke can enter the eating area, if this is a bother advise management I did.

Thank poppy_gsandycreekqld
Reviewed October 29, 2015

Nice location with a view of the River and generous portions. Food quality and service is quite good and worth the money,

Thank suresh n
Reviewed October 19, 2015

Called in here for lunch and totally enjoyed it so we came back again a couple of days later. Top location beside the river. Good menu and food was great with cold beer as well. Clean toilets a bonus.

Thank AussieTricia
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2015

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your visit here. We sincerely look forward to your next visit here.

Reviewed October 18, 2015

When we got to kandy, we were looking for places to stay using our phone but internet service was poor. So we were looking for places without a reservation (we went during rainy season so our plans changed based on weather) we felt adventurous this...More

Thank aveerapp
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback of your visit to Honeypot. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed the service and food we offer. Good luck with the rest of your tour.

Reviewed October 14, 2015

I've been many times in this tiny small restaurant with my clients and my family too.the place is in the Mahaweli river bank close to Kandy -peradeniya main road.good cool place Evan with out air-conditioning.served food are always freshly made at the time.friendly staff,good and...More

Thank upalim
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2015

Wow.. Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your visit to Honbeypot.

Reviewed October 3, 2015

Went here for lunch after visiting the botanical Gardens. We sat on the balcony overlooking the river and a great view. The food here chicken biriyani, rice and curry sandwiches chicken noodles were some of the food we had here, All tasted very very good...More

Thank Niroshana K
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2015

Thank you very much for your review. It gives us great encouragement to read your comments and indeed we are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience at Honeypot. We sincerely look forward to your next visit.

Reviewed September 28, 2015

I have never ever eaten a Chicken fried noodles and a Devilled beef dish as delicious as I had a few evenings back in Kandy!. Large quantity. No trace of MSG. Succulently sliced beef which can be made super spicy or gentlly spiced for your...More

Thank PastorVasanta
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2015

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a feedback of your experience at Honeypot. We are truly delighted to have been able to serve you.

Reviewed September 22, 2015 via mobile

We went there for lunch before taking the train back to Colombo. If you are afraid of food hygene, this is probably a safe place. The food we had (Grilled Chicken & Grilled Talapath) was unspectacular,and below average compared to all the many other places....More

Thank sprecks57
33honeypotbear, Manager at Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2015

Thank you very much for your recent review. We are somewhat disappointed that you have not enjoyed your meal. We have looked into the issues you had raised and confirm that your dish was no different to the many dishes we serve everyday and indeed...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Barista - Peradeniya
17 reviews
.85 miles away
Peradeniya Rest House
64 reviews
.24 miles away
Kandyan Arts Restaurant
164 reviews
.64 miles away
OpenRice Sri Lanka
22 reviews
.91 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Oak Ray Creations Batik
10 reviews
.42 miles away
Royal Botanical Gardens
2,741 reviews
.84 miles away
Commonwealth War Cemetery
373 reviews
.39 miles away
New Ranweli Spice Garden
300 reviews
1.00 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ageely
September 12, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 33honeypotbear | Property representative |
Thank you for your inquiry. Yes we have a halal menu, but I am unable to attach it to this post as trip advisor does not permit any attachments on this. Perhaps if you send me a mail I can send you the menu and or pictures... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$2 - $5
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Delivery, Reservations
Good for
Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
8:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 33 Deveni Rajasinghe Mawatha | (War Cemetery Road), Kandy 20000, Sri Lanka
  • Location: Asia  >  Sri Lanka  >  Central Province  >  Kandy District  >  Kandy
  • Phone Number: +94 81 2 384082
  • E-mail
Description
The Honeypot Restaurant & Guest House is an Eighty seater family Restaurant located 1.5Km from the Kandy town centre.(About 5-8 minutes from the central Town Clock Tower by TukTuk). It is a great place to enjoy a meal overlooking the river and mountain range and indeed away from the pollution and noise of the town centre, yet not far from all the sight seeing places and attractions of the historical City. We offer a child and family friendly atmosphere. We serve hot and cold food from authentic Srilankan curries to fish&chips,Seafood dishes,fried rice, noodles, snacks, sandwiches, Halal dishes and many more. We also serve a selection of fresh tropical fruit juices along with hot drinks too. All our dishes are prepared to a very high standard. Our Prices are very low, whilst the service we offer is like no other. We also provide a free WiFi service to all our guests. The Honeypot also has four Guest Rooms which are clean, simple and competitively priced. All rooms are en-suite with a/c and fans. All rooms have a private balcony overlooking the river. The Honeypot prides itself for its simple original building design & deco, constructed utilising local material.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing