We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Croatian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveler rating
235
14
4
0
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
235
14
4
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood risotto lamb chops bread sea bass truffle pale ale our waiter amazing food quiet street side street service was excellent last night old town white wine visiting hvar the main square rhapsody
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We happened upon this gem of a restaurant after having been turned away from several restaurants in Hvar because we did not have a reservation. Igor, the owner (and kindest man) was able to secure us a table inside. This was the best food we...ate during our entire time in Croatia. The beefsteak and truffle pasta was simple to die for. Our waiter, Peter, gave us some expert recommendations on wine and was a wonderful host. The entire experience went above and beyond our expectations - both in food and service. Igor, Peter, Yannis & Ivan were wonderful hosts and it was a memorable evening on Hvar. This restaurant is a must visit while on the island. We only wish they were open for breakfast!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 2 days ago

If you travel alone, be sure, you are not welcome here. Had a discrimination episode last night. Restaurant attendant when I asked for the table literaly said: "we have one free table, but you are alone so we can't offer you it". Because right after...me was a couple who also was looking for table. It was awful!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Igor F, Owner at Bunar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Yes,discrimination from you lady. We were full outside when this occured. You wanted a table and were looking at the outside table. We were about to have an opening inside. You didnt wait for my offer for the inside seating. You furiously went away. Well...More

Reviewed 3 days ago

We enjoyed excellent fresh squid in an absolutely charming environment served by truly exceptional staff.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our accommodation in Hvar was right above the restaurant. As we arrived, we noticed the restaurant had good review and wanted to have a meal there. As we were staying so close, we walked up to the maître d and asked if they had a...free table. We were told that they were fully booked. We were disappointed, but hoped we could get a booking for the following night. After our meal, as we were returning to our accommodation, we walked past the restaurant. As we arrived a couple had walked up and were seated, even though they did not seem to have a booking. When I questioned whether they were really fully booked, as they just seated this couple, the maître d asked me if I was accusing him of lying. I only questioned him, as the couple had clearly just walked up to the restaurant and did not seem to have any booking, as they were browsing the menu and never mentioned having a booking. We then asked whether we could book for the next night. We were told that they they were very busy and the maître d said that he thought they had no space available. As they were so busy, we decided we would message the restaurant, just to confirm, as the maître d was so busy. We soon got a reply that they would happily confirm us for the following night. My girlfriend asked for a table at 730, but accidentally made a typo that read 7 3p. When we were checking to see if everything was confirmed for the next night, the restaurant rudely messaged back, accusing us of playing with the restaurant, as they had assumed a booking for 7 for 3 people. When we confirmed the booking was for 2, they became very rude and cancelled the booking. Surely if a restaurant has space for 3, they have space for 2. I have never been treated this badly by a restaurant before even visiting. I wouldnt set foot in this place even if they paid me. No idea what the food is like, but the attitude of the staff ruined any potential to be able able to enjoy this place.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?3  
Igor F, Owner at Bunar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Well,we also have to say something about this. First of all the restaurant was fully booked for that night. As it hapoens almost evry night there ate some reservations that dont show up and dont bother to cancel on time. We patiently whait for 15...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a brilliant lunch and revived the best service we have had since arriving in Croatia. Waiter knew his stuff and enhanced the whole experience. Food was first class. The complimentary bread with basil pesto was a nice touch, the fish stew was perfect. Had...some rice with butter- sounds a bit strange but was delicious, green salad and g/f had seabass. Portion size is generous. And try the local pale ale. Very tasty.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic food, beautiful wines and great service! Also located in a really Nice alley in the town of Hvar. Highly reccomend this place!

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great night with friends. Our waiter Peter was the best host, telling us all about the meals and ingredients. Food was even better than the hospitality. 10 out of 10, for sure. When you visit Hvar, come to Bunar!

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We reserved ahead and although there was a slight mix up with that the waiter Iannis smoothed it all out by giving us a table inside for our starter until one was available outside for our main course. The prsut and cheese starter was outstanding....For mains we had tuna steak immaculately done and gregada also delicious. Iannis and the small team provided a warm welcome which sets the tone and gives it a positive vibe. Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I have spent a week in Croatia thus far and have been quite impressed with the food quality. Lots of terrific restaurants, but this one really stood out. The food, the service and ambience were incredible. We were served by Iannis, who...was very helpful and attentive. We started with the dried fish platter (can’t remember the name). Was delicious and the potion was huge! Then my partner and I split both the truffle pasta and the tuna steak. This is where we were completely blown away. Having just spent three days in Istria (where they specialize in truffles) we were debating whether to bother getting the truffles here; thankfully, due to Iannis’s suggestion we did. All I can say is wow! Didn’t know truffles could taste this good. …. On to the Tuna. My partner was craving tuna (honestly, I wasn’t), Iannis, upon us asking for suggestions, highly recommended this dish. We had it prepared as per his suggestion (either rare or med rare, can’t remember) and were absolutely blown away. I was not aware that the meat could be prepared this way. It’s quite difficult to describe so you will have to try it out for yourselves, but this was unanimously (the three of us) our favourite dish in Croatia. …the setting of this restaurant is magical. We had a corner table with a terrific view. Tip: Please reserve in advance, there was so much demand for this restaurant while we were sitting down and so many had to be turned away.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Greatest restaurant in Hvar. The meat and the fish are very nice! Don’t hesitate to make a reservation when you’re in Hvar. Special shout out to our waiter Peter!

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Villa Nora Hvar
339 reviews
.03 miles away
Palace Elisabeth, Hvar Heritage Hotel
48 reviews
.07 miles away
Hotel Bodul
2 reviews
.08 miles away
Hotel Park Hvar
495 reviews
.10 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Wine Bar - Tri Prsuta
278 reviews
.03 miles away
Zlatna Skoljka
73 reviews
.02 miles away
Konoba Menego
935 reviews
.05 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St. Stephen's Cathedral
295 reviews
.03 miles away
Benedictine Monastery
59 reviews
.04 miles away
Rent a Hvar
24 reviews
.06 miles away
Armoury
5 reviews
.09 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
annien404
June 28, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from jackiej889 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do.
1
Vote
Saša M
August 30, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from SunaraK | Reviewed this property |
Walk the boardwalk until the end of the port, turn right and you will see a square and church. On your second left climb the stairs and it is on your first left.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bunar

Bunar is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5