We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$8 - $30
CUISINES
Latin, Caribbean, Seafood, Fusion, Central American
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Sponsored by: The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Best view on the Island
1. Best view on the Island
"restaurant has a lovely view and a wide array of comfortable seating"
Casey H
See reviews that mention Best view on the Island
2. Atenttion and quality
2. Atenttion and quality
"Highly recommended, you will not be disappointed"
stephen g
See reviews that mention Atenttion and quality
3. Reasonable prices, good food
3. Reasonable prices, good food
"Good food, reasonable prices"
copperrosemaiden
See reviews that mention price
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveler rating
183
46
18
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
183
46
18
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ceviche plantain chips awesome food tranquilseas island beach
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed March 12, 2024

Amazing breakfast was really high quality and beautifully presented. This was a really high end breakfast experience at a normal breakfast price. Relax and watch the reef while you wait. Chill dive shop below the restaurant will get you out snorkeling at a great value...in a small group or even alone.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pavel Smítal, Owner at The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Fantastic review, thank you. We are overjoyed you had such a great experience with the restaurant's food, setting, and service. We look forward to welcoming you again. Tropical regards, Pavel

Restaurant's Favorite
Reviewed March 6, 2023 via mobile

My husband and I are staying just down the beach from the Sunken Fish. We have had several meals there and everything has been delicious. I highly recommend the the Guatemalan ceviche is amazing⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️. The view is stunning. 🏝️👍🏻 The staff is excellent. Treat yourself...to a delicious meal. 🏝️🇭🇳🏝️😴🏝️🇭🇳More

Date of visit: March 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jordan G, General Manager at The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2023

Thank you for your amazing review and recommendation. Our staff take pride in there service and preperation and look forward to welcoming you back again. Tropical regards, Jordan

Reviewed February 13, 2024

So we wanted to write this review, not just because the food, drinks and environment were amazing, but because of what happened after we left the restaurant. We were driving a small Kia Picanto and our GPS indicated we could keep driving down the beach...to exit to the main road. We ended up beaching our car :-( My business companion ran bank to the Sunken Fish and three gentleman from the kitchen came out to help us, smiling, with no questions asked. With some serious digging and pushing, we were able to get the car out. More than the excellent food and drinks and stunning location, we were so touched by the generosity and kindness of the staff. Please pass on our deepest thanks to these three gentleman and please support this restaurant!!More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jordan Griffiths, General Manager at The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2024

Thank you for writing such king words not just about the restaurant but the staffs willingness to help. The team has such big hearts and always puts this into their work to ensure all guests are left fully satisfied with great service and attitude. Thank...More

Reviewed February 7, 2024

We ate here many times over our week stay at Tranquil Seas. Absolutely amazing food. Best quality fresh food, great service, large portions, beautiful setting. Highly recommend it. We ate elsewhere 2 evenings and wished we hadn't as all the meals at The Sunken Fish,...breakfast lunch and dinner were far superior.More

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jordan Griffiths, General Manager at The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2024

Amazing review, thank you. We are overjoyed you had such a great experience with the restaurants food, setting and service. We look forward to welcoming you again. Tropical regards, Jordan

Reviewed April 14, 2023

Nice ocean views and they dont allow smoking. When I arrived, I found out I couldnt get the grilled fish sandwich listed on the website as they only have half the menu on Fridays. Some staff were nice but one walked around frequently yelling on...his cell phone. Wish I had gone somewhere else.More

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jordan Griffiths, General Manager at The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2023

Thank you for your review, we apologize that you did not like the menu choice for our Friday evenings. We always try to provide the best quality food and freshness for our guests. We have a friday night promotion and a limited menu which we...More

Reviewed April 14, 2023 via mobile

Excellent!! Breakfast and dinner !! Great service by harry and beautiful views. You will not be disappointed, live music on some nights

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jordan Griffiths, General Manager at The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2023

Thank you for your great review and appreciation of Harry's service. The entire team is so happy you had such a fantastic experience. Tropical regards, Jordan

Reviewed March 18, 2023

Wow! Great dinner and great view. We chose this restaurant based on reviews and were not disappointed. We ordered the ceviche appetizer and our server very helpfully told us it was very large, and we may want to wait to order our mains. She was...right! The ceviche was delicious, fresh, and came in a goblet the size of a goldfish bowl, served with crisp plantain chips. Following that we split a main of seafood fettucine and were completely satisfied. Two beers, and $28 USD later - the best meal at the most reasonable price we've seen in ages.More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jordan Griffiths, General Manager at The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2023

Thank you for this amazing review, we are so happy to hear you had such a great dining experience with us. Our team strives to offer the best quality food and service while keeping the price fair. We look forward to welcoming you again. Tropical...More

Reviewed March 2, 2023 via mobile

My family and I visited Sandy bay, in Roatan Honduras. Our rental house was just a quick 5 minute walk down the beach from The Sunken Fish. Although the food is absolutely amazing and the environment is perfect for getting a cocktail with beautiful views,...Miguel made our dinning experiences top notch, he gave us the best service each time we came in. If you saw, yes we went multiple times. Once for breakfast, twice for dinner, and one drink and appetizer sesh. Awesome food, unbelievable views, and amazing service! Try the fresh lemonades, ceviche, calamari, and the whole fried fish, you won’t be disappointed!! Will definitely be back when we come back to this island! Thanks the The Sunken Fish & Miguel!!More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jordan G, General Manager at The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2023

Thank you for your amazing review and comments. Our team appreciates the positive feedback and that you had such a great experience with us. A big thank you also from Miguel for his service and for sharing your experience here at The Sunken Fish restaurant....More

Reviewed February 23, 2023 via mobile

What can I say the view is amazing , the service friendly and quick , the dishes were all delicious !! Only gave a 3 star because when we received the check we were charged at 15 percent tax and also an 18 percent alcohol...tax ! The menu clearly said the tax was included in pricing as well as the online menu … have yet to pay an 18 percent tax on alcohol yet in Honduras !! We even questioned the waiter about what the menu stated and the tax amounts was not taken off the cheque. Either way we tipped the staff of course but left a bad vibe with my groupMore

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jordan G, General Manager at The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2023

Thank you for your review and great feedback on the view, service, and food. I thank you for your comments on the billing, I think that there has been a misunderstanding as the bills were not overcharged. The menu prices include all local taxes due....More

Reviewed February 5, 2023 via mobile

We enjoyed a wonderful lunch on Christmas day at the Sunken Fish. It had been more than 2 years since we were last here, but Bryan remembered us and made us feel very welcome. Service, food, drinks and the view were all excellent. Thank you!

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jordan G, General Manager at The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2023

Thank you for the 5* star review. We are very happy that you decided to return to our restaurant and glad you got to see Brayan again. Tropical regards, Jordan

Reviewed February 1, 2023

We dined several times during out stay. Great atmosphere and EXCELLENT food - reasonably priced as well. Hubby had the seafood pasta that was the best he's ever had and the BBQ on the weekend is well worth going for.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jordan G, General Manager at The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2023

Amazing review, thank you for taking the time to write such great comments. Our entire team appreciates the feedback on your excellent meal. We look forward to welcoming you back and offering another great dining experience and improving even more for our guests. Tropical regards,...More

Reviewed January 28, 2023 via mobile

Nice restaurant looking out over the water, located in Tranquilseas Eco Resort on Sandy Bay. Mainly fish-based, but they do offer some vegetarian and vegan dishes like cauliflower bites, lentil & quinoa salad, coconut chickpea curry, and vegetable fajitas, which we appreciated. Nice views over...the beach and water.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jordan G, General Manager at The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2023

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. Please do feel free to get in touch with us to let us know how we could make your experience a 5-star in the future. Our team is always striving for the best guest...More

Reviewed January 15, 2023

Sunken fish is our favorite restaurant on the island. Food is great in a treetop like atmosphere. The best mojitos I’ve ever had!!!

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pavel S, General Manager at The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2023

Amazing, thank you for this great review. Our team is delighted to hear you enjoyed your Sunken Fish experience so much. We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Tropical regards, Jordan

Reviewed August 31, 2022 via mobile

Are you kidding me right now? We ate dinner in a treehouse and it was stunnnnning! The food was delicious as well. We laughed, didn’t feel rushed, and had wonderful drinks and laughs. I cannot say enough about this spot. Stop and enjoy the ambience....Not many rare opportunities like this one!More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A5929EFjordang, Manager at The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2022

Amazing, thank you for this great review. Our team is very happy to hear you enjoyed your Sunken Fish experience so much. We all look foreard to welcoming you back again soon. Tropical regards, Jordan

Reviewed February 25, 2022

We celebrated Valentine's with their special 3 course meal. The desert was an amazing creation of chocolate cake, oranges, ice cream covered in a hard chocolate dome!!! Fantastic romantic evening!

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jordan G, Manager at The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2022

Thank you for your amazing comments, we are so happy you had such a great experience with us. Tropical regards, Jordan

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge And Dive Center
714 reviews
.01 miles away
Anthony's Key Resort
1,574 reviews
.54 miles away
Pirates Den Hotel
28 reviews
.89 miles away
West End Dive Resort
25 reviews
.91 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Blue Bahia Beach Grill
578 reviews
.07 miles away
Fresh Cafe & Bakery
134 reviews
.75 miles away
WOK Roatan
16 reviews
.75 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Carambola Botanical Gardens & Trails
339 reviews
.49 miles away
Sandy Bay Beach
177 reviews
.03 miles away
Roatan Yoga
44 reviews
.01 miles away
Grand Bleu Diving
67 reviews
.04 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
LadyBelle85
August 10, 2022|
Answer
Response from A5929EFjordang | Property representative |
Hello, we do not have air conditioning in our restaurant. It is an open-style restaurant with an amazing Caribbean sea view.
0
Votes
egelerj
July 30, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from TranquilseasRoatan | Property representative |
Yes of course, we do take VISA and MasterCard
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE SUNKEN FISH TREE TOP OCEAN VIEW BAR & RESTAURANT, Sandy Bay - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant

Yes, The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant offers takeout services.

Yes, The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Sunken Fish Tree Top Ocean View Bar & Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 5